BNY Mellon "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

BNY Mellon Reviews

Updated Aug 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4935 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
BNY Mellon CEO Charles W. Scharf
Charles W. Scharf
736 Ratings
  1. "Large company in transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BNY Mellon

    Pros

    Work life balance Plenty of projects to be done Flexible hours

    Cons

    Limited career growth Mediocre workplace Lack of junior new joiners

    BNY Mellon2019-03-01
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Used to be fine, but highly skeptical of senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the people are nice and you do get a lot of vacation.

    Cons

    I can deal with the below average pay but by taking away work from home, it no longer seems worth it. The place is becoming more toxic as more things seem to be slowly taken away . Work life balance has also taken a hit as the layoff survivors are taking on more work

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of Charles and promote more people internally. Invest to keep your existing talent on board

    BNY Mellon2019-02-09
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Promote those that can't do, stifle those that can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    paycheck, work life balance, benefits

    Cons

    no appreciation for thinking outside the box

    BNY Mellon2019-02-22
  4. "Client Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Specialist in New York, NY

    I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work life balance, great people

    Cons

    low pay, slow growth

    BNY Mellon2019-02-23
  5. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL

    I worked at BNY Mellon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and work life balance are great

    Cons

    Extra hours during tax seasons are hard on that work life balance

    BNY Mellon2019-02-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly, respectful work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are nice There is work-life balance Great 401K Great work location

    Cons

    I've only been here a few weeks, so this question will need to be updated later. None at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    BNY Mellon2019-02-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Client Service Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's an easy job if you care about it. Benefits are surprisingly good.

    Cons

    Tough work life balance. Little opportunity to move up. Poor yearly raises. Working from home was removed this year. Poor working environment in the Grant Building in Pittsburgh (broken vending machines, bathrooms, elevators, etc constantly). Favor seniority over talent. No training regime, expect to take 6 months to a year to know exactly what the purpose of your job is.

    Advice to Management

    Give your subordinates more opportunities to succeed and grow their careers within the company.

    BNY Mellon2019-02-16
  8. "Asset Serving is not for young people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BNY Mellon for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance, and low stress in asset servicing departments

    Cons

    slow pace and no growth

    BNY Mellon2019-02-01
  9. "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Orlando, FL

    I worked at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance if on the right team

    Cons

    Poor pay. Get experience for your resume and get out

    BNY Mellon2019-02-15
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Day to Day is OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dev 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good 9 to 5. No Weekend work. Good Vacation time (at least for veteran Employees) Given a fair amount of autonomy. The people are great.

    Cons

    HSA is only affordable medical but it sucks when you have a family and can't keep it funded. Company used to respect the work-life balance but that is now gone with no more reoccurring telecommuting. Pay is pretty mediocre. Holiday Bonus is a pie. Monetary Bonuses are usually not enough to cover Christmas gifts. Company has spent tax breaks on stock buybacks and raising the minimum hourly wage to $15/Hour....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop making short-sighted decisions. I'll be honest, I am writing this because of the change in the remote work policy. This company used to take a lot of pride in allowing people the space to take care of their personal needs. Now it only seems to want to squeeze every ounce of productivity from people. There are 100 reasons why allowing people to work from home for a day or 2 week is beneficial. I am sure you will hear...

    Show More
    BNY Mellon2019-02-01
Found 4935 reviews