Cover image for BOLD
Logo

BOLD

Engaged Employer

BOLD

Add a Review

BOLD Employee Reviews about "business model"

Updated Sep 21, 2021

Found 342 of over 342 reviews
3.9
76% Recommend to a Friend
BOLD Co-CEOs Doug Jackson and Jamie Freundlich
86% Approve of CEO

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
BOLD Co-CEOs Doug Jackson and Jamie Freundlich
Doug Jackson and Jamie Freundlich
86 Ratings
Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email

There are no reviews matching your search at this company.

Add a review It only takes a second to share your experience. Your information will always be anonymous.

What people are saying about BOLD

Join the conversation on

Single & Ready to Mingle

5d

a 

Senior Associate

Been dating an accountant and I wish he liked to have more S E X cuz I need it like once or twice a day. Im lucky if I get it twice spending Friday-Sunday at his house. The struggle. Oh was that bold? Woops.

14

7 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "business model"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Awesome Place to Work

    Sep 20, 2019 - Intern - Hourly in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Amazing people to work with! -Fun environment, new office -Stocked with snacks and drinks/ coffee machine -Proves breakfast/lunch 3/5 days of the week' -New office has a gym -Flexible hours

    Cons

    -Revenue/business model could be better

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    BOLD Response

    Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoy the office here in San Francisco!At BOLD we continually strive to make our offices productive, engaging environments where we transform work lives.Again, thank you.

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A lot of room for improvement

    Aug 27, 2021 - Senior User Experience Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Warning: All the good reviews you see are because HR encourages new employees to submit a Glassdoor review in their first 90 days, before the cracks show below the surface. If you want a more realistic view of BOLD, I recommend your sort "Lowest Rated" - Pretty good work/life balance if you don't have to work with remote teams - A lot of smart and kind people - Company is profitable (but for how long?)

    Cons

    - CEOs are completely out of touch. - The business model is basically a dark pattern. Not ethical. Tricks customers into buying a subscription that has little value and hopes the customer doesn't notice they are being charged. - No structured career path. Difficult to get promotions. Employees end of feeling stuck and frustrated. - Lack of vision

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    BOLD Response

    Senior Director, Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write us. We appreciate what you have to say regarding your experience and we will share this with our team. We want to leverage what we do well like, hiring great people, and cultivating an environment where people can do great things. So thanks for your time with us and for the feedback.

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    scam artists all around

    Sep 21, 2021 - Senior Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not much of anything. Pay was decent.

    Cons

    Very unethical business model. It is surprising that they have not been caught for shady business practices. The business would get into ethical dilemmas if their business strategy was found out. Managers have no experience or business managing and come from mediocre schools- which is shown through their lack of intellectual depth and curiosity.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful

    BOLD Response

    Senior Director, Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry your experience was not as good as you would have liked. We take this feedback seriously and will look at areas we can improve upon.

  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Unethical business model

    Jun 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    What many of the reviewers have said is true: Bold does employ very nice people, offers generous salary and bonuses, and provides a great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Bold's business model relies on its users not checking their credit card bill for the monthly subscription fee. These users typically are unemployed people who work in lower-paying professions and can scarcely afford it. The way these users are converted to subscribers is sort of a bait-and-switch that should be illegal but isn't. This is what pays for the salary, bonuses, and work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful

    BOLD Response

    Senior Director, Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your feedback as we do share it with our leaders. Our subscription model is similar to a lot of subscription services and we are always looking at opportunities to provide enhanced services and customer experiences. We appreciate your comments and look at other ways to continue to show value to our customers and review a lot of different approaches.

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Old technology and dishonest business model

    Jan 30, 2020 - Product in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexible work schedule - Some great colleagues - Potential for international travel

    Cons

    - Old technology that won't keep you current in SF tech - Crazy hours working with India team - Arrogant management who doesn't listen to managers - Terrible C-levels with two disconnected founders and a marketing leadership who can't get anything done well/should all be fired - Entire business model based on google allowing us to mislead unemployed people and hope they forget to check their credit card statement

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful

    BOLD Response

    Senior Talent Acquisition Leader

    Thank you for your feedback!

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Poor management and in fighting

    Dec 20, 2019 - Email Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The benefits and perks - Access to public transportation - Some really good people

    Cons

    - Middle managers who exist only to micro manage and blindly follow their VP's whims - Managers with very poor people skills and drive people away - A lack of respect for the ideas and opinions of women - Managers who make racial stereotype jokes & comments - A business model that is built on deception and people forgetting they have a subscription - After many years with the company, there have been no significant or lasting changes. The product and business model are stagnant.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    BOLD Response

    Manager

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read of your negative impressions of BOLD. We strive to transform work lives and that endeavor begins here at the BOLD offices. As we continue to grow and thrive, we also continue to develop and implement policies to assist our employees in their career growth. We are also extremely proud of the millions of people who have used our online products to assist them in finding the employment opportunity of their dreams. We wish you luck in your future endeavors.

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    BOLD is lost...avoid...

    Jul 30, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO Occasional trip to Puerto Rico

    Cons

    Turnover seems endless Upper management misaligned Career progression is non existent, and if there is any it's based on favoritism or to keep employees from leaving Sketchy business model Too many meetings not enough execution Favoritism for certain functions Constantly changing strategies

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful

    BOLD Response

    Manager

    Thank you for your comments. As BOLD has rapidly grown in the last few years, we have continually invested in our employees. From ensuring our people have some of the most comprehensive benefits that can be found anywhere, to a great work/life balance for our staff as well as providing a pleasant environment for people to work, we want our employees to feel engaged, productive and valued. Are we perfect? Not yet. But we are continually honing our processes and policies to reflect our core value: Transforming work lives. That is our purpose as a company and a deeply held belief for our BOLD people.

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Nice Company, Shady Business Model

    May 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Guaynabo, PR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool office space in downtown SF. Plenty of social events. International growth.

    Cons

    Business model seems largely based on users forgetting that they subscribed.

    4 people found this review helpful

    BOLD Response

    Manager

    We are pleased you appreciate the time and effort BOLD puts into providing a dynamic workplace and organizing fun events for our employees and families. As you noted, we are also increasing our global presence by hiring quality people around the world. It is unfortunate we have failed to convey our true business model to you. Our true mission is to transform work lives and we spend an inordinate amount of time, money and hard work in promoting the professional success of our subscribers. We believe we create the best tools and content available on the web to assist in that transformation. We are proud of the millions of people that have been helped by our presence. Thank you for your comments.

  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Pros

    - Decent Pay and benefits - They hire a lot of entry level people, so if you are trying to get started in your career this could be a good jumping off point

    Cons

    - Their product is dependent on Google's SEO requirements. Every time Google updates their requirements there is a major fire drill to get everything adjusted. - Shady business model. They try to get their users (who are job seekers) to sign up for a reoccurring subscription fee but they only say that it's reoccurring in the fine print. - Many of the executives are frequently ageist. They often discount the ideas and work of colleagues due to the fact that they are young or have less experience than them. - The Co-CEO's tend to say that they don't want to be involved but then before launch, they want to re-examine every product, design and copy decision which adds a lot of stress and work to be redone.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    BOLD Response

    ExCom Member

    Your candid feedback is appreciated. We firmly believe that great ideas can come from anyone and are actively working on improving our ideation and innovation pathways. We have also taken this input on late stage rework seriously. The good intentions are there and we are committed to addressing it. Thank you for your perspective.

Viewing 1 - 0 of 0 English Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with BOLD Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BOLD? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

BOLD Photos

+ Add Photo
BOLD photo of: Bold collected more than 100 prom dresses for those in need of a dress for that special never-to-be-forgotten prom night
BOLD photo of: Our PR office enjoys celebrations and holidays!
BOLD photo of: An Evening of Paint 'n Sip in the office
BOLD photo of: Celebrating the Holidays in style!
BOLD photo of: A joyful moment during the holiday party
BOLD photo of: An evening at SPIN. One of the many popular after hours spots in SF. Employees enjoyed friendly table tennis competitions while enjoying food and drink.
BOLD photo of: Employee Appreciation Day - Take the afternoon away from the office and have a skeeball tournament!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 342 BOLD reviews submitted anonymously by BOLD employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if BOLD is right for you.