KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2021

Bain & Company

Bain & Company

Add a Review

Bain & Company Employee Reviews about "working hours"

Updated Jan 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 of over 4K reviews

4.5
93%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great people to hang out with outside of work too(in 238 reviews)

  • "Huge focus on people and professional development(in 216 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Client services so your time is at times dictated by clients(in 62 reviews)

  • "Hours and travel can be tough at times(in 60 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Bain & Company and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "working hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      BCN Senior Associate

      Jan 15, 2021 - Senior Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is better than advertised. A lot of room to do what you think is best and grow. For all the cons below, I was incredibly happy in this role and still give it 5 stars. Hopefully they're able to iron out the issues over time.

      Cons

      It's a start up environment as they're building out the BCN in the US. You can sometimes feel like you're on an island. Poor job adjusting comp as responsibilities can change quickly. This isn't a 9-5, long work hours.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Contractor

      BEL intern

      Dec 14, 2020 - Intern in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very smart environment, the company has a lot of tools to prepare you

      Cons

      long work hours, few opportunities to shape your experience

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great foundation for career progression surrounded by passionate colleagues

      Nov 3, 2019 - Senior Associate Consultant in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people at Bain are truly top notch. It's incredible to feel like you're a part of a community that's in your corner and wants to propel your career, no matter where it may head. The amount that you can learn from the work, the people, the clients, etc. is incredible. The people at Bain truly believe in their culture and work can sometimes be, dare I say it, fun because of the energy everyone brings to the table! The amount of exposure you get to see how Fortune 500 companies operate is incredible. Benefits are top notch, 5% 401k contribution, despite what you put in (better than matching!) Company is very transparent about the state of the business. Fast career trajectory.

      Cons

      Work life balance is challenging broadly in the management consulting field, however Bain does a relatively good job relative to its peers, with a "GAL" (get-a-life) / "virtual baby" culture where you get ~1 early night per week, typically. Work hours can range from ~55-80 hours per week depending on the client, office, and manager. Staffing is a bit of a challenge in that you don't necessarily know where you'll be on the next case - either in terms of work life balance, or physical location - and you only get some say in the matter.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      no better place to start your career

      Apr 21, 2020 - Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      best leadership and awesome perks

      Cons

      long and sometimes painful work hours

      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Amazing place to work

      Sep 19, 2019 - Director in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Outstanding culture, top notch people, top tier clients

      Cons

      Perks are not competitive with MCK and BCG. Intense work, hours are long.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      In my 20 years as an EA...

      Dec 15, 2018 - Executive Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people. Collaborative environment. Support staff that truly supports one another. Benefits. I am blown away by the culture of this company and tremendously proud to be a Bainie. The talent Bain attracts is both notable and impressive. This company demands a lot but also invests in YOU like no other. The environment is progressive and engaging. You have an opportunity to develop and grow here that is allows you to get as much out of it as you choose to give. Input is sought from all levels.

      Cons

      Demanding work hours. No clear path for administrative support staff to advance.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Exhausting repetitive work with excellent perks

      Sep 14, 2019 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Get to work with brilliant peer set 2. Steep learning curve 3. Amazing perks

      Cons

      1. Work is back-end; boring and repetitive 2. Long work hours

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best In Class

      Oct 2, 2016 - Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best in class client results - I hear over and over again from my clients that "it just feels different to team with Bainies." They love our work, and they also love working with us. That makes a client services job incredibly rewarding as you often find yourself developing strong friendships, as well as advisory relationships, with senior clients. Our rate of enduring clients who actively call Bain for their toughest problems speaks for itself. Strong supportive culture - It's in the DNA of Bainies to support one another, coach, and mentor. I feel like I have an amazing set of mentors supporting my career, all the way from Senior Directors to my peers to our ACs. No better place to start your career - I am in awe at the opportunities Bain creates for our ACs and Cs to develop the general manager mindset. We constantly push our teams to deliver the best work we can, and as part of this we stretch our people to learn new skills and build towards their personal career goals. It is awesome to watch Bainies succeed, both at Bain and outside of Bain.

      Cons

      Client services is inherently demanding and at times unpredictable. However, Bain really does support you in finding a balance that works for you. Increasingly you have control over your schedule and I've found that helps provide mental wellness all in, carving out enough time for my own life outside of work, and flexing work hours as needed to do that.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Senior Associate Consultant

      Dec 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing professional development and mentorship culture. Supervisors take your development and career ambitions seriously and worth with you daily to improve.

      Cons

      Work hours can be long and travel can be exhausting

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, rewarding, smart amazing people... but you'll work hard

      Aug 21, 2017 - Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Career advancement: Still at Bain, but recruiters remind me of how valuable this experience is. It still feels like the best decision I could have made coming out of an MBA program was to join Bain. - Supportive culture: Bainies are held to a high standard of performance but there is a strong culture and structure of support - Fun culture: It's very work hard, play hard. Long hours are somewhat off-set by the emphasis on "having fun while we work," whether that means volunteer service days, internal Bain band shows, international intramural soccer tournaments ("Bain World Cup"), summer off-sites in the Hamptons or Poconos, training in Barcelona, Lisbon, Dubai, LA, Miami, Phuket...

      Cons

      - Work hours: It can be a real "grind" sometimes. It's client services, so this is to be expected but there is a serious burn out factor on this job that has to be carefully managed. - Strong culture of feedback is both a positive and a negative. It's crucial for the "up or out" environment. It's not political at all, but it can thrive on people's insecurities. Everyone always feels like they can do more, can do better etc. - Diversity: It's very white, quite male (at management levels)- depending on the office. Diversity is clearly very important to the company, but change can look slow. New York is leading the way though, but that is to be expected given the makeup of this city

      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 72 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bain & Company Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Bain & Company? Share Your Experiences

    or