BUCA Reviews | Glassdoor

BUCA Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 280 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Robert Earl
20 Ratings
  1. "A mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BUCA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff was nice and tried to make the best of the situation.

    Cons

    Management was a mess. They Forced us to overbook and accept walk-ins when we had nowhere to put them. They Screamed and swore at employees when frustrated by their own mistakes, would disappear for large periods of time. Manager and asst. manager wild talk badly about each other and other employees. Did not respect availability and did not communicate with staff.

    BUCA2019-04-12
  2. "fun and exciting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender 

    I worked at BUCA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    famiglia based atmosphere, always something to be excited about

    Cons

    open 365 days a year - never get family time on holidays

    BUCA2019-02-24
  3. "Can be fun, but can be stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, fun environment, easily able to give shifts away or pick up shifts

    Cons

    Management, corporate, and working long hours on holidays

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding that we are human beings, not robots. We have feelings and lives outside of work, do not expect us to be so perfect.

    BUCA2019-03-08
  4. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Murray, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BUCA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co workers and team.

    Cons

    Inconsistent with rules and management isn't on the same level on communication.

    Advice to Management

    Have better communication and stay consistent.

    BUCA2019-02-11
  5. "Family Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Server 

      I have been working at BUCA part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Staff becomes like family, big parties mean more tips generally, food is delicious

      Cons

      Slow nights make it hard to earn money as it would be at any place

      BUCA2019-02-07
    • "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Host 

      I have been working at BUCA part-time

      Pros

      Relaxed environment for all empoyees

      Cons

      No bad things to say here

      Advice to Management

      keep it up

      BUCA2019-02-04
    • "A Great Way to Earn Money for a Year or Two"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Server 

        I worked at BUCA full-time

        Pros

        Family feel amongst staff Good pay Reminds you not to take yourself too seriously Guests tend to have a good time

        Cons

        No option for healthcare benefits Ugly uniform Poor quality food

        BUCA2019-01-28
      • "My time at Buca"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Saint Paul, MN
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at BUCA for less than a year

        Pros

        Management was decent at working with your schedule and respecting requested days off.

        Cons

        Management cycled quite frequently. Regular/longtime workers were the more consistent "management" and were helpful.

        Advice to Management

        Hire excellent cooks

        BUCA2019-01-25
      • "Poor Management / Rapidly Declining Business"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Server in Colonie, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at BUCA part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Flexible schedule, relaxed atmosphere, friendly co-workers

        Cons

        Over-staffing, declining business, frequent call-offs

        BUCA2019-02-10
      • "Corporate gets in the way of local operations and sales"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at BUCA

        Pros

        Salary was higher than previous sales position

        Cons

        No straight answers, improper training, no appreciation other than lip service, constantly changing things from corporate level to local, communication is major negative.

        Advice to Management

        Don't use it as a piggy bank for the other companies. Pay attention to operations capabilities and don't overwork them which sets them up for failure, don't be afraid to reprimand when needed it keeps the team fresh and responsible.

        BUCA2019-01-04
      Found 280 reviews