Babcock Laboratories Reviews | Glassdoor

Babcock Laboratories Reviews

Updated Apr 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Babcock Laboratories CEO Allison Mackenzie
Allison Mackenzie
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to stay long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab in Moreno Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Babcock Laboratories full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -An overall quality company with plenty of opportunity to learn and grow. Many employees have been able to work in different departments according to their interests and goals throughout the lab, so there is definitely the chance to make a change or move up if you are willing to put in the hard work. -The company also highly values education and offers Tuition Reimbursement for those wanting to take courses at any... local university/college. Several employees I have known have used the company tuition reimbursement program to complete their Bachelors or Masters degrees. Also, there are monthly/quarterly informational sessions for those employees who want to learn more about the environmental industry and company. -Compared to other labs in the industry, Babcock pays more for us analysts (trust me, check the glassdoor accounts for other labs in the area) from lab techs to instrumentation analysts. -Babcocks has extensive training. Many senior analysts have been trained in-house. -There is always a lot of food/potlucks and people remember your birthday. -Management is approachable, and friendly, and they care. I have never heard anyone raise their voice. -At least 20% (estimate) of the employees have been working there 10-15+ years and they seem to be happy.

    Show More

    Cons

    Environmental industry can be tough in general. If you not willing to work hard, you will not succeed at this company.

    Advice to Management

    Improve fields of testing to increase what clients that we can service. Keep moving forward despite a few negative attitudes (they will weed themselves out).

    Babcock Laboratories2015-11-27
  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Babcock Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, casual atmosphere, coffee

    Cons

    Work load, high stress, low wages

    Babcock Laboratories2019-04-12
  3. "Gain experience and move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemist in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Babcock Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    * ESOP company * Flexible work schedule * good laboratory to gain experience in environmental testing * improves time management as the workflow can be overwhelming but there is a silver lining - if you ever become an employee at a public agency it will be a cake walk * the people are quality * upper management does try to make employees feel valued - A for effort, B-/C for delivery

    Cons

    * wages but can't really expect them to match public agencies * no mobility - in my opinion not a place to stay long term * cross-training in different departments can prove to be difficult due to amount of work that may come in the door * seen departments shrink in size but expect the same work output (one department when from 4 to 2) * upper management micromanages at times and can be out of touch of what is... actually going on in the laboratory

    Show More
    Babcock Laboratories2018-10-22
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Frustrating Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Babcock Laboratories

    Pros

    Friendly employees make work enjoyable.

    Cons

    Management cannot get out of its own way to let this company be as great as it could be.

    Advice to Management

    Loosen Up. If the company is supposed to be an ESOP then try doing a better job of listening to your employees.

    Babcock Laboratories2017-06-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "All talk but can't deliver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Riverside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Babcock Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They do pay for a portion of your medical benefits. They kind of have a retirement plan but it's less stable than the stock market. I have met some awesome people since starting here.

    Cons

    Management is absolutely clueless! They spend a lot of time telling all of us how lucky we are to work at this company but don't actually stand behind those values they preach to us. They spend too much time telling us to work hard to make our company a success and don't actually give us the tools we need to do so. Two days a week is not enough time away from this hell hole and it's a good thing I have medical... benefits so I don't have to worry about medical bills from the mental breakdown this place is going to cause me. I'll just have to worry about how to pay for it because they will take away all of my benefits if I go on leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get over yourselves. This place sucks and the more you pretend it doesn't the harder you make it for everyone. Go back to the way things were 5 years ago when your workers were happy and didn't look like smurfs in those horrible blue unisex lab coats. And the name badges look ridiculous.

    Babcock Laboratories2016-11-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Top Notch in Environmental Testing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemist in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Babcock Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    It's an Employee-owned company so employees are GIVEN shares annually without their permission, consent, or doing anything else. These shares are expected to grow substantially in the next 4 years simply because the ESOP was just formed. The company has a very flexible work schedule for most departments. The company currently does some very high profile work on the Federal level that has withstood the scrutiny of... both on-site audits as well as data validation audits.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's not like most government/utility workplaces so you have to earn your pay check and plan for retirement yourself. Chemists have to take initiative themselves to educate themselves on current technology so they can improve processes. Chemists with a degree and no experience might find they are still unqualified for certain positions. All positions require training; no exceptions. It can be a disappointing... place to work at for people who think they know it all.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better prepare new hires(starting in the interview) that environmental testing is challenging, especially with the wide range of tests being done. Ignore those that are just angry and not interested in improving the workplace environment.

    Babcock Laboratories2015-09-20
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Absolute authentic data"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Babcock Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    I am working as an instrument data analyst in the company, all data is backed up by an analyst initial, no misrepresentation or forge numbers, managers understand the stress behind short hold time, and 100% stands behind the analyst for any missed hold time or errors caused by instrument. I would say this is the best company in Riverside to work for.

    Cons

    according to the industry, the co-workers agreed that they are underpaid.

    Advice to Management

    Consider giving raises to the employees.

    Babcock Laboratories2015-09-03
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Professional Opportunities and Stake In Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Babcock Laboratories

    Pros

    Babcock Labs is an Employee Owned company which means that the employees receive shares in the company while going to work and doing their job. The potential value of the retirement benefits far outweighs a regular 401K. For anyone serious about learning and developing their skills as an environmental analyst, Babcock labs provides plenty of opportunity. Many of my coworkers with more than five years at the lab... have been able learn new instrumentation and analytical methods. I am very proud of the excellent reputation our lab has earned with the EPA and the great results we acheive in audits and performance tests.

    Show More

    Cons

    Babcocks has gone through a great amount of change over the past 12 months and not everyone who works there is happy or on-board with the changes. It is hard to understand why anyone would be unhappy to be an employee owner but apparently they don't like taking responsibility for their own performance. The one or two negative people on staff really bring down the whole team. I honestly don't know why they don't move... on and find a place to work that makes them happy. Their negativity creates alot of stress for everyone else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hold everyone accountable and get rid of people who don't want to be part of the team. Pay more attention to planning for peak worloads and increasing lab capacity, especially during stormwater season.

    Babcock Laboratories2015-09-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Don't let the resentful voices be the loudest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Babcock Laboratories part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Babcock Labs has a friendly atmosphere, many of the employees here are friends outside of work. The management team really cares about the staff and about providing top-notch, quality analytical services to clients. The company has been around for over 100 years and has been an integral part of the community since it was founded. To me personally, that's a big deal. Babcock Labs takes its Corporate Social... Responsibility seriously and goes out of its way to serve the Inland Empire community and its residents. As someone who believes in supporting local businesses, I'm happy to work for a small, local company with so much history and concern for its community, especially since we compete in an industry with large, national consolidated labs. The company is also now an ESOP which means that each employee has the opportunity to vest in the company and become a shareholder. What stands out most to me are the lengths to which management goes to ensure that the whole organization operates ethically and responsibly. There are some people who don't recognize this about the company, but working on the admin side has allowed me to see just how committed the management team is to acting ethically, responsibly, and in the best interest of the staff and organization as a whole. And in terms of our industry, we definitely put other labs to shame when it comes to data integrity.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are a few individuals who ruin it for everyone, but I don't imagine that's any different from any other workplace. Some people are unwilling to talk to management about their concerns and/or dissatisfaction and then they blame management for their unhappiness without ever giving them the opportunity to address the concerns or fix the problem (as is evident from some of the feedback on this site). In other... cases, people simply don't fact check before jumping to conclusions and spreading rumors to coworkers. This is a definite con because it affects me personally as an employee. If people spew nothing but negativity, that creates a toxic environment that makes it hard for me to work. If people deter talented individuals from coming to work for this company because of their own petty problems that they REFUSE to work on fixing, that affects my share value in this company and my ability to get the help I need to do a great job with great coworkers. It's unfortunate that the disgruntled voices are the loudest because in all honesty there are far more staff members who love the work they do, the people they work with, the flexibility they're given, and the opportunities they receive here - and I know that because I am one of those staff members and have talked to plenty of coworkers who feel the same way I do.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let go of the people who are eager to spew negativity and unproductive criticism but uninterested in bringing their concerns to the attention of management and/or working with management to fix their problems.

    Babcock Laboratories2015-09-04
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Riverside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Babcock Laboratories full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good place to get experience after college. Flexible schedule, donuts every Wednesday. Good potlucks, a lot of food all year around.

    Cons

    The people that keep writing all those positive reviews about how awesome this company is and about how great it is to be a part owner is probably making a lot of money and not sweating as much as the rest of us that make an average of $14 an hour. They brain wash people into working harder for the sake of "their" company and stocks, but we don't get to see any of that money. When we ask for raises there's no money... and if they happened give us one we get few cents. We are part owners but we work like slaves, in order to get the stock money you need to invest 6 years working here and if you quit after those 6 years you won't get that money right away, you will get it after another six years. If you quit before you invest 6 years you don't get to take anything with you. They screwed over all the old timers in the company because they had good 401K retirement but now the company doesn't match that and the stocks we get are not based in the amount of years they've worked for this lab. So technically they don't have enough time to save money in that new retirement account. The person that wrote the preview review also mention about the "few" negative people in the lab, let me tell you...there are more than few unhappy employees, the problem is that you can't say anything in the lab because everything you say would be used against you. There have been some lucky ones that had left this place, just an examples... 4 people quit in two months and more are getting ready to leave. I guess being a part lab owner is not that great after all. People would be happier if they got paid more, but they want us to work harder, more efficient, less overtime for the same amount of money. I'm sure upper management is getting paid a lot since they are the only ones happy around this place. Oh! and about getting experience... You don't get promoted here and if you happened to learn something new is because they are short staffed and they don't want to hire new people so they cross train the ones already here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to brain wash people at work with the idea of working for their own lab. We don't own anything, we work hard because we have good work ethics and because we need a job not because we are part owners of this place. Maybe the CEO and the CFO should take a pay cut and give raises to the rest of the "owners" of this place.

    Babcock Laboratories2015-09-22
Found 19 reviews