BLT & Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

BLT & Associates Reviews

Updated Dec 30, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
BLT & Associates CEO Clive Baillie (no image)
Clive Baillie
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Very fun and relaxed environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Digital Illustrator in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at BLT & Associates for less than a year

    Pros

    The friendly co-workers made me feel welcomed and allowed me to easily be accepted as part of the team. They did not hesitate to help me out with any questions or concerns.

    Cons

    I had no problems while working with them.

    BLT & Associates2012-09-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good money but it gets old quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at BLT & Associates

    Pros

    Fun people, good pay, and interesting projects

    Cons

    Awful morale, no culture, constant pandering to clients.

    BLT & Associates2016-12-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Art Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Art Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BLT & Associates full-time

    Pros

    Anything you want in available to you

    Cons

    No cons for me I enjoyed my time there. I know other pods get a bad wrap.

    BLT & Associates2015-07-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Design Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at BLT & Associates for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn a lot of great Photoshop techniques

    Cons

    Expected to work 11-12 hour days for minimum wage.

    BLT & Associates2015-06-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Solid place to work - talented team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BLT & Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's very established, so there is a real sense of stability. They're not overly extravagant in any ways, but still take good care of their employees.

    Cons

    Could use some more work culture, and the offices are rather drab and not very creative.

    BLT & Associates2015-01-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Stuffy office, cliques, dinosaurs, and introverts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BLT & Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They make nice movie posters and give free lunches two days per week. Big studios and big movies. Well known company. Big budgets.

    Cons

    Stuffy office. Upper management rules by intimidation and lacks in the much needed art of communication. Bosses not leaders. Must have been bullied in their past and now take it out on their art directors. Segregation is a big problem in this office. Decor is from 1992. No structure. Corporate culture and policies. High turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Lose the ego. Lead by example rather than by intimidation. Teach your upper management to become better communicators.

    BLT & Associates2014-05-07
  7. "Great place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Designer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BLT & Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to start a career in the entertainment industry. Everyone knows BLT and looks great on your resume. So much to learn from well known creative directors and art directors... Lunch catered on Mondays and Fridays, a stocked kitchen, and some fun perks like attending premieres and parties.

    Cons

    Very long hours, depending on time of year or project. Some designers can be possessive over their work and not want to share techniques even though we're all playing for the same team.

    BLT & Associates2014-03-14
  8. "Get ready to work long hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BLT & Associates

    Pros

    Great place to work if you want your art to been seen.

    Cons

    Your just a factory worker pushing out movie posters

    BLT & Associates2014-01-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "living in the past"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile and Web Developer in Hollywood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BLT & Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work on some big time clients. High pressure, but in the end you know that you are contributing to to projects that are going to get a lot of eyeballs.

    Cons

    There isn't much of a process in place. Be prepared to work and rework, because of miscommunications and failure to get things locked down.

    Advice to Management

    Interactive is the future and without a better process in you are going to lose out to more agile shops that can execute on big ideas much more quickly and efficiently.

    BLT & Associates2013-12-21
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Dysfunctional, Nepitism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Artist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BLT & Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The employees for the most part are easy to work with, many different personalities. Great artist.

    Cons

    Very click company. If you are not part of the group you are not a good employee. Executives are a little full of themselves, they need to realize that the entertainment is full of very creative individual.

    Advice to Management

    Do not overlook those that really want to make a difference in your company, to make it more productive, and bring it into the future. Stop being so full of yourselves.

    BLT & Associates2013-11-05
Found 12 reviews