BMC Software "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

BMC Software Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
BMC Software CEO Ayman Sayed
Ayman Sayed
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    BMC is a great place to work. There are always opportunities to work on challenging new projects and maintain a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    I have no list for this. In my experience, it has been a great place to work.

    BMC Software2019-08-03
  2. "Good experience in various teams to evaluate new technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Product Developer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Good management - Good work life balance

    Cons

    - No fixed direction for company vision

    Advice to Management

    - Avoid frequent management changes.

    BMC Software2019-10-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging, opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, good pay, strong leadership

    Cons

    High stress, very competitive, lots of office gossip

    Advice to Management

    Not everyone hired to lead is competent to represent their team

    BMC Software2019-08-24
  4. "Employee Friendly Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Incentives and good Bonus. Good Benefits. Work Culture. Work Life Balance.

    Cons

    Cant find cons apart from company going private.

    BMC Software2019-03-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "NO Work/Life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Business Relationship Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When I first joined BMC it was a great company.

    Cons

    Too many chiefs. Lots of micro-management. Over-worked. No work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the employees who are dedicated and go above the job specs.

    BMC Software2019-03-08
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Formerly great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fairly recent technology opportunities through OTJ self training.

    Cons

    Unclear future now that they have been purchased by KKR. Long work hours. Lip service to work / life balance.

    Advice to Management

    "Nothing personal, it's just business' is a line from a Godfather movie.

    BMC Software2018-11-12
  7. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, great place to develop skills and flexible with work life balance

    Cons

    Wear many hats, productivity is maxed out. Result is being on the job constantly, nights/weekends

    BMC Software2018-11-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Instructional Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely helpful team, leads and managers Great work culture Work-life balance Spacious work floors, amazing interiors Employee-friendly activities

    Cons

    Too much focus on technical product education. Very less scope for actual instructional designing. Only those Instructional Designers should consider this company who are comfortable with technical education.

    Advice to Management

    A big thank you for everything that you do to maintain employee engagement!

    BMC Software2018-10-22
  9. "The best company I’ve worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for 3 other companies. All Fortune 500 much larger than BMC, and they are no where near to BMC in absolutely anything. There is so much opportunity for growth within Finance. Work life balance is great which is super important for me I come from NYC and it was non existent there. Benefits are phenomenal. Salary is competitive with other top companies. I have no complaints. I am looking forward to... having a long career at BMC.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    BMC Software2018-09-27
  10. Helpful (12)

    "HR is an absolute Joke and IT is run based on the whims of unqualified managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance Staff camaraderie is quite pleasant

    Cons

    Never ever bring up issues to HR, they are there to screw you and will actually set you on the path to layoff or termination. They will defend bad behavior in managers to protect the company and could not care less how it affected you. Yes, you get some disingenuous statements but they do not mean what they tell you. The company just felt lost and the staff, in general, just appeared defeated. The company... feels like they spend more time engineering their finances and not their products. Their benefit costs are very high and the overall benefits have been getting stingier over the last five years.

    Show More
    BMC Software2018-08-12
Found 206 reviews