Baillie Gifford Reviews | Glassdoor

Baillie Gifford Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Charles Plowden and Andrew Telfer
18 Ratings
  1. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baillie Gifford full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Extremely supportive, excellent bonus and comparable salaries .

    Cons

    Unclear and inconsistent performance review process, even more unclear salary review process . Although low turn over is great, it leaves very little room for career advancement. Recent exponential growth means it is a very different company to what it once was and many internal politics. In the dark ages in terms of flexible working etc, although is making improvements in this area

    Advice to Management

    Don't encourage those who are simply making the most noise to be seen or noticed, these people tend to be the least productive or add least value, despite the impression they give.

    Baillie Gifford2019-04-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great firm with a friendly culture, sometimes a bit bureaucratic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baillie Gifford full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and bonuses, friendly and respectful culture. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Communication isn't great across departments and there is a bit of a them/us vibe with operational and investment departments (particularly with regard to pay). There isn't much opportunity to progress if you work in an operational department.

    Baillie Gifford2019-03-02
  3. "All around a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baillie Gifford full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Friendly and welcoming work environment. They invest a lot in staff and provide excellent training opportunities and also provide good compensation and a generous bonus. Good work-life balance and there's a lot of experience within the company.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity with staff particularly in senior positions. Generally people within the business can be slow/hesitant to change and new ideas. A lot of work processes are unneccasarily complicated and could be streamlined but again people prefer to do things as they've always been done.

    Baillie Gifford2019-02-21
  4. "Investment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baillie Gifford full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Job security, location, reputation, performance, collegiate

    Cons

    Conservatism sometimes limits product innovation.

    Baillie Gifford2019-02-23
  5. "Application Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baillie Gifford full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great culture, amazing atmosphere. God technology stack for finance company.

    Cons

    Noting really comes to mind

    Baillie Gifford2019-02-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baillie Gifford full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    A genuine long term culture that's rare in the industry, so no focus on short term performance. Plenty of opportunities for interesting research. A collaborative culture where colleagues help each other and share ideas.

    Cons

    The partnership is very prudent, which is good, but it can sometimes feel a bit slow moving.

    Baillie Gifford2019-01-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Very supportive company with interesting front-office positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baillie Gifford full-time

    Pros

    This is a company that does pretty much everything right--and what they don't get right, they're working on trying to fix. The training programme for graduates is very conclusive, and the job itself is fascinating. I've found all of my colleagues to be interesting and extremely intelligent and capable people; it's really a pleasure to interact with the, and everyone is helpful and happy to go out of their way with whatever...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes management and HR are trying too hard to do the right thing, which causes them to forget what makes this such a great place to work. For example, there's an open-office layout, which is meant to increase communication, although science says the opposite (which is the case here also). I'm a bit worried that the people in HR have too much time to sit and micro-manage the culture rather than focussing on allowing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to drill into the kernel of problems a bit more often, rather than stopping half-way. There's often a lot more to even very simple questions, and if we're trying to set ourselves apart by doing all the right things, we should be thinking along these lines a bit more constructively as well. Keep maintaining our professional independence from the rest of the financial services industry and don't try too hard to make...

    Show More
    Baillie Gifford2019-01-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Baillie Gifford full-time

      Pros

      A lot! Friendly atmosphere, free coffee and tea etc.

      Cons

      Nothing comes to my mind.

      Baillie Gifford2019-01-17
    • Helpful (5)

      "Investment research"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Baillie Gifford

        Pros

        Great pay, good working hours and they actually support creativity, don't just talk about it.

        Cons

        Real problem with diversity. I'm definitely not saying it's a racist company but they do tend to hire the same demographic.

        Baillie Gifford2018-12-30
      • "Why don’t we include partner income in the pay gap?"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Baillie Gifford full-time

        Pros

        Long-term focus when analyzing companies.

        Cons

        Cannot understand why senior management is standing by the 23% mean gender pay gap they published in March this year. This does not include partner income! It makes us look good to have one of the lowest gender pay gaps, but is it at all representative of the reality? Can’t we just be open, as the law partnerships have been? It’s so frustrating as a female employee.

        Advice to Management

        Be open and honest! Far better to get on the front foot and choose to publish the gender pay gap data including the partners income, than to be forced to publish at some point by a change in the law. We would look like hypocrites.

        Baillie Gifford2018-12-08
      Found 38 reviews