Bad Brad's BBQ Reviews | Glassdoor

Bad Brad's BBQ Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in New Baltimore, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bad Brad's BBQ full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    There's plenty of room for growth in the company and hard work is acknowledged/rewarded. They treat you like family. You have to work hard to last and the owners/managements expectations are high. The owners/managers work just as hard as they expect you to and always have your back, which makes it rewarding and fun. This isn't just "another restaurant job" or for people who prefer take the easy way out, if you're lazy...

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing to do with the business itself but the way that employees visualize themselves can be annoying. With the workload and heavy cleaning schedule after close people will complain that they are only making "like $3 an hour". My tips on weekends equate to an average of $180/night on a 7 hour shift or $25.71/hr, which includes my time cleaning and closing up. Realize that your tips didn't come from your service alone...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Could be more understanding about days you need off or things that come up outside of work but they also eat, breathe, and live this place so I don't think they relate too much.

    Bad Brad's BBQ2017-07-25
  2. "Do Not Recommend At All"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Utica, MI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bad Brad's BBQ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, decent money, great customers

    Cons

    Poor management, unpaid side work, careless owners

    Advice to Management

    Don't play favorites, pay employees for mopping floors

    Bad Brad's BBQ2018-12-04
  3. "bus boy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busser in Shelby Township, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bad Brad's BBQ part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay but nothing else's god

    Cons

    hours and hard work not worth it

    Bad Brad's BBQ2018-10-02
  4. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bad Brad's BBQ

    Pros

    Family owned - great and understanding people. Fun coworkers and at times, a great work environment. The menu is creative and lets you get interactive with guests. I truly enjoyed my time with the company and made some life long bonds with my fellow servers!

    Cons

    Management tends to be the down fall a lot of the time, which leads to high employee turnover. They attempt to make up for it and create change but nothing seems to stick. If you plan to keep your employment you have to really fit in. You also have to know EVERY detail of the menu (not always a con - but a pain).

    Advice to Management

    Stop looking down upon your employees, they are your greatest assets and selling point. Although there is always work to be done and improvements to be made, it is important to focus on the positives and helping others succeed while running the business. Communicate, communicate, communicate! Make sure everyone knows the plan and how to execute it!

    Bad Brad's BBQ2018-06-01
  5. "Wouldn't be a bad job if i had adequate pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Carryout in Shelby Township, MI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bad Brad's BBQ part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool coworkers, discount on food, big tips for servers

    Cons

    Micromanageing bosses, low hourly pay, not enough tips to make minimum wage

    Advice to Management

    Put a sign for to let people know carryout works for tips

    Bad Brad's BBQ2017-11-19
  6. "Kitchen Help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Helper in Stillwater, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Bad Brad's BBQ part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Friendly place of employment. Everyone is friends both on and off the job. Management is very understanding of you class schedule and is very willing to work around it.

    Cons

    Pay isn't amazing but for the labor you're performing it is acceptable. New employees weren't always treated the best but after the first couple months you could move away from the dishwasher a little bit.

    Advice to Management

    Management was always pretty good. I don't have anything bad to say about them. They we're very understand.

    Bad Brad's BBQ2017-05-30
  7. "waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Bad Brad's BBQ full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      very thorough-you knew what was expected of you

      Cons

      a ridiculous amount of work that shouldn't have been expected of the wait staff weekly quizzes in addition to the intense menu knowledge required prior to training

      Bad Brad's BBQ2017-04-08
    • "Waitress"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Waitress in Lake Orion, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Bad Brad's BBQ

      Pros

      Good money most of the time

      Cons

      Treated so disrespectful. I am a working student and they expected me to take this job more seriously than school. I was forced to work doubles without being asked which required me to work 15 hours a day on my feet without a single break to eat. Managers are rude and treat their employees like trash. Do not work here unless you are desperate for a job. This place is totally unreasonable and horrible to their employees.

      Bad Brad's BBQ2017-04-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great opportunity for promotions, terrible work atmosphere (Shelby Township location)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Bad Brad's BBQ part-time

      Pros

      -Value hard workers -great opportunities to advance

      Cons

      -Not very organized. Was scheduled on nights I was unavailable. -Inadequate training, trained for only two days -Management and some of the staff were very rude -Very stressful work conditions

      Advice to Management

      Overall, I was very dissatisfied while working here. The work atmosphere was terrible; it felt as if everyone was on edge. If someone made a mistake (including the managers), they quickly blamed the other person to save their own skin. They were also disorganized. There were several times I was scheduled on nights when I was unavailable. Even when I was clear about my availability and told the manager specifically I...

      Show More
      Bad Brad's BBQ2014-09-19
    • "Bad Brad's"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Waitress in New Baltimore, MI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Bad Brad's BBQ part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Laid back managers for the most part.They run their business professionally and expect the employees to be hard working. But if you do what you are told it's a great atmosphere to work in.

      Cons

      They have slow days,and times where you might not make very good money, but with waitressing, it's almost always like that.

      Bad Brad's BBQ2012-10-02
    Found 10 reviews