Balch & Bingham Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Balch & Bingham Chairman Alan T. Rogers (no image)
Alan T. Rogers
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place to Work

    Sep 3, 2020 - Legal Secretary in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In my department, I work with wonderful people. We are a great team. I feel my opinion is valued and appreciated. My attorneys are very busy and yet they encourage a good life/work balance.

    Cons

    The percentage of pay increase is less than my last firm. At my previous firm 3% was for average work. Balch gives a 3% for above average work. I was shocked and frankly disappointed with raise, as I felt I had worked above and beyond, yet my raise did not reflect an above and beyond raise.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Decent place to work and gain litigation experience

    Sep 21, 2020 - Summer Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent place to work and gain litigation experience

    Cons

    Somewhat of a boys-club culture if that sort of thing turn you off.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    There's always more than what meets the eye if your title is staff

    May 25, 2014 - Paralegal in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Central downtown location, contemporary office space, full-time employment status, benefits, PTO and cupcake and fruit birthday gathering once a month. I am able to work in an area of law that I genuinely enjoy with great clients. I have a great deal of autonomy in completing assigned tasks.

    Cons

    There is little appreciation for staff member's hardwork. In many cases, the harder you work, the more invisible your contributions become. There are instances where paralegals must work noticibly harder than the attorney or attorneys who are supported by the paralegals' work. There are some attorneys who live to through their weight around and remind certain staff members of their perceived superiority. Some paralegals are overutilized, but many are underutilitized depending on the practice group. Lip service is paid to many fundamental firm areas when legitimate issues are raised. A higher emphasis placed on the perception of what one is actually doing when compared to actual results. There is often not enough work to go around so meeting one's billable requirement can be tough at times. The firm is not diverse in any actual regard. The firm culture can be isolating and suffocating if you aspire to achieve more than the status quo.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people

    Jul 25, 2016 - Partner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly environment team work stressed. Fair pay and leadership that cares about its employees and fellow partners. A great place to work

    Cons

    None. If you can get a job here take it. Small firm feel with big firm support. The staff is fantastic and very supportive of the attorneys. Every one treated with respect.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great people and great firm

    Apr 1, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive pay and benefits. Professional with opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Some of the perks and benefits have been cut from when I first started but otherwise very supportive and professional environment with people that really care about you.

    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Legal Secretary

    Mar 1, 2018 - Legal Secretary/Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    After 13 years, I consider the people at the Atlanta office of Balch & Bingham to be family. It is by far, the best law firm I've ever worked at during my 40 year career.

    Cons

    Commute to downtown Atlanta is horrendous.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Staff Assistant

    Jul 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work. Branches from across the country are very friendly and work together when needed.

    Cons

    I see none. It is an overall great place to work.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Balch is a very good place to work.

    Nov 5, 2016 - Legal Assistant in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paid time off (around 20 days, not including regular holidays), benefits, pay, and the staff is treated well in general. The pay is generous - on the high end of what legal assistants make, and the benefits are pretty good and reasonably affordable

    Cons

    You might get an attorney that's difficult to work for. Some staff can be dramatic and high school-ish. They have their little cliques and don't seem as welcoming to new staff members.

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Attorney

    Feb 10, 2018 - Partner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic firm. Great work life balance. The partners are smart and care about staff. Great opportunity for advancement. Great pay and smart co-workers.

    Cons

    Must be very smart.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Great experience

    Apr 19, 2017 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helpful bosses, focused environment, great experience

    Cons

    Can be fast paced at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Popular Careers with Balch & Bingham Job Seekers

Attorney
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Balch & Bingham? Share Your Experiences

Balch & Bingham logo
or