Balboa Capital "company culture" Reviews | Glassdoor

Balboa Capital Employee Reviews about "company culture"

Updated Dec 4, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Balboa Capital CEO Patrick Byrne (no image)
Patrick Byrne
102 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "company culture"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balboa Capital full-time

    Pros

    company culture room for growth management is very helpful make your own schedule

    Cons

    I cannot think of any at this time

    Balboa Capital2018-12-04
  2. "Balboa Capital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balboa Capital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company culture, growth opportunity, incentives for doing well

    Cons

    There is nothing at this time.

    Balboa Capital2018-12-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Balboa Capital

    Pros

    Set schedule ( M-F). Opportunity to make good margin per deal closed. 11 paid holidays off. Takes about three years to really begin making some real good money.

    Cons

    Poor management. Horrible company culture, unless you are part of the top 2% producer YOUR JOB IS NOT SECURE. Company has a bad reputation so do not expect the name to carry the deal.

    Advice to Management

    Change your employee structure and begin appreciating your employees.

    Balboa Capital2017-06-10
  4. "Job Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balboa Capital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good emphasis on training. Fun and good company culture and environment. Location is convenient becausethere are good things to eat around the area and it is right next to the freeway.

    Cons

    So far, I cannot think of any for this current position.

    Balboa Capital2017-04-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Got to Start Somewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Balboa Capital full-time

    Pros

    Reputable company in the equipment finance industry; ability to compete on rates to some degree with other leasing companies; Great people

    Cons

    Horrible company culture; lowest pay grade in the industry; micro-managing bosses, lowest quality of leads,

    Advice to Management

    Buy better leads Get rid of Sales Logix Make sure you're available to your employees and not just saying that you are Provide appropriate training to your account executives and you'll lower employee turnover

    Balboa Capital2017-03-18
  6. Helpful (15)

    "STEER CLEAR FROM WORKING AT BALBOA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive II in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balboa Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Centrally located near freeway and restaurants Literally no other pros

    Cons

    Steer clear of working at this miserable company. When I was employed, they forced me to write fake 'good' reviews on Glassdoor. Do not believe any good review you read, they are all fake! Worst company culture. Managers will micromanage you and constantly watch what you're doing. If you're in the bathroom for 10 minutes, they will ask you what you were doing in there...as if it really needs to be discussed.

    Advice to Management

    Hire competent managers that actually train their employees instead of having them watch PowerPoint slides for a day and expecting them to get on the phone the 2nd day Star paying your employees better salary and change the commission structure.

    Balboa Capital2016-03-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Account Executive (Vendor Division)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Balboa Capital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture and training. Most managers are there to help.

    Cons

    Horrible commission, having to give away deals because not in the same vertical market, calling the same accounts over and over even some that were previously called that day.

    Advice to Management

    Don't make people give away their deals because they aren't in a certain vertical.

    Balboa Capital2015-06-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "stepping stone job-Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Balboa Capital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great venue and a decent company culture. Great job if you have nothing better lined up and need a quick buck or an addition to your resume.

    Cons

    Management is a hit or miss. You can either get a manager that is nice and knows how to manage properly, or you can get a manager that has no idea what he is doing and makes it brutally obvious. The setting is a sweat shop setting where you are forced to make over 200 calls a day and where your leads can get stolen by a upper management. No co-worker actually liked working here and we all talked about leaving for... better opportunities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Balboa Capital2013-01-03
  9. "Forward-thinking company, great culture and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balboa Capital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly employees, room for growth, fantastic office environment. I really enjoy coming to work for these reasons, but there are many more that I could list. Balboa Capital has a great company culture; you work hard but have a nice work-life balance, and management is aggressively pursuing corporate growth opportunities.

    Cons

    I have no cons to report because it's a tremendous company to work for and one of my favorite jobs I've ever had.

    Balboa Capital2012-08-02
Found 9 reviews