BTS Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Director

BTS Director Reviews

Updated Mar 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Henrik Ekelund
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Clients make your job fun or miserable. Great culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BTS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong client base and expanding services. Improvements in the work life balance and benefits. Strong leadership for the most part.

    Cons

    Silos between office and regions. Business is cyclical and our services are constantly getting price pressure. Clients will have a big impact on your success.

    Advice to Management

    As we move towards a more traditional consultant model - don't lose the culture.

    BTS2017-01-20
  2. "Senior Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BTS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great client work and results

    Cons

    back to back weekly travel makes difficult to have work-life balance

    BTS2018-03-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company! Entrepreneurial firm with Fortune 500 clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BTS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smaller company with big clients and ambitions. Strong focus on driving value for clients and employees simultaneously. A big focus on creating a culture of fun and adventure, which is unique in a typically 'serious' industry.

    Cons

    Consulting, by the nature of the work, creates demands for time based on client need. As a result you can find that work life balance is harder to achieve than other industries. However, within that balance the company gives the employee a great deal of freedom to offset (including unlimited vacation).

    Advice to Management

    Bring a higher degree of transparency to the org with more regular communications to all levels of the business.

    BTS2016-11-09
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Venice, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BTS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenging Work Environment Really Smart & Motivated Employees Fun & Unique Culture Flat Structure, Ability to experiment with new ideas

    Cons

    Unpredictable Travel & Schedule Consistency in leadership

    BTS2015-08-24
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Learning Excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BTS

    Pros

    The global organization is blessed with smart leadership, smart co-workers, challenging work, and takes pride in constantly seeking industry leadership. BTS excels at design and delivery of business simulations that make huge business impacts on its customers. This is a great workplace for overachievers.

    Cons

    The slightly ad hoc nature of team creation leads to extra work. At times there is a disconnect between strategic leadership focus on tactical day to day focus that creates extra work. There needs to be more focus on measuring and reporting the great results achieved.

    Advice to Management

    Support more frequent use of the program performance measures.

    BTS2014-12-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "High morale, meaningful and diverse work, exceptional responsibility, executive access, and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BTS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    BTS is a supportive culture, both client and employee focused. The team enjoys celebrating successes, and reinforcing both people leadership and business performance. The leadership team is charismatic, pragmatic, sociable and committed to the art of intelligent, savvy consulting. The seven years I spent at BTS spring boarded my career. I am currently leading the Leadership Development organization at one of the largest...

    Show More

    Cons

    BTS is a relatively small company, so there's no place to hide if you're not committed to your teams and act in a respectful and professional manner to your peers, management and clients. On the other hand, if you deliver results, enjoy working on small teams and are interested in a career in high-stakes consulting, with significant interaction with executives and leader of F100 companies, this is the place for you!

    Advice to Management

    My recommendation is to continue to invest in your people and client relationships. I might also recommend creating a value proposition to young consultants who might not want to stay with the company 3+ years, but could be extremely valuable in even a short amount of time.

    BTS2014-11-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BTS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture that provides ample opportunity for self-motivated professionals. Engagements are high profile C-suite initiatives that allow consultants first hand interactions with senior level execs. Ability to drive impact at local office and national level. I had great access to our senior leaders and felt my opinion was very important to them.

    Cons

    Coaching of employees; this has improved but there is room for better employee development. You are asked to juggle a lot of priorities, which can be challenging at times. The job can require a lot of travel for extended periods of time.

    BTS2014-10-24
  8. Helpful (3)

    "5+ great years at BTS San Francisco post-MBA before leaving for an entrepreneurial opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BTS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people and culture are outstanding. I commend Henrik and the leadership team for building a firm that really does feel like a special place to work. The clients are awesome. In five years I was able to work at many leading high-tech, retail, professional services, and biotechnology firms. The talent (and the market credibility you get from working here is) getting better. During my time there, BTS grew from...

    Show More

    Cons

    The quality of coaching/mentoring/people development varies widely across the top leadership team. The firm must (in a transparent way) hold their leaders to the highest standard not just on revenue delivery, but also on culture and people development.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to financially reward those who contribute to the culture. The people who coach/mentor and develop others in their spare time are what makes the firm a special place.

    BTS2014-10-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Just left BTS (2014) - incredible experience for the past 3.5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BTS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    BTS is an incredibly exciting place to work, and actually a true meritocracy. Entering the company as a 22 year old that didn't know anything, I had tremendous mentors along the way to teach me everything I needed to know. There is a culture of challenging people to do great work, and providing coaching along the way. BTS has some great leaders and I honestly expect them to do great things. Lastly - the culture and people...

    Show More

    Cons

    For full disclosure - I did leave the organization, but only because I wanted a career change, not because of anything I didn't like there. The only thing that was slightly difficult during my time there was the work-life balance. But I don't think its any more than a typical consulting company. Traveling will be a part of the job, and it really just depends on the person. I loved the pace initially, but everyone is...

    Show More
    BTS2014-10-09
  10. "Very positive and I have grown in my roles with the company and work with clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BTS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    We make a difference with clients. Great people to work with. Very creative solutions and a fun culture.

    Cons

    A lot of hours and travel time away from family.

    BTS2013-10-07
Found 12 reviews