BUCA Hostess Reviews | Glassdoor

BUCA Hostess Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Robert Earl
1 Ratings
  1. "Absolutely outstanding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Hostess in Augusta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BUCA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management and the feeling of being with family

    Cons

    The locations of the restaurant were horrible. Almost no foot traffic and difficult to advertise.

    Advice to Management

    Pick more appropriate places to hold this restaurant.

    BUCA2018-06-12
  2. "Average place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with hours, chill work environment.

    Cons

    My hours got cut frequently, felt overstaffed, I thought I'd have more opportunity to work my way up to a server position but they kept hiring servers from the outside.

    Advice to Management

    Train your staff for the long run and you will have less turnover.

    BUCA2019-06-09
  3. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Murray, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BUCA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co workers and team.

    Cons

    Inconsistent with rules and management isn't on the same level on communication.

    Advice to Management

    Have better communication and stay consistent.

    BUCA2019-02-11
  4. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Made decent tips doing take out, plus $10/hour pay for Hostess's.

    Cons

    Lots of co-workers due to size of the restaurant, which allowed for a lot of slacking to happen under managements nose. Employees who have been there for an extended period of time are extremely cocky and treat "newer" employees poorly, especially if they know how to do their job. This seems like the opposite of how it should be, but there was a lot of jealousy between employees here.

    Advice to Management

    Try to facilitate better relationships between FOH and BOH staff.

    BUCA2018-02-19
  5. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Hostess/Cashier in Milwaukee, WI

      I worked at BUCA part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Family atmosphere, flexibility which is great for students

      Cons

      a lot of down time, lacking in management

      BUCA2017-03-28
    • Helpful (3)

      "Hostess"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess in Phoenix, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at BUCA part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      There are not many pros. I guess the customers were nice. They say if you can't say anything nice don't say anything at all ...

      Cons

      Worked there for about three weeks. They never provided me any formal training, and just expected me to know everything from the get go. When asked for training, they were very snobbish and rude. They pretty much forced me to quit.

      Advice to Management

      Please train your employees. Create a positive atmosphere for the employees instead of breading a terrible place to work.

      BUCA2016-04-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Late Hours/Poor Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at BUCA part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Never That Busy -Easy Tasks -Management didn't care, so I could do homework

      Cons

      -Unprofessional Management -Rude Management -Late Hours -Require you to work every single holiday

      BUCA2015-11-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good Part-Time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Host/Hostess in San Diego, CA
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at BUCA

      Pros

      These are everywhere and you are able to transfer so that's cool.

      Cons

      You have to wear a tomato tie

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees and promote faster!

      BUCA2015-10-23
    • "Buca Di Beppo"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess in Mira Mesa, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at BUCA part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great Staff, everyone is so friendly and I felt like Buca Di Beppo became my second home and family.

      Cons

      Hostess do not get paid any tips only the delivery staff get paid tips and it takes about 5 months to move up to delivery

      BUCA2014-08-10
    • "Best place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Hostess in Florence, KY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at BUCA part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      everyone is friendly, good discount on the food, management treats you like family. they help you advance within the company if you want to, they're there to help you whenever you need. the regulars always remember you.

      Cons

      pay is decent but could be higher, open everyday of the year and hard to request holidays off.

      Advice to Management

      offer promotions and pay raises to employees who work hard and show improvement rather than just to people with more experience.

      BUCA2014-05-17
    Found 12 reviews