BNY Mellon "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

BNY Mellon Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4508 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
BNY Mellon CEO Charles W. Scharf
Charles W. Scharf
662 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Was a great place to work, but recent changes make it a revolving door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work/Life balance, great colleagues, opportunities to move around

    Cons

    New management is focused on getting rid of older and experienced employees leaving behind people who dont know what they are doing

    Advice to Management

    Focus on employees

    BNY Mellon2019-06-19
  2. "Decent First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good resume builder, tuition reimbursement, work life balance

    Cons

    Forever to get promoted, underpaid for industry

    BNY Mellon2019-07-01
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Client Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Inclusive and diverse culture.

    Cons

    Company is not good at paying for performance. Extreme expense management.

    BNY Mellon2019-06-23
  4. "summer associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Associate 

      I worked at BNY Mellon full-time

      Pros

      there was a good work life balance

      Cons

      it was very corporate. didn't enjoy the large firm nature

      BNY Mellon2019-06-27
    • Helpful (5)

      "Just OK"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Fund Accountant 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good work-life balance Good colleagues Opportunity to learn so it’s a good entry level job

        Cons

        No job stability Micromanaging Minimum work from home opportunities Bad communication between management and accountants

        Advice to Management

        Increase work from home capability and treat employees like professionals

        BNY Mellon2019-06-12
      • Helpful (7)

        "Pricing Specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Pricing Specialist in Woodland Park, NJ
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great work life balance. Co workers are great.

        Cons

        No chance for lateral movement. Pay is horrific. 1 percent raises year over year. No bonus.

        Advice to Management

        Why bother. They don’t listen. I always stepped up in my group. Whether it be testing on the weekends, ad hoc client work that required some late nights and weekends, training Pune teams for long excruciating hours. I could go on and on for all the things I stepped up for. Wanted to make a name for myself and show my worth. What have I gotten for it? 1% raise year over year. This place gives you no reason to go above...

        Show More
        BNY Mellon2019-06-25
      • Helpful (6)

        "Poor management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Compliance Officer 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at BNY Mellon full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Company invests in the building facilities. World class cafeteria.

        Cons

        Poor work culture. Poor work life balance Management with no people management skills.

        Advice to Management

        Provide leadership training to the management team.

        BNY Mellon2019-06-11
      • Helpful (4)

        "Senior HR Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Work/life balance, remote working arrangements, mid-level management, and good people. Benefits and vacation make up for lower pay structure.

        Cons

        NY is valued more than other cities. Most opportunity is in NY. Displacements happen a lot. Unclear direction from CEO. Constant upper management turnover. Not much in-house promotion. Morale is at an all time low.

        Advice to Management

        Invest in people. We hear constant discussion that investment is going into tech, but the people have been forgotten. Displacements are too frequent. Employee engagement survey shy’d away from the true questions to gauge employee satisfaction.

        BNY Mellon2019-05-15
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great Place to start your career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Vice President 
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Good Vacation Benefits and descent work life balance

        Cons

        all depends on your manager, raises and bonuses could be better

        BNY Mellon2019-04-29
      • Helpful (2)

        "The company is decent, but the managers are the worst. I completely regret pursuing an opportunity in BNYM."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Group Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        The company provides decent support for those they laid off due to downsizing. There was a decent amount of sub pay and support provided for 3 months with Lee Heck Harrison. There are decent people there in the company that work their respective bums off.

        Cons

        No work-life balance - You get pulled in when Europe and Asia users are having problems even if you've worked more than 24 hours already. Line of business managers were awful - no respect for IT folks. IT managers wouldn't respond back when we've been asking for more assistance for months. Promises were made to provide people for the new group but that fell to the ground -...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        If you take care of your folks, they will take care of you and more. We understand that the company operates worldwide, but that doesn't mean that you take advantage of folks and their willingness to help by overworking them and not providing them the proper support and compensation.

        BNY Mellon2019-06-04
      Found 4508 reviews