BUCA Sales Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

BUCA Sales Manager Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Robert Earl
2 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work, Amazing team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BUCA full-time

    Pros

    I have only been here about 2 months but I am pretty good and sniffing things out on day 1 so, it's time to leave a review. This is a great employer and a great team of people in the restaurant to work with. In addition to great benefits, the management is really well organized for such a busy restaurant which is in the heart of the convention center. The National Sales Office does an outstanding job of sourcing QUALIFIED...

    Show More

    Cons

    The job is not for the quiet, shy types who like a slow, easy pace. You need to be assertive and fearless, if you like to be laid back and sit in the office this might not be the job for you. I personally don't consider that a "con" but some might.

    Advice to Management

    I don't feel qualified to give advice as I am not on the front lines of the restaurant, I would say keep on keepin' on. I was asked to rate the CEO whom I haven't had the pleasure of meeting, but I do know that a company runs the way it works from the top so I'm giving him a thumbs up.

    BUCA2016-07-19
  2. "Great Food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BUCA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, good crew to work with

    Cons

    The restaurant sometimes was short staffed

    Advice to Management

    Keep having catering sales manager. They do help to drive the business

    BUCA2019-06-03
  3. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BUCA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Restaurant concept is great, based on serving large parties for celebrations. Food is great and restaurants are fun. It's a good product to sell for parties and catering.

    Cons

    Micro management of the restaurant managers, tight labor restrictions so that staffing can't provide the service and hospitality that is needed.

    Advice to Management

    Allow better staffing to provide a better product and experience for guests.

    BUCA2017-11-22
  4. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BUCA full-time

    Pros

    - Freedom to get your job done with minimal interruption from Operations team and Corporate office. You'll essentially be an office of one. - 12 days of PTO/year starting out. Accrued one day/month. Holidays off. - CRM (Tripleseat) and Booking software (Opentable) are effective and easy to use. - Ability to be out of the office as much as necessary for sales calls, etc. Not staring at a screen all day. ...

    Show More

    Cons

    - The company itself is a little shady. Does not pay vendor bills on time, for example. - You will not get a raise to your base salary. They consider any additional commission you earn for the year to be your raise. Negotiate the highest base salary you can. - SMs do not receive quarterly bonuses like other managers, despite the fact that we bring in the sales. - Communication is not always great from NSO...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sales Managers should be part of the bonus program.

    BUCA2017-06-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Utica, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BUCA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Aside from the local employees, nothing.

    Cons

    They are so corporate. Their buildings are falling apart, they are under staffed, management is a joke. They lie and cheat. They do not pay their vendors and treat their loyal employees like slaves. They are going under.

    Advice to Management

    Look for other opportunities. Get out.

    BUCA2017-02-20
  6. "Catering Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BUCA for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, fun place, nice people

    Cons

    low pay, work you like a horse

    Advice to Management

    take care of your people

    BUCA2016-09-06
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BUCA

    Pros

    If you perform, they give you the latitude to think outside the box to build the brand.

    Cons

    They really mess you over when you resign. I am out over $4000 in commissions and Flexible Spending for dependent care. As a single mom, that's pretty below the belt. Don't expect anything including final paychecks, commissions, or legal remedies. They will have you so tied up in paperwork that it's impossible to get what is owed you.

    Advice to Management

    People over profit.

    BUCA2015-12-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Manager in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at BUCA for less than a year

      Pros

      Love the Family Oriented environment

      Cons

      Hard to book corporate accounts

      BUCA2015-06-11
    • Helpful (3)

      "Sales Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at BUCA full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      This is a great role for someone looking for an introductory Sales Position. With drive and passion, you will grow quickly. The concept is known for their celebratory nature and if one is on board with that, you will fit in nicely.

      Cons

      The company needs Regional Sales Managers to train and develop their people. The corporate hold is to far removed to make a difference. The control over coupons, marketing, comps, etc., is too strict. The implementation of Regional Management for Sales would increase communication, processes and marketing implementation

      BUCA2015-05-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Sales Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Manager in Coral Springs, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at BUCA full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Product easy to sell, corporate provides pertinent marketing materials (or used to), pay is ok, hours are ok

      Cons

      company doesn't pay vendors, "slow to pay" is the motto preached by president of the company! commission is only 2%, operations is expected to run on a skeleton crew so often restaurants are understaffed, operations managers and kitchen managers are overworked and underappreciated also they never receive a bonus

      Advice to Management

      pay your bills

      BUCA2015-04-16
    Found 12 reviews