BMC "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

BMC Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Apr 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 123 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
13%
Approve of CEO
David Flitman
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management running the from Raleigh, NC suck(in 6 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be stressful at times when you need to put in a lot of hours to get the job done(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good company to work for with great benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BMC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, work-life balance, integrity

    Cons

    Weak management, poor communication, turnover rate

    BMC2019-04-11
  2. "Nice company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BMC for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are friendly & professional.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be stressful at times when you need to put in a lot of hours to get the job done.

    Advice to Management

    Need to be more realistic about the time it takes to get certain tasks done. Employees can't go full throttle 24/7.

    BMC2018-08-17
  3. Helpful (8)

    "I wish I was a good enough writer to capture my thoughts at how bad this place is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Department in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BMC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free M&Ms and the downtown location. And knowing you'll never work for a more backwards organization. Work/Life balance good. Any motivation or innovation will be systematically squashed eventually.

    Cons

    I've been in the workforce for almost 30 years. I've worked at a couple of Fortune 500 companies, some startups, and as a consultant. I've been truly blessed to learn from some amazing managers, co-workers, scientists, and engineers. Not one of these people worked at BMC. I have left every single job I've been at with a good amount of notice, and worked hard to finish strong during my transition. I never wanted to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shave the mustache. Change the black shirt. Please leave Boise so that a real company can come in and use that office space. It will also allow my friends that still work there to get real jobs

    BMC2015-06-04
  4. "nothing but opportunity, if you are willing to work for it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    autonomy, creativity, innovation, work life balance

    Cons

    support ecosystem changes rapidly as one would expect from a software company and sales organization

    BMC2014-10-16
  5. "Used to be a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BMC

    Pros

    Low level employees are honest and hard working. Work/life balance was excellent. benefits were good before the bubble.

    Cons

    Company is in a shrinking industry. Way too much overhead to support current cash flow. Creativity to solve problems efficiently was replaced by corporate oversight and regulations. Employees who do not agree with management are marginalized - motivation by fear. Senior management is so detached from rest of company, they reside and work in a different city and state than corporate employees. Corporate oversight...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Senior Management should have listened to employees when they said there would be a housing bubble, instead of retiring, firing and marginalizing them.

    BMC2008-10-03
  6. "BMC Software"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance and wages

    Cons

    No cons at all, you'll love the work culture here

    BMC2017-07-18
  7. "Marketing Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research & Marketing Planning in Madrid
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at BMC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dynamic and cool environment. Offices in the center of the city. Horizontal relationship between workers and bosses. Flexible.

    Cons

    Very poor salaries, specially in low-profile positions. Disorganized. Difficult work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Increase salaries in the low-profile positions in order to reduce the huge gaps between the whole company.

    BMC2016-12-17
Found 123 reviews