Baker Hughes, a GE company "bhge" Reviews | Glassdoor

Baker Hughes, a GE company Employee Reviews about "bhge"

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 932 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Baker Hughes, a GE company CEO Lorenzo Simonelli
Lorenzo Simonelli
267 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "o existe plano de carreira tang(in 27 reviews)

  • "o muito positivo no que se refere ao plano de carreira na empresa, talvez por se tratar de uma multinacional(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "bhge"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Management and Leadership not Strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baker Hughes, a GE company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Permissive Approach to Time Off Flexible Schedule

    Cons

    Management is weak and true leadership is lacking in sub businesses of BHGE Appreciation is not felt by employees Lack of opportunity for career trajectory

    Continue reading
    Baker Hughes, a GE company2019-02-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "The company is confused, the leaders are not all well qualified"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker Hughes, a GE company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are some smart hard working individuals who have the GE background, gone through oil industry downturns and come out learning more

    Cons

    There are some terrible commercial managers who are verbally abusing senior professional employees and don’t meet GE integrity standards. I don’t know how HR or Senior leadership doesn’t find out about this. There are compliance cases against managers who are bullies and their cases are closed, because employees don’t dare speak up. The culture of open reporting without retaliation is dead at BHGE. There is no Ombudsman ever since the separation from GE. Some of these managers are based in Italy, where in their words, its is normal to yell at your employees and give performance feedback in public.

    Continue reading
    Baker Hughes, a GE company2019-03-02
  3. "BHGE DTLP Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BHGE DTLP in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker Hughes, a GE company for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing flat hierarchy (Got to meet Executives all the way up), Meaningful Projects, Open to implementing Intern Ideas (even as an intern), amazing salary.

    Cons

    The food / cafe at BHGE is not the best it could be.

    Continue reading
    Baker Hughes, a GE company2018-10-22
  4. "Baker Hughes GE is by far the best oilfield company I've ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Specialist in Canonsburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker Hughes, a GE company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers and management are great at what they do. They treat you with respect and remember that you're still a person and not just a warm body to fill a position.

    Cons

    BHGE still has not expanded back to all areas previously serviced, but they are getting there. Pay is not as high as other drilling fluids companies, but they have very good benefits.

    Continue reading
    Baker Hughes, a GE company2018-09-10
  5. "My perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Baker Hughes, a GE company full-time

    Pros

    Baker Hughes a GE company, great company to work for. Innovative and bright future for new hires.

    Cons

    Not appreciated for all the innovations in technology BHGE has done.

    Continue reading
    Baker Hughes, a GE company2018-06-08
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be great - not anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker Hughes, a GE company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Compensation is good and the field personnel are good at delivering to customers. Most of the people at staff and lower/mid-management are very friendly and want to do the right thing.

    Cons

    Unstable as it tries to work through the pain of acquisition. Parent company issues are a drain on BHGE. Morale is horrendous and career growth opportunities seem to be very limited. Layoffs likely.

    Continue reading
    Baker Hughes, a GE company2018-02-24
  7. "BHGE MACHINIST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNC Machinist 

    I have been working at Baker Hughes, a GE company full-time

    Pros

    Should be happy I have a job????????????

    Cons

    I worked for Baker Hughes before the merger with GE Oil & Gas. Now I have lost 2 days sick time. ( some people actually had weeks of vacation taken away that they earned with baker hughes when we finally became BHGE) The health insurance is way more expensive than what it was with Baker Hughes. We were told when we merged that they were looking at the best of both the company's benefits and they would go with that one we thought they were talking about best for employees apparently they were talking about best for the company making money.

    Continue reading
    Baker Hughes, a GE company2017-10-11
  8. "Not a real Product Company - About to die soon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baker Hughes, a GE company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will get Free tea, biscuits and evening snacks everyday. GE being a huge brand its good for your CV. Work Life balance will be good as they hardly have any customers for software products (This can also be a con as sometimes people suffer layoffs). Overall not a great place to work as you will get frustrated, take this offer as a last option.

    Cons

    They take open source products available in the market, write some wrappers on them and try to sell it as their own product, which according to me is wrong. Product company should be innovative and should try to make their own products. What ever work you will get will always get scrapped, in fact nothing ever goes to production. The company runs from the revenue generated from Oil Fields, not from software products. Software division is considered as "extra fat" in BHGE. Lots of unnecessary meetings and processes and also nil onsite opportunities. Cost cutting is going on in BHGE left, right and center as GE has planned to sell its 51% stake in the company by 2020. Share prices have fallen drastically. Finally about the increments and bonus - Bonus given is usually 50% of what is promised and increments given are around 5% , for some years they give no hike as well.

    Continue reading
    Baker Hughes, a GE company2019-06-27
  9. "I am pursuing internship in BHGE,banglore."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineering in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker Hughes, a GE company

    Pros

    Nice company for learning new technologies. Great members, ready for help anytime. Working environment is good. Flexible timings. Work from home is also available.

    Cons

    BHGE is separated from GE now. And people are leaving the company.

    Continue reading
    Baker Hughes, a GE company2019-05-18
  10. "Happy to have been layed off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Baker Hughes, a GE company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Baker Hughes name still has some respect in the industry

    Cons

    The GE staff prioritize internal meetings over speaking to clients. Only those adept at office politics survive the BHGE jungle.

    Continue reading
    Baker Hughes, a GE company2019-02-08
Found 932 reviews