Bain & Company Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great people to hang out with outside of work too(in 238 reviews)

  • "Huge focus on people and professional development(in 216 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Client services so your time is at times dictated by clients(in 62 reviews)

  • "Hours and travel can be tough at times(in 60 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Bain & Company and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing experience

      Jan 17, 2021 - Automation Engineer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good work-life balance with an extremely willing to help atmosphere

      Cons

      I haven't found any yet

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Tremendous Growth Potential

      Jan 13, 2021 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Absorb an insane amount of information from those around you - everyone is incredibly smart. I very much enjoyed the hands-on learning style that was present at Bain. They thrust you into the consulting world with a full head of steam and let you fail forwards. Benefits are incredibly rewarding and they understand work / life balance,

      Cons

      Extremely strenuous hours at times, though it comes with the territory of consulting.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      No growth for CSS staff

      Dec 17, 2020 - Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most people are smart Free soda, coffee, snacks Work life balance for CSS staff Good pay

      Cons

      Diversity and inclusion is a joke, non client facing CSS staff doesn’t blend with consultants whatsoever. Little minority and culture mix, Mck and BCG do way better No growth, no promotion, no opportunities for non client facing CSS staff, this is the perfect place for people with no career pursuits

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I feel valued and supported at Bain -- I couldn't imagine working anywhere else!

      Aug 11, 2020 - Recruiting Specialist in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The best place to start (and continue) a career - Continual growth -- challenged and nurtured professionally - Incredible, world class benefits - Everyone is smart, humble, and rooting for one another (no competition) - Flexibility in work life/balance - Empathetic leadership - Commitment to diversity and firm representation in ethnicity, sexuality, thoughts, etc. - Listens to their employees - Meritocratic promotion cycle -- if you're doing well, others notice and you're rewarded accordingly

      Cons

      - Can be some long hours, but it's expected with the role and spiking hours are seasonal

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Truly the best place to work!

      Oct 20, 2020 - Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work culture and work-life balance

      Cons

      Strong divide between consulting and non-consulting staff

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Aug 18, 2020 - Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a firm, Bain really tries to honor work life balance. You will work with some of the smartest people on the toughest problems. Huge culture of mentorship and support.

      Cons

      Hours can be long but generally my hours are 55-60 per week

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Fantastic!

      Jul 22, 2020 - Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-life balance and salary and food

      Cons

      None at all I love it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Choose a job you love and you’ll never work a day in your life!

      Oct 21, 2019 - Administrative Assistant in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, warm atmosphere. My role definitely has the work-life balance I have been searching for. From consultants to managers, on up to partners, I feel like I am valued as a staff person - heard and supported. I have found the growth & career opportunities I've been searching 17 years to find. Competitive pay and the BEST benefits I've ever had! It doesn't feel like I'm coming to a "job," it feels more like a family.

      Cons

      I live 35 miles away from the office (located downtown Seattle), and I wish I was able to work from home a little more often. But getting to work for this amazing company, with co-workers who are warm & friendly, and I leave at the end of the day feeling respected, valued and cared for - it's worth the 70 mile round-trip commute to be part of this amazing organization.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company!

      Mar 5, 2020 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Culture - Compensation - Work/Life balance - Team

      Cons

      - Opportunities to grow from supporting staff roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Best company in the world

      Sep 19, 2019 - Principal in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its cliche, but the people here are the best coworkers in the world. I've been here for 10+ years, and every day I continue to be amazed at the support, collaboration, intellect, and fun that I see between coworkers. Over the course of a career, there are also so many ways to add flexible working models that allow me to find work/life balance as well.

      Cons

      There are certainly days and weeks that are long and challenging, but looking back most of those were the days where I learned the most.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 110 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bain & Company Job Seekers

    Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Bain & Company? Share Your Experiences

    or