BUCA Reviews | Glassdoor

BUCA Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 276 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Robert Earl
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "COUPONS, during the slower months Buca loves to send millions of(in 14 reviews)

  • "The upper management is not approachable and the work hours are long(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Family Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Server 

      I have been working at BUCA part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Staff becomes like family, big parties mean more tips generally, food is delicious

      Cons

      Slow nights make it hard to earn money as it would be at any place

      BUCA2019-02-07
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at BUCA part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Family culture and great food.

      Cons

      unorganized and inexperienced management.

      Advice to Management

      stock your restaurant with the items your customers need ( forks, plates, straws) so the server can best serve them.

      BUCA2019-05-07
    • "Incompetent Management team"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Sacramento, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at BUCA part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good money during the holidays

      Cons

      It is open 365 days of the year but it is something you sign up for. Management needs huge work. The turnover rate for managers are ridiculous at my store. Makes you wonder if just anyone can get the job.

      Advice to Management

      Hire better, competent people.

      BUCA2019-04-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good money, terrible Corporate management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Davie, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at BUCA part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      If you're willing to put in the work, there is potential to make good money.

      Cons

      Corporate does not support its staff and sexual harassment cases are a common thing they do not take seriously.

      BUCA2019-04-09
    • "Love my coworkers, not my management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Food Runner 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at BUCA part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      One of the few jobs I've worked where my coworkers actually felt like family. Most companies say "we're all family!" and it comes off as insincere and forced. I genuinely enjoy my coworkers and my job.

      Cons

      Management hires people from outside the company rather than promoting from within. Has repeatedly hired more servers while cutting hours and shifts for existing servers that have been at the restaurant for years and depend on their shifts to live. Why am I training people who have no clue what they're doing for positions that I'm capable of doing and want to do? Why am I constantly being tossed between job positions...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please be straight forward with your employees and reward people who have sacrificed their personal lives for opportunities that you hand out to strangers.

      BUCA2019-04-01
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Prep Cook 

        I have been working at BUCA part-time

        Pros

        Great place to work. When things get busy and/or the kitchen might be understaffed, we all manage to effectively work as a team to get the job done. The overall work atmosphere is the best I've encountered in the food industry.

        Cons

        There are none that I can think of.

        BUCA2019-03-16
      • "A mess"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Host 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at BUCA part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The staff was nice and tried to make the best of the situation.

        Cons

        Management was a mess. They Forced us to overbook and accept walk-ins when we had nowhere to put them. They Screamed and swore at employees when frustrated by their own mistakes, would disappear for large periods of time. Manager and asst. manager wild talk badly about each other and other employees. Did not respect availability and did not communicate with staff.

        BUCA2019-04-12
      • "fun and exciting job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server/Bartender 

        I worked at BUCA part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        famiglia based atmosphere, always something to be excited about

        Cons

        open 365 days a year - never get family time on holidays

        BUCA2019-02-24
      • "Can be fun, but can be stressful"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server in San Diego, CA
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at BUCA part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great coworkers, fun environment, easily able to give shifts away or pick up shifts

        Cons

        Management, corporate, and working long hours on holidays

        Advice to Management

        Be more understanding that we are human beings, not robots. We have feelings and lives outside of work, do not expect us to be so perfect.

        BUCA2019-03-08
      • "Hostess"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Hostess in Murray, UT
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at BUCA part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great co workers and team.

        Cons

        Inconsistent with rules and management isn't on the same level on communication.

        Advice to Management

        Have better communication and stay consistent.

        BUCA2019-02-11
      Found 276 reviews