Backcountry.com Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
32%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Backcountry.com CEO Jonathan Nielsen (no image)
Jonathan Nielsen
102 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, good pay, great gear discounts(in 83 reviews)

  • "Strong community of like minded people who share passions for the outdoors(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Backcountry doesn't care about their employees(in 34 reviews)

  • "Direct supervisors are solid but seems like a disconnect between upper-management and their day-to-day operations/employees(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Backcountry's Marketplace Team Opening"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketplace Team Lead in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Backcountry.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Backcountry has a great work/life balance that encourages you to acheive your career goals while still alotting you the time to enjoy your outdoor adventures. Good benefits, good pay, great gear discounts!

    Cons

    With so many employees in the West Valley call center, sometimes you can feel like you're getting lost in the shuffle. However, if you make it known to management that you're in need of some direction, someone is always happy to help.

    Continue reading
    Backcountry.com2019-10-01
  2. "A thoughtful employeer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Backcountry.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, the teamwork and the discounts! Culture grows an environment where people want to be part of the solution. Coworkers are supportive and want to see you thrive in whatever takes you outdoors.

    Cons

    Low entry level pay for Gearheads, which tends to pulls in an inexperienced yet entitled workforce. Opposed to grooming entry level staff for the next step, they are coddled and ill prepared for the real world.

    Continue reading
    Backcountry.com2020-05-19
  3. "It’s a inbound customer service job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gearhead in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Backcountry.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good deals on gear and good atmosphere

    Cons

    It can be challenging to deal with the high volume of calls.

    Backcountry.com2020-05-17
  4. "Draining"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Processor in Christiansburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Backcountry.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for entry level work for young people looking for summer work

    Cons

    They will work your butt off, especially around winter time. It is emotionally and physically draining work. You do the same thing everyday. Can't take your phone into work with you, can not take anything with bluetooth in with you. You can barely even listen to music while you work. If you are talking to a coworker for more than 5 minutes you'll get punished. There is often manditory overtime.

    Continue reading
    Backcountry.com2020-05-13
  5. "Dont work here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gearhead in West Valley City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Backcountry.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the discount i guess but only on backcountry brand items, they dont pay you enough to afford anything else

    Cons

    When they hire you on they like to upsell the company to make it look fantastic however, none of it is true. The pay is horrible I've worked here for 2 years and they have given me one fifty cent raise. They promise frequent bonuses, raises and a fun environment while none of that is true. If you're on the inbound team good luck getting 2 minutes to yourself without the scheduling team or the team leaders yelling at you to get back into "ready status". I have ONE team lead I'm actually comfortable with talking to and asking questions. The rest of management makes you feel like you're the dumbest person in the world if you ask a single question. We are constantly harped on about how bad we are doing we get absolutely no positive recognition from management at all.

    Continue reading
    Backcountry.com2020-05-27
  6. "Terrible pay"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gearhead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Backcountry.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    discounts are ok and some free snacks

    Cons

    low paying and bad leadership. while higher ups get bonus's

    Continue reading
    Backcountry.com2020-05-12
  7. Helpful (5)

    "It used to be a great place a few years back."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Park City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Backcountry.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employee discounts! Culture is good. There are some great people and I'm friends with many of my co-workers. People are quite passionate about their outdoor sports.

    Cons

    This company doesn't care a lot about their employees. Salaries are way below average. Lots of rotation due to that. Leadership is only focused on reducing costs and pushing people to fit unrealistic schedules. The HR department is practically non-existent. No career paths or development plans. Training budget smaller each year. Forget about conferences, on-site training. 3% salary increases. Promotions happen only when the person above you leaves to some other company. Awkward situations happening with employees due to lack of policies and HR leadership. Some of the managers drink a lot, especially during Cyber Weekend. Last time I visited the Costa Rica office you could notice it.

    Continue reading
    Backcountry.com2020-04-13
  8. "Fun Work Environment!"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Gearhead in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Backcountry.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, lots of dogs if you like animals, free gear is frequent, and company cultures fosters an active lifestyle.

    Cons

    Pay is something to be desired, to say the least. Bringing in 50k in sales for a company in a month and making $11.50 an hour doesn't make sense.

    Continue reading
    Backcountry.com2020-04-06
  9. "Great Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Backcountry.com full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people, all of my coworkers are my best friends.

    Cons

    Really poor compensation for employees.

    Backcountry.com2020-04-04
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Fun company, useless CEO."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Backcountry.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun company, office is close to trails and great perks.

    Cons

    Useless CEO, no vision, no curiosity, no understanding of business.

    Backcountry.com2020-05-05
Found 328 reviews