BNP Paribas Assistant Vice President Reviews | Glassdoor

BNP Paribas Assistant Vice President Reviews

Updated Dec 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
55%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
BNP Paribas CEO and Director Jean-Laurent Bonnafé
Jean-Laurent Bonnafé
16 Ratings
  1. "Assistant Vice President - Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNP Paribas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Work life balance & internal mobility

    Cons

    Very large company, which has many silos & layers of management

    BNP Paribas2017-01-14
  2. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BNP Paribas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent coffee I guess

    Cons

    Its all about appearances, the company says you're allowed to work from home but your manager will never let you. They say the day before a holiday is a half day but good luck trying to leave before 6pm (including Christmas eve and New Years Eve, i would know I was there).

    BNP Paribas2020-01-01
  3. Helpful (3)

    "RRC Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Jersey City, NJ

    I worked at BNP Paribas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary was decent for the area.

    Cons

    Salary wasn't worth it! Excessive micro-management, clueless employees in key positions (who exert little effort to be productive members of the team), and office gossip (the toxic kind). I worked for each of the Big 4 Investment Banks in multiple areas of the industry (never had an issue), and at least 3 of the fellow employees here at BNP RRC were wasted resources who would have been terminated.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to pull the trigger on several terminations and re-examine the overall management strategy and team delegation as a whole.

    BNP Paribas2019-08-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Banking Professional - Collateral Financing and Letters of Credit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in New York, NY

    I worked at BNP Paribas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Learned a great deal about collateral financing re: energy and other commodities.

    Cons

    Company does not value long term dedicated employees.

    BNP Paribas2019-04-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in New York, NY

    I have been working at BNP Paribas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the collaborators are very cooperative and helpful. Lots of events and good training programs and opportunities to network. Over-all good place to work at.

    Cons

    Like many other corporates, this company will promote values of inclusion, diversity, and respect for colleagues and is good on paper and publicity. However, targets of harrassment or bullying remain helpless and ignored. Such targets end up economically displaced due to inaction from the company - they get discouraged and just leave. But I guess it is how it is.

    Advice to Management

    Challenge your paradigms. Don’t play games. Pay attention to the “out group”. Do not tolerate bad behavior to protect your own interests.

    BNP Paribas2019-03-12
  6. "Compliance - AVP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNP Paribas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, investment into their employees on trainings/classes, great benefits

    Cons

    Varies from team to team.

    BNP Paribas2019-02-12
  7. "Overall, good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Assistant Vice President in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BNP Paribas for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Benefits were good, especially vacation. - Work/Life balance was also good.

    Cons

    Management acted like 'bosses' instead of leaders, and often would be unaccountable, leaving for extended periods of time during the work day, or leave early, especially on Fridays.

    Advice to Management

    Do your job, not your title.

    BNP Paribas2018-11-01
  8. "Avp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BNP Paribas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work environment

    Cons

    Not easy to grow rapidly

    Advice to Management

    Need to increase accountability

    BNP Paribas2018-03-22
  9. "Great environmental"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNP Paribas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture Work life balance Great learning opportunity Ability to move laterally Exposure to various spaces within the bank

    Cons

    Lack of transparency Mobility Compensation is on the lower end

    Advice to Management

    Greater transparency would be much appreciated. Perhaps review the current compensation structure..

    BNP Paribas2017-05-24
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNP Paribas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, and company benefits.

    Cons

    Less competitive salary, reorganization, lack of clarity from Mgt

    Advice to Management

    Communicate to employees better

    BNP Paribas2017-02-22
Found 37 reviews