Bain & Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Bain & Company Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2518 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (31)

    "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Interesting and challenging work with great exposure to senior clients - Fun and supportive culture, with strong focus on coaching and mentorship - Wide range of opportunities within the company (travel, transfers etc.)

    Cons

    - Hours and travel can make finding a work-life balance challenging

    Bain & Company2018-10-16
  2. "Ample opportunities for growth, exciting opportunities, and wonderful people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • The addition of digital capabilities to Bain's classic management consulting portfolio has allowed for designers and engineers to come into a startup environment supported by a large organization, which is a rare but desirable situation to be in • The assortment of challenges and problems to solve on behalf of clients is exciting and allows for plenty of growth • The people. are. wonderful.

    Cons

    Expect to work hard and push yourself on some days. It does resemble a startup environment in rigor on occasion.

    Bain & Company2019-06-21
  3. Helpful (546)

    "Welcome to Bain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Welcome to Bain. I'm going to give you a problem that neither the CEO nor his entire management team could solve. And I'm probably going to give you lots of different opinions and imperfect data sources. And then I'll ask you to focus in on where the most value is and convince all those people with different opinions that you're right. But don't worry, I'm also going to give you a Bain team. Those associates and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Here's how you know you've made it at Bain. The reward for doing a good job is getting a bigger, tougher problem next time. Meaning, you are always solving the easiest problem you will ever solve again. This takes a lot of resilience and active managing of self-expectations to remember that you are not actually getting worse, the problems are just getting harder. So my advice is to remember that. And then take a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to find and promote the leadership that lives our operating principles.

    Bain & Company2015-10-06

    Bain & Company Response

    September 27, 2016Director, Global Consultant Talent Management

    You have captured the essence of what it means to work here! Thanks for sharing your experience.

  4. "Truly the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High impact work, collaborate with very smart people, great comp

    Cons

    Long hours can be draining

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Bain & Company2019-06-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Excellent culture- pragmatic, collaborate, smart, and fun.

    Cons

    High stress and challenging - but also why it is rewarding.

    Bain & Company2019-06-10
  6. "Good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Bain & Company part-time

      Pros

      Good salary, everyone is nice.

      Cons

      Hard work, a lot expected from you

      Bain & Company2019-06-11
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great post-MBA experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Case Team Leader 

        I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Focus on professional development Exposure to different industries Ability to structure a problem

        Cons

        High travel Long hours and minimal work life balance

        Bain & Company2019-05-29
      • "All in all, worth to work for some time at Bain!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Consultant in Houston, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        As someone with just 2 years of consulting experience (more otherwise), was a great learning environment - reasonably good comp too

        Cons

        Not enough "ownership", intellectual or otherwise, of any significant work stream at this stage

        Advice to Management

        Better matching of interests and internal jobs would be great

        Bain & Company2019-06-15
      • Helpful (1)

        "Pleasant Experience at this firm"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Houston, TX
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Good pay - Interesting projects

        Cons

        - Manager micromanaged - Hierarchical - Desk chairs lack the needed lumbar support to provide optimal ergonomic positioning

        Bain & Company2019-06-04
      • "Great place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Associate Consultant 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

        Pros

        Learning, coaching, professional development, fun

        Cons

        Difficult lifestyle, demanding hours, travel

        Bain & Company2019-05-23
      Found 2518 reviews