Badgeville Reviews | Glassdoor

Badgeville Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
60%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Badgeville President and CEO Jon Shalowitz (no image)
Jon Shalowitz
9 Ratings
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Badgeville

    Pros

    Everything is amazng, people, company

    Cons

    Bad management Organizaton Sales Good team in general but we just couldn't bring in the revenue

    Badgeville2016-09-01
  2. "The Skipper and First Mate - lost at sea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Badgeville full-time

    Pros

    The rank and file employees and the product. Gamification is a real opportunity for legitimate, consistent and sustained engagement for enterprises. It really does work and motivate for good.

    Cons

    This ship has been "lost" at sea for some time. The Skipper and his trusted - yet inept - sidekick have been attempting to navigate a stormy market for a while, but just don't have a clue. He says he brought the Skipper in to "fix bad habits.” Of course, these were habits inculcated under his oversight. Seems like a clear self-admission of failure, but maybe the Japanese concept of “saving face” is at play here…hmmm… The Skipper has a whole other agenda. Common sense, logic, or basic proven business practice are quickly cast aside in order to intimidate, bully or castigate. When he will publically and privately throw his "little buddy" under the bus, you know trust is in short supply (generously put). It's just not an honest or healthy environment, which is unfortunate.

    Continue reading
    Badgeville2016-12-19
  3. "Difficult Situation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Badgeville

    Pros

    Interesting Industry and potential market

    Cons

    Funding dried up and company sold

    Badgeville2016-10-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fun team, big customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Badgeville full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I actually enjoy the people I work with. They're smart, fun, and we have a good time together at our events-- beer/wine tastings, movie and game nights. We work with some of the biggest companies in the world. And they're using Badgeville inside and outside the company.

    Cons

    Working for a start-up in a new space is not for everyone. It's not always easy working for big, demanding companies when you're the little guy. You have to work smarter and try new things.

    Continue reading
    Badgeville2016-05-11
  5. "Interesting space, clumsy company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Badgeville

    Pros

    Amazing opportunity to develop a unique skill-set and learn about an emerging industry from the leader in the space. The insights taken from solving problems for fortune 500 clients alone is worth your time.

    Cons

    Company hasn't recovered from early strategic missteps and often seems unsure of how to proceed.

    Continue reading
    Badgeville2016-04-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Many departures, few sales, doom feeling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Badgeville

    Pros

    Smaller location near downtown Redwood City had promise to be fun, but mostly empty chairs now. Was great company up to 2014 before large layoff and new CEO. Gamification was fun during hype in 2012 and 2013. Was good experience with big important customers.

    Cons

    Not a real business anymore. Most people have moved on - about 20 left. Few sales, down mood, fear money gone soon. Not hiring or trying to refill. Lose a person every 10 days - last month Dir eng, cust success manager, Dir cust support and QA manager all left. Salaries got cut just before holidays with no warning. Really a bummer.

    Continue reading
    Badgeville2015-12-04
  7. "Review for employment at Badgeville"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Badgeville

    Pros

    I had a very positive experience with Badgeville, both with the product, but more importantly with the people throughout the entire organization. The company offers a very good combination of culture and focus on the product. Badgeville always treats its employees more than fairly and promoted a very good experience (both on the day to day work experience, but as well as extracurriculars). There are a ton of really smart and hard-working folks at the company, with a vision for success both in the present and in the future.

    Cons

    Sometimes processes need to be better outlined and shared. However, given it's a small company, these are growing pains that are not specific to Badgeville.

    Continue reading
    Badgeville2015-10-08
  8. Helpful (8)

    "A salesperson's view - small consulting company now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Badgeville full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big potential when gamification was hot in 2013 but small (30) consulting company now. Trying to sell big deals $100K+ to F500. Long sales cycle - 12 months, only few deals/quarter close. This is consulting/integration gigs. If looking to build/sell/market software, this is not it. Have to convince enterprises not to build own solutions - very hard sale.

    Cons

    Echo Anon 8/16 comments. Most respected execs (finance, tech, marketing, sales) with strong software/mgmt backgrounds all left. CEO no software/consulting/mgmt 101. Sales & marketing disrespected/badly treated all left. High turnover, core engineers leaving. Many great opportunities out there in hot market - no reason to risk this one. Many great management teams/CEOs too!

    Continue reading
    Badgeville2015-08-25
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Company seems to be at end..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Badgeville full-time

    Pros

    Mostly nice people trying hard to get sales, but gong only rang twice since January. New VP of Sales seems good and hired some of his senior guys to build new sales group. Trying to become analytics company for employees in big companies now. Changed from consumer deals to big enterprise companies like Walmart. Marketing has lots of leads and good press articles. Some really great people in professional services.

    Cons

    Lots of turnover - under third CEO long time engineers left, CFO and CTO left, VP of marketing left, all sales team left, office manager left, HR payroll person left, game designers left. CEO is hard to work with and panics a lot, just gives orders to people and doesn't listen. Doesn't care if people leave and brings in his friends to fill spots. Wants to sell gamification on Communities (Jive, Yammer, etc.) but seems not much interest. Marketing and sales always trying hard and unhappy. Engineering re-org was very bad! Suddenly 3 new directors with one person reporting to each. Didn't tell us why they did it and engineers quit. Bad pay and bad management.

    Continue reading
    Badgeville2015-08-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Just had a great quarter. Moved into a new office with great downtown location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badgeville full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible when it comes to work; as long as the deadlines are met youre free to do as you please. They have a foosball table, ping pong table, and a giant kitchen that always has lots of food and drinks, not to mention providing lunch Monday Wednesday and Friday , caltrain rides, and a gym membership. New CEO has made sure we are all on the same page with all-hands meetings and lunch announcements. Honestly, despite the tough transition period the last few quarters I feel better now about the company and the product after talking with other departments and seeing their confidence as well. We just signed some big customers Amex, CDW and Walgreens last quarter and are going after new customers in different verticals, and promotions were handed out as well. Good to know some of the uncertainty is shedded now that we are in land and expand mode. The new office is great and easy to commute from caltrain. The previous office was in more of an isolated corporate complex, and this place definitely gives us a start-up edgy feel. I just like the fact that its easier to meet people at a coffee shop within walking distance.

    Cons

    Sometimes hours are long and a bit demanding. The environment definitely reflects the company, still trying to put some processes together. There are no cubicles or separate spaces so sometimes it might be a bit loud for someone sensitive to noise.

    Continue reading
    Badgeville2014-10-14
Found 19 reviews