BSI Group Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
3%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
BSI Group Chief Executive and Board Member Howard Kerr
Howard Kerr
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Business transformation programme very unstructured left due to not support by senior management(in 20 reviews)

  • "Over recent years work life balance has gone down hill(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain Risk Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Let's the employee to take the matter in their own hands

    Cons

    Management is not always connected to the employees which lets them think that they are working on their own

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2017-10-29
  2. "Amazing"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful work environment and great people

    Cons

    A bit busy sometimes but that's about it

    BSI Group2020-06-03
  3. "Perform ergonomics and safety assessment workstations and industrial work sites"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ergonomist in San Jose, CA

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great manager, good benefits, challenging projects

    Cons

    Poor salary, not negotiable, hard to attend their meetings

    BSI Group2020-04-16
  4. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company treats its employees fairly and respectfully. Everyone working there is very professional

    Cons

    Long hours but that has changed since I left.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2019-10-04
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Got Badly Burned by this Company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Worker in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of really wonderful co-workers; friendly and helpful. Trying their best to succeed despite multiple roadblocks along their paths.

    Cons

    Management has no idea what goes on day to day with people who actually get the work done and keep the company moving.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2019-06-21
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible HR Managers and Sr. Management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friday bagels, Holiday party, and Co-Workers

    Cons

    HR will go behind your back and tattle tell if you go to them with an issue. HR Americas does not go the extra mile for their employees. HR Management is only there to advance themselves. It is too hard to move up, no career growth at all. You have ask your manager's permission before even applying for a new job. Managers lack integrity and do not promote inclusivity or diversity. Premiums are high and based off of your pay, fix please. Nothing was fixed from surveys sent out.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2019-06-18
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Toxic Atmosphere"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job Training to industry knowledge

    Cons

    Toxic Leadership with a culture of bullying. Too much administrative work for sales people. Up to 5 hours weekly in internal meetings and countless hours of micromanaging reports that do not lead to sales. Human Resources shares private information with management. The internal teams do not respect each other so there is very little cross department teamwork. Sales employees tenure is less than 1 year.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2019-04-23

    BSI Group Response

    May 2, 2019BSI Rep

    BSI does not tolerate bullying in any form; your comments are therefore seriously considered. Be assured that we investigate accusations of bullying or harassment that are brought forward to our HR team. We are committed to helping our colleagues maintain a positive work-life balance, and we encourage our employees to raise any issues through various channels based on their comfort level. This could be by talking to a member of the Senior Leadership team within your functional area, contacting your functional area’s HR representative, or by following our Whistleblowing process to address this issue in the strictest of confidence. Meanwhile, the Sales profession is difficult and with many competing tasks that distract from revenue generating activities. Time management techniques are critical for today’s sales professional to reach his/her success metrics which includes quota and more importantly customer satisfaction and relationship building. While we know that ineffective leaders can harm the bottom line, the good news is that our business in the US and across the Americas region continues to thrive as evidenced by our Q1 financials and business highlights. Our overall sales are up nearly 11% year over year so our team – from individual sales to leadership – is trending in a great direction. Still, continual improvement is part of who we are, which means we are often implementing changes that can seem like a distraction but we always have our employees’ interests and well-being top of mind. Your input is important to us and this is one of the reasons why we are such a keen supporter of Glassdoor. Thank you for sharing as it allows us to continue to grow as a company.

  8. Helpful (14)

    "Slowly deteriorating and ruining careers in process"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there are absolutely no pros. Directors always cover each other’s back until someone further up decides to fire them, then the same directors blame the person that left/was let go for all the huge shortcomings.

    Cons

    In a nutshell: Lower pay than industry standards, higher expectations, no support or understanding of work flor from executives, high turnover rate of employees (including execs and management), non-existent HR, unrealistically low budgets. Your first impression of BSI will be full of bright smiles; that impression changes very fast once you are in your first few meetings where you find out how unrealistic the expectations are, then comes the drive from upper management to make you do what they want you to do (beyond your pay grade). HR turns their back on verbal abuse and sexism/racism. You will be left working long hours with low pay and wondering what the benefit of working for a global company is

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2018-09-26
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Sr Programmer"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Programmer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary that was given was decent

    Cons

    Management was bad, went back on word

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2018-07-26
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Anonymous"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good banter of workers in office Wonderful coworkers Great benefits Interesting work I'm filling up space here since I'm having a hard time thinking of what else

    Cons

    Management is rude, dismissive, and headless. There's no direction or initiative to invest in their employees. The extra star is only for the office. Consistently understaffed and overworked. Just because your staff can provide results doesn't mean it's sustainable in the long term to pile so much work onto them. If could keep the job but double the number of my team, and never need to speak to management again, this would be the perfect job for me. I could not, and thus I did not.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2017-10-12
Found 163 reviews