BUCA Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

BUCA Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated May 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
6%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Robert Earl
2 Ratings
  1. "Assistant General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BUCA for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Company, Great Food, Great Atmosphere.

    Cons

    Only one location in Hawaii

    BUCA2016-11-12
  2. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BUCA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are good I guess

    Cons

    Working with Management is hard

    Advice to Management

    When you have servers who are afraid of their managers who scream and yell at them or constantly threaten them with firing or making them sorry you have an issue

    BUCA2019-05-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Unless you want a work life balance of 90/10.. don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BUCA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great food Fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Corporate treats you like garbage. They yell at you and belittle you in front of your hourly staff or even talk bad about you to them. Lots of HR related issues that they'll keep tucking under the rug. No coaching, and tons of drama and unprofessional behavior gets old. I've seen them fire lead managers or key roles to "save money." Absolutely no loyalty. They will tell you you're hired to work 50 hour work weeks when...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff better and maybe you'd have a better reputation.

    BUCA2018-01-21
  4. "Assistant General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Shenandoah, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BUCA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Delicious food every day. Great support from the CEO, HR, and DVP's. Encouraged to manage your way to get the results desired. Encouraged to use your PTO.

    Cons

    It can be hard to get approval for larger R&M even if it's critical. (Air conditioning) Work ALL holidays. Be prepared to do 12+ hour shifts on most. Last minute coupon offers that leave miniscule amounts of time to order/inform for proper execution. (Not all offers, but some)

    Advice to Management

    Return to compensating your FOH and HOH staff with family meal and trainer meals. You are in a great position as a desirable place to work for highly skilled servers/line cooks, a reduction in passive incentives could be the difference in retaining or losing them. You need to continue to attract the top tier workers for those positions. You don't want to become an Applebee's.

    BUCA2016-09-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "AGM's Perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BUCA for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Amazing co-workers. Seriously, the best part about this job is bonding with and maintaining a positive relationship with your staff. You get so much more out of them when you are respected and it translates into sales! -Food is pretty good in moderation. If it wasn't for the enormous amounts of calories, I'd love to eat it every day. -Pace is great if you like to lead by example. Being one of the top stores in the...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Benefit to hours ratio. Our salaried paychecks are displayed as 80 hours biweekly, however we work more than 100 hours bi-weekly and our insurance is EXPENSIVE. Getting 80 hour level insurance for working 100 hour level is tough. -Longer hours will strap you for time, leaving not much wiggle room to do anything else. It's extremely difficult to take classes, other jobs, or make plans because you can be called in at...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Invest in your teams! We work unbelievably hard to make the higher ups look good. We deal with constant equipment going down, vendors not getting paid, and payroll issues. -Positive reinforcement is the BEST reinforcement.

    BUCA2016-08-25
  6. "Very long work hours. Company is in the red"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Exton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BUCA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you like the people you work with you will love your job. There is always potential to move up in the company.

    Cons

    The company takes forever to pay its vendors so it's hard to get people to help us because we take longer than 3 months to pay them. Also the hours are way more then they say. You must work every holiday no expections

    Advice to Management

    You're very strict about making sure we work our 50 hours a week but you aren't appreciating the ones who are working 60 hours.

    BUCA2016-08-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Lock of structured trainings from top to bottom."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BUCA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employees, fun atmosphere, some what friendly customers, employees have a great attitude towards new management. The job at times is rewarding.

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't have a clue how each store is run. DVP only cares about numbers, not about the well being of employees or restaurant. DVP doesn't know how to hire quality chefs, management, and sales. Being promoted is easy if you want to work long hours for bad pay. I can't believe how fast we go through management in this company. They don't approve fixing the restaurant but want it to be perfect . I'm not...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    DVPs should have more meetings with AGM's and supervisors to have a better understanding in what each store is lacking. Every store is different, therefore he should invest in what is needed and not assume they knows everything.

    BUCA2016-04-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Atmosphere, great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Appleton, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at BUCA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unique Restaurant w/ a unique menu. Fun warm inviting staff and management. Great location by the mall.

    Cons

    It is the hospitality industry..work a lot of weekends, but thats when your busy, so all hands on deck as they say.

    Advice to Management

    Try to get lower drink prices, too expensive for the fox valley. Word of mouth marketing works the best.

    BUCA2016-01-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's one of the better work environments I've ever been a part of in the restaurant industry. The pay is probably considered in the upper-mid level range. The hours are much shorter than I've worked at other jobs, which was great with small kids. My time here was probably the most fun I've ever had at a job.

    Cons

    There wasn't a whole lot of recognition for accomplishments. I also felt like the upward mobility was rather limited, although I could have just simply been unlucky in regards to that.

    Advice to Management

    I didn't interact with upper management often, so I'd say it'd be nice to have more contact/input/feedback/etc. Expectations could be expressed a bit more clearly as far as what needs to be done for promotions.

    BUCA2015-10-08
  10. "great concept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in Clarksville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    quality food great atmosphere, wonderful guests

    Cons

    need better communication from uppermanagement

    Advice to Management

    this is a great concept . point us in the right direction

    BUCA2015-09-04
Found 16 reviews