BUCA Bartender Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Bartender

BUCA Bartender Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
Robert Earl
0 Ratings
  1. "Bartender/Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BUCA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, great money, flexible schedules, coworkers become like family, ability to pool tips with another employee in your section- almost like a buddy system so you can help each other out if you get weeded.

    Cons

    This restaurant is a very popular place on Holidays, and they are open on all major holidays-even christmas. Large portion sizes require a lot of boxing food for customers, banquets require one server per 10 people which is sometimes unnecessary.

    Advice to Management

    Someone has to work on Holidays, but it may be nice to offer incentives for working on major holidays and missing out on time with family.

    BUCA2016-12-12
  2. "fun and exciting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender 

    I worked at BUCA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    famiglia based atmosphere, always something to be excited about

    Cons

    open 365 days a year - never get family time on holidays

    BUCA2019-02-24
  3. "Life as a bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Bartender in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Wonderful General Managers and supervisors

    Cons

    Corporate didn't take care of the building. Worked long hours and all holidays from open to close.

    Advice to Management

    Our management was wonderful. Most of the issues stemmed from corporate, either not approving things or trying to change something we did that worked well.

    BUCA2018-01-18
  4. "Good first server job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tables were a lot easier to wait when you didn't have individual meals and seating assignments

    Cons

    It very corporate. No room to grow.

    BUCA2017-11-21
  5. "just do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server Trainer/Bartender in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    excellent training, easy job if you follow the rules

    Cons

    corporate, hard to hear 'sell more desserts' five times a day when you are trying

    Advice to Management

    work on creative motivation

    BUCA2017-08-23
  6. "Buca di beppo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family environment with great management

    Cons

    Shifted to major corporate atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    Let your people have personalities

    BUCA2017-05-04
  7. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good job for students Somewhat flexible working arrangements

    Cons

    Poor management Inconsistencies with management

    Advice to Management

    Restaurant managers are constantly changing, which is very disruptive to the store. Pay managers a little bit more so you attract better managers that will stay longer and give consistency to the restaurant.

    BUCA2017-04-10
  8. "Bring it back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BUCA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work family, fun atmosphere, good money, great hours

    Cons

    Poor communication between management and staff, disorganized, inconsistent, restaurant needs a plumber, electrician, etc

    Advice to Management

    Be a team. Have more preshifts

    BUCA2017-01-15
  9. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Waldorf, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people that I worked with were great and the management seemed to really be on my side. They were friendly and helpful and really seemed to make sure that I learned a lot.

    Cons

    Certain tip-share policies weren't ideal. I had to share my tips with some of the other positions that didn't do as much work as me and it didn't seem fair at times.

    Advice to Management

    Review and adjust the tip sharing policy. The servers there work really hard and sometimes they have to split tips with people that are making more money hourly and aren't doing as much as the servers.

    BUCA2016-10-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away from Tallahassee FL Buca!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Tallahassee, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at BUCA part-time

    Pros

    I made really good friends here. We had really good management when we first opened. They treated us with respect and there was a strong sense of "familia" which is what this company is SUPPOSED to be all about! My first 3 years here were very enjoyable and profitable.

    Cons

    Current management has driven away all our good regular customers. The restaurant is always empty! While every manager is sitting on their lazy butts in the office, I'm in the FOH doing three jobs (bar,server,and host) by MYSELF! (and being extremely UNDERPAID for it!) If I dare ask for help they get annoyed! Management CONSTANTLY talks down to every employee! It's like being in an abusive relationship! VERY DEPRESSING!...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get off your butts and do something useful! Get off the fantasy sports, snapchat, candy crush & Pokemon go! Stop trying to flirt with every woman that walks in or by or restaurant! (You are not good looking at all and nobody wants you! You are just driving customers away! ) Stop flirting with the new sales manager! She does not want you either! She just used you to get ahead! Start treating your employees with respect...

    Show More
    BUCA2016-08-24
Found 20 reviews