Bainbridge Reviews | Glassdoor

Bainbridge Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
96%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Bainbridge CEO Carlos Arias (no image)
Carlos Arias
35 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "M&A Analyst Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bainbridge part-time

    Pros

    Great exposure to the M&A landscape. Engage with C-Suite Executives and learn about their businesses. Looks great on a resume.

    Cons

    A lot of cold calling

    Bainbridge2017-06-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bainbridge part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very open environment, with easy access and mentoring from senior staff.

    Cons

    I've had nothing but good experiences with Bainbridge. If they expand, I would like to work with more of their analysts because of the diversity the firm possesses.

    Advice to Management

    Keep recruiting diverse professionals, who are data specialists, psychologists, liberal arts graduates, and more.

    Bainbridge2017-03-17
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Mixed bag but you can do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bainbridge full-time

    Pros

    I worked for Bainbridge Consulting. There is also an M&A group, which is leadership's primary focus. The Consulting arm exists to bolster credibility for the company. For a recent grad, the exposure to a diversity of industries is solid. You'll be thrown into situations where you're managing several clients, but fewer of these are Fortune companies than the previous (employer-written) reviews would lead you to... believe. I was spending 4-7 hours per week in meetings with Director-level and above, which prepared me to keep calm in tough situations with internal and external clients in later jobs. Decent office complex in La Jolla. Prepare to never leave. A couple of initiatives introduced to boost morale - dinner subsidized if you are working late, team activities here and there, and a few bonuses to address compensation complaints - but again, inconsistent or nonexistent in this area. A lot of my coworkers were some of the best and brightest young professionals I've encountered in my career. This is also why virtually all of them have since left the company. This may also provide a jumping off point for your career, but I would recommend starting with an Internship while you're still in school, getting experience at 20-30 hours per week, then looking in other markets and pursuing fair compensation. But if you can cut your teeth elsewhere, DO SO.

    Show More

    Cons

    You're cold calling industry professionals as a "research firm" to then turn around and provide that info back to clients. Performance is largely dependent on how much confidential data you're able to extract (think pricing, contract structures, R&D initiatives). Because Bainbridge isn't an established name, this leads to uncomfortable situations and will likely cause you to question your morals - because we're not... actually going to publish this data, or scrub confidential info. We're going to turn around and provide it to competitors. Pay is extremely low. I was working 70-hour weeks and started in the $30k compensation range. Bonuses of a few grand were arbitrary and are highly taxed. No 401k. Felt like a constant struggle for better pay and benefits (though Dental was good). Turnover was high in the HR department, so inconsistent or no representation. Ethics of the senior staff extremely dubious. There is no way all of the 5-star reviews on this page are from real employees. This is also the only place I've worked where I was screamed at - perhaps like working at a hedge fund but without the pay or perks. Turnover is extremely high. This isn't unusual for consulting, but this is no standard turnover rate. Morale was very low at times. Most stressful job I've held. Not a ton of great eating options nearby.

    Show More
    Bainbridge2017-03-22
  4. Helpful (4)

    "M&A Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in La Jolla, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bainbridge part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chance to work with prestigious Private Equity firms.

    Cons

    As a junior team member you will be a telemarketer with a fancy job title. Be ready to spend your entire day cold calling.

    Bainbridge2017-02-01
  5. "research analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Research Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bainbridge part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People were nice, nice building in the best area of San Diego, decent office.

    Cons

    Uncertainty about the future. High turnover rate. Too many junior analyst, lack of business direction

    Bainbridge2017-01-23
  6. "COMPETITIVE. HIGH EXPECTATION. HIGH REWARD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bainbridge full-time

    Pros

    Expectations are high and goals can be lofty. But very lucrative. no limit on success. no cap on earnings

    Cons

    Must be on time. 7am in CA is already 10am in NYC. be prepared to put in hours

    Bainbridge2016-12-22
  7. "M&A Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bainbridge

    Pros

    Team environment, competition, training, and management.

    Cons

    Upward mobility in a niche environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    Bainbridge2016-07-06
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Internship at Bainbridge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bainbridge part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good working atmosphere with a nice team. The work is challenging and interesting

    Cons

    The hours can be difficult taking into the different time zone

    Bainbridge2015-04-21
  9. Helpful (7)

    "HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE-RUN!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bainbridge full-time

    Pros

    good for young people/interns who need a resume builder for PE/M&A

    Cons

    Underpaid-if ever paid, and ethics are a major concern/issue with sub-par/inferior leadership in place. Private company, a lot of fake relationships

    Advice to Management

    Stick to counter intelligence consulting

    Bainbridge2015-05-05
  10. "Good place to gain new experience for fresh graduate!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Analyst Intern in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Bainbridge for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has a good working environment both in their morning shift and night shift. All the co-workers, supervisors, and senior analysts are all nice. They really value work-life balance. Once in a while, the company treats us during lunch/ dinner as an appreciation for our hard-working in the projects. The company is diverse.

    Cons

    The wage is not negotiable. The wage and salary relatively lower than the market has. The turnover rate is quite pretty high especially they don't sponsor working visa for foreign workers.

    Advice to Management

    The upper level management definitely need to do something in order to fix the turnover rate. Keep maintain the relationship with the employees and interns so they can enjoy working in the company and planning to stay longer!

    Bainbridge2015-02-18
Found 64 reviews