BMO Financial Group Reviews in New York, NY | Glassdoor

BMO Financial Group New York Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
BMO Financial Group CEO Darryl White
Darryl White
3 Ratings
  1. "Conservative bank - Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMO Financial Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Reasonable and straight forward work expectations

    Cons

    Lose business to other investment banks with a greater appetite for risk

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    BMO Financial Group2018-11-07
  2. "Great Firm, But Swims with Sharks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit & Portfolio Risk Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BMO Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great People and Fair Hours. Good learning environment and fostering development.

    Cons

    Direction of firm changed too much. Underpaid for experience level and limited promotions for new hires.

    Advice to Management

    A more accelerated promotion cycle that mirrors other firms on Wall Street. Otherwise, good employees will hop for better pay and promotions.

    BMO Financial Group2019-02-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The Best Bank I've Ever Worked At"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMO Financial Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Fair compensation Generally respectful culture Good benefits

    Cons

    Jealously guarded fiefdoms Bureaucratic Passive aggressive communication

    BMO Financial Group2018-06-22
  4. "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMO Financial Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Team Great to meet new people everyday

    Cons

    Some days get repetitive at times

    Advice to Management

    Allow more growth

    BMO Financial Group2018-04-13
  5. "5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMO Financial Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Everything was as I expected

    Cons

    Well they fired me though

    BMO Financial Group2017-11-01
  6. "Intern Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMO Financial Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay, Good location, smart supporting staff

    Cons

    lot of busy work, dont get to sit in on many meetings

    BMO Financial Group2017-10-18
  7. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMO Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Team environment. Good at encouraging professional development. Excellent place to contribute and learn.

    Cons

    Compensation on the low side. Lots of transition.

    Advice to Management

    Salary leveling and implementing a plan for stability and development of employees.

    BMO Financial Group2017-02-09
  8. "Awesome flexible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Trading Products in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMO Financial Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn a ton in a more relaxed, laidback environment. Very flat hierarchy

    Cons

    At times uncompetitive, we could have been pushed harder

    BMO Financial Group2016-08-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Pro & Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mailroom Clerk in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMO Financial Group full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    When working for this company, I enjoyed my time there. My coworkers were a joy to work with and I had the BEST supervisor anyone could ask for.

    Cons

    I'm not one to be left behind the times, but sometimes change can hurt people in a very dramatic way. Sometimes it takes sometime for them to recover. That's what happened in my case.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be...take a better look at the employees that have been working for the company for 9+ yrs

    BMO Financial Group2016-07-07
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Stay AWAY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMO Financial Group for more than 2 years

    Pros

    A handful of colleagues actually knew what they were doing and were very helpful. The IT group was great, as were the Telecom team.

    Cons

    Team "lead" was a a total bully. Never a word of encouragement, nor a word of praise for a job well done. Perceived "mistakes" were pointed out constantly. The "manager" didn't have the skills to motivate the communications group. It was the "management by fear" style. This was the absolute worst experience in a workplace I've encountered in my 20+ years as a professional.

    Advice to Management

    Pay close attention when hiring and promoting individuals who are in the position to manage others. So happy to have moved on to a company who respects their employees.

    BMO Financial Group2016-06-20
Found 12 reviews