Baker McKenzie Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Baker McKenzie Global Chair Milton W. M. Cheng
Milton W. M. Cheng
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Known as "the friendliest Law Firm" - good culture, great location, good benefits(in 30 reviews)

  • "Positive work environment, unlike most local firms(in 23 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good People"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - International reach and developing relationships with colleagues throughout the world - Good informal mentorship

    Cons

    - Bonus system is a blackbox

    Baker McKenzie2020-05-06
  2. "Great experiences"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great way to gain a lot of experience and the people I worked with were awesome

    Cons

    A lot of work to do, not enough time

    Baker McKenzie2020-04-27
  3. "Pretty good for a global law firm"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    interesting clients and ability to work in other offices globally

    Cons

    advancement is a black box and it's a law firm

    Baker McKenzie2020-04-25
  4. "Big and slow"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time

    Pros

    1. Lots of nice people, maybe even a majority 2. Consensus culture (but only for partners) 3. In lots of countries 4. Pockets of real excellence (tax, IP, employment, several countries)

    Cons

    1. Ineffective management (especially for staff) 2. Highly bureaucratic but also disorganized 3. Underpay talent 4. Easier to get a promotion by leaving for another firm than staying 5. Too big to care about morale 6. Inconsistent quality 7. Undergoing a multi-year reorg 8. No meaningful strategy for the future

    Continue reading
    Baker McKenzie2020-04-21
  5. "Great culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conflicts Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture is second to none. They don’t just talk about loving where you work they live it.

    Cons

    Under paid by a large margin to even the bottom 25% of earners in the profession.

    Baker McKenzie2020-04-01
  6. "Great pay, but waterfall, political culture, years behind the curve in technology and any internal business services"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager (Internal Services) in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, great location, intelligent people

    Cons

    Super political. Research law firm culture. All they say about law firms is true, at all levels of organization. They are reorganizing. That means any internal role is supposed to cover the work of 3 people, to cut costs.

    Baker McKenzie2020-01-26
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Staff treated poorly in Houston office"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Houston, TX

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, beautiful office.

    Cons

    Staff is seen as expendable. Very uneven distribution of workloads. Unreasonable expectations and poor work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Baker McKenzie2019-10-09
  8. "Interesting work and genuinely good people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lawyers are very entrepreneurial and always looking for new ideas and ways of working so work can be very interesting. Everyone is professional, friendly and approachable. They really believe in their "culture of friendship."

    Cons

    Work can sometimes become overly administrative and too many reports but I think that is mostly due to the fact that the firm is so large and there are so many initiatives from all over the world from different practices and groups within the firm. Can be challenging to get promoted.

    Baker McKenzie2019-08-26
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Everyone i knew got Fired or Quit!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reviewer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great views of the Lake from the floor I worked on, this Company isn't a very great place to work

    Cons

    Management didn't care one way or the other, very unorganized and not supportive

    Continue reading
    Baker McKenzie2019-08-14
  10. Helpful (20)

    "Global/PBS is a mess."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    For the most part, absolutely great people to work with. Smart, caring and thoughtful. Office is stunningly beautiful to work in. The views were amazing and I enjoyed those view every single day I was there. Most partners are great, associates and paralegals are excellent. Enjoyed working with many different groups, at different levels.

    Cons

    Global/PBS is a mess. The restructuring and layoffs is completely disruptive and honestly makes no sense. PBS is filled with management looking for the magical unicorn that will allow Baker to compete with PWC or E&Y, when they should be focused on their people and what they do best every day. Building new dumb offices in regions around the world for admin functions is incredibly short-sighted and will be a disaster. Overall, PBS/Global is led by many people who don't know what they are doing, love the latest business buzzwords, yet want to seem like they are making "big changes". Leadership/Management is very driven by watching their backs instead of encouraging the admin staff that works for them. Great people in Global /PBS are working hard, but IT, Training, BD, Pricing management are failing them. It's unfortunate. Billing system (SAP) is still a mess four years in to the switch. Huge mistake that should have been reversed years ago.

    Continue reading
    Baker McKenzie2019-04-05
Found 383 reviews