BUCA Server/Waiter Reviews | Glassdoor

BUCA Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 280 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Robert Earl
20 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Director of HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA full-time

    Pros

    Culture, Flexibility, Organization, Support, locations

    Cons

    Management change was disruptive and poorly communicated.

    BUCA2018-09-20
  2. "Great Food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BUCA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, good crew to work with

    Cons

    The restaurant sometimes was short staffed

    Advice to Management

    Keep having catering sales manager. They do help to drive the business

    BUCA2019-06-03
  3. "Average place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with hours, chill work environment.

    Cons

    My hours got cut frequently, felt overstaffed, I thought I'd have more opportunity to work my way up to a server position but they kept hiring servers from the outside.

    Advice to Management

    Train your staff for the long run and you will have less turnover.

    BUCA2019-06-09
  4. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Take Out 

      I worked at BUCA part-time

      Pros

      tips were definitely a plus

      Cons

      long hours and little help from co-workers

      BUCA2019-05-28
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at BUCA part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Family culture and great food.

      Cons

      unorganized and inexperienced management.

      Advice to Management

      stock your restaurant with the items your customers need ( forks, plates, straws) so the server can best serve them.

      BUCA2019-05-07
    • "Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BUCA full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The benefits are good I guess

      Cons

      Working with Management is hard

      Advice to Management

      When you have servers who are afraid of their managers who scream and yell at them or constantly threaten them with firing or making them sorry you have an issue

      BUCA2019-05-21
    • "Incompetent Management team"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Sacramento, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at BUCA part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good money during the holidays

      Cons

      It is open 365 days of the year but it is something you sign up for. Management needs huge work. The turnover rate for managers are ridiculous at my store. Makes you wonder if just anyone can get the job.

      Advice to Management

      Hire better, competent people.

      BUCA2019-04-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good money, terrible Corporate management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Davie, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at BUCA part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      If you're willing to put in the work, there is potential to make good money.

      Cons

      Corporate does not support its staff and sexual harassment cases are a common thing they do not take seriously.

      BUCA2019-04-09
    • "Love my coworkers, not my management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Food Runner 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at BUCA part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      One of the few jobs I've worked where my coworkers actually felt like family. Most companies say "we're all family!" and it comes off as insincere and forced. I genuinely enjoy my coworkers and my job.

      Cons

      Management hires people from outside the company rather than promoting from within. Has repeatedly hired more servers while cutting hours and shifts for existing servers that have been at the restaurant for years and depend on their shifts to live. Why am I training people who have no clue what they're doing for positions that I'm capable of doing and want to do? Why am I constantly being tossed between job positions...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please be straight forward with your employees and reward people who have sacrificed their personal lives for opportunities that you hand out to strangers.

      BUCA2019-04-01
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Prep Cook 

        I have been working at BUCA part-time

        Pros

        Great place to work. When things get busy and/or the kitchen might be understaffed, we all manage to effectively work as a team to get the job done. The overall work atmosphere is the best I've encountered in the food industry.

        Cons

        There are none that I can think of.

        BUCA2019-03-16
      Found 280 reviews