Baker Roofing Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Baker Roofing Company Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Baker Roofing Company CEO Woody Baldwin (no image)
Woody Baldwin
6 Ratings
  1. "Went from knowing nothing to becoming a service foreman for most roof systems."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreman in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baker Roofing Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very appreciative of their employees and plenty of work. They were very teachable and help employees grow.

    Cons

    Demanding work load and long hours. 24 hour service calls.

    Advice to Management

    I will be in contact if I move back to the East Coast.

    Baker Roofing Company2019-05-15
  2. "the truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Raleigh, NC

    I have been working at Baker Roofing Company full-time

    Pros

    good pay, good hours, and caring management

    Cons

    lack of clear direction from upper management

    Advice to Management

    work to develop clear systems for employee advancement

    Baker Roofing Company2019-05-03
  3. "Laborer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Baker Roofing Company full-time

    Pros

    Great management and great people

    Cons

    Not enough pay and hours.

    Baker Roofing Company2018-05-18
  4. "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker Roofing Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very stable company-been in business since 1915.

    Cons

    Benefits could be priced better.

    Baker Roofing Company2018-02-06
  5. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker Roofing Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Baker roofing cares about its employees and wants each team member to grow

    Cons

    No negatives at this time

    Baker Roofing Company2018-01-31
  6. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker Roofing Company full-time

    Pros

    Supportive team atmosphere, opportunity for advancement, each day is new challenges.

    Cons

    Long hours, work/life balance isn't great.

    Baker Roofing Company2017-10-05
  7. "One of the best companies I have ever worked for, great environment, great pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker Roofing Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers and working environment. Great training program. Pay is second to none. Great benefits package. 14 PTO days after one year. Flexible schedules. Company truck w/ gas allowance. Reimbursements on supply purchases. Fantastic department head and GM.

    Cons

    Super early morning starts to workday. Exposure to inclement weather. Corporate pressure for project deadlines. Some weekends you won't have off. 50 hour work weeks common. Working several projects all at once. Lack of in house roofers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Baker Roofing Company2017-08-17
  8. "Something"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Baker Roofing Company full-time

    Pros

    Has a lot of offices and people

    Cons

    Doesn't have enough people here

    Baker Roofing Company2017-01-30
  9. "unfortunate experience at Baker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baker Roofing Company full-time

    Pros

    -during my time at baker roofing there were no pros

    Cons

    - just don't work here if you want a job that treats its workers well and pays a fair salary

    Baker Roofing Company2017-02-14
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Office Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Baker Roofing Company full-time

    Pros

    Great and honest people who work hard. The company is interested in internal promotions. The Raleigh facility is a nice office with a nice gym. The environment does not have a "corporate-y" feel, which for me at least is good.

    Cons

    I'll just say if you're a normal office employee who has little to do with roofing (like accounting, marketing, hr, etc) this may not be the place for you. The pay will be on the lower end for you. The benefits are not where most other companies are (2 weeks vacation, no sick days, not even the day after thanksgiving is off). My biggest complaint would be that the environment is very inflexible. You are... expected to put in over 8 hours a day (8-5 schedule). This is definitely an environment where you will feel inadequate if you don't show up early and leave late (some people will stay at the office for 10 plus hours a day) regardless of the work you put out. The work-life balance is just not up to par with other companies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give more PTO, or AT LEAST some forgivable sick days to full time employees. Recognize that hours on the clock don't necessarily mean good quality of work. Understand that work-life balance is crucial for company retention (especially for those employees with young children).

    Baker Roofing Company2016-12-20
Found 18 reviews