Baldor Specialty Foods Reviews in Bronx, NY | Glassdoor

Baldor Specialty Foods Bronx Reviews

Updated June 24, 2017
14 reviews

Filter

Filter

Bronx, NY

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Michael Muzyk
12 Ratings

14 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Bad work experience, Accounts Receivable has a high turnover, Gossip"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Receivable in Bronx, NY
    Former Employee - Accounts Receivable in Bronx, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Baldor Specialty Foods full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I am pleased that I am no longer employed at Baldor. I now understand how people feel when they are released from prison. The best thing about this company was making my final exit.

    Cons

    The Accounts Receivable Department has an extremely high turnover due to poor Management- many quit, many get fired before probation. Lunch is 1/2 hour, low pay, raises are a joke. If they do not like BEWARE (they may be trying to fire you behind-the-scenes). If you have recently been hired good luck you'll need it.

    Advice to Management

    Poor Management is costly; until this is realized the AR department will have to continuously recruit new people.

    Baldor Specialty Foods Response

    Nov 15, 2016 – HR Director

    Baldor has taken ownership of the challenges of managing a fast pace department with fluctuating demands and high volume work. It is not the mistakes we have made, but the lessons learned from the... More


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Baldor is a company that doesn't treat their employees with respect and decency."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bronx, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bronx, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baldor Specialty Foods full-time

    Pros

    None at all. It's a depressing environment , the morale is depressing and the jargon is similar to a visit at your local county jail.

    Cons

    Working for human resources I constantly heard my superiors and other heads of departments speaking badly of employees that they would appear to be helping. The hypocrisy isn't worth the pay. You're better off keeping your integrity and finding work elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    No advice at all. They don't care for the rights or lives of human beings.

    Baldor Specialty Foods Response

    Nov 15, 2016 – HR Director

    My experience is different. Baldor is truly a family organization with policies that support workers and a culture that takes good care of its own. We recognize progress and genuine effort. Our... More

  3. Helpful (3)

    "All negative reviews are correct when it comes to this company. If it's more than 3 stars, it's false."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk in Bronx, NY
    Former Employee - Clerk in Bronx, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baldor Specialty Foods full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits package, 401k, some great people, parking....and I can't think of anything else.

    Cons

    People are lazy, inexperienced, poor management, poor communication, no advancement (fact), many people get fired or just quit, negative environment.

    Advice to Management

    It would be a wast of time to give ignorant people advice.

    Baldor Specialty Foods Response

    Nov 15, 2016 – HR Director

    Baldor Specialty Foods promotes from within, we have many employees who have received promotions and many of them are leading departments today. We are proud of our long term employees as they are... More


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Receiver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receiver in Bronx, NY
    Former Employee - Receiver in Bronx, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baldor Specialty Foods full-time

    Pros

    Great company for evolving yourself in a learning aspect. I've learned so much in regards to producensure and warehouse operations.

    Cons

    Very misleading in regards to growth and opportunities. They will pitch you a story on how family orientated they are and a bunch of nonsense about why they're a private company and not affiliated with a union. The reason they refuse a union in there company is because they refuse to pay employees(warehouse workers) a reasonable salary/hourly rate. They pick and choose which policies will apply to who and when they please. They're guidelines/policies are not fair across the board as they claim. the HR department isn't there for the interest of the employee but for the interest of the company. They are of no help to the hard working employees

    Baldor Specialty Foods Response

    Nov 22, 2016 – HR Director

    Baldor is truly a family that cares for its own. We have a variety of practices that support our employees financially, professionally with our open door policy, personally with the long lasting... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not a place for a long career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Receivable in Bronx, NY
    Former Employee - Accounts Receivable in Bronx, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Benefits, free parking, people and that's about it. There isn't much pros to be honest.

    Cons

    Management and lack of training

    Advice to Management

    At least 2 weeks of proper training and a S.O.P should be in place.

    Baldor Specialty Foods Response

    Nov 15, 2016 – HR Director

    Baldor continues to make an investment in the growth and professional development of our managers and supervisors. We are proud of our home grown talent and the future looks bright for the Baldor... More


  6. Helpful (5)

    "Delivery Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Delivery Driver in Bronx, NY
    Current Employee - Route Delivery Driver in Bronx, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baldor Specialty Foods (More than a year)

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime, good benefits, co workers are easy to work with.Good for a starter job not for a career.

    Cons

    Poor salary, some customers are very difficult to deal with.Management doesn't have your best interests in mind. Forced to work 6 days a week. No room for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Drivers should have rotating weekends off. Upper Management should think about increasing a drivers pay you would have more loyal work force.

    Baldor Specialty Foods Response

    Nov 15, 2016 – HR Director

    Baldor's hourly rate for CDL Driver is very competitive according to market standards. The combination of our OT and benefit package puts us above what other companies in the same industry pay their... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Food processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Inspector in Bronx, NY
    Former Employee - Food Inspector in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baldor Specialty Foods (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very friendly area people are willing to help and show you the easy way to do your job. I will recommend it to another person. Pay is great

    Cons

    There is no fixed schedule, you leave when the production line is finished. There is a minimum of 12-hour shifts daily.

    Advice to Management

    More break time for long hours, increase temperature in work area, having more employees are the production line, and having a fix labor hours

    Baldor Specialty Foods Response

    Nov 15, 2016 – HR Director

    Working long hours is often a side effect of an organization that is growing and expanding

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Baldor a Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Manager Specialist in Bronx, NY
    Current Employee - Category Manager Specialist in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baldor Specialty Foods full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Coming from a culinary background the kitchen prepared me with all of the necessary skills I need in my current position. Working a job with more traditional hours makes home life much easier, but working here still keeps me on the cutting edge of the culinary industry, it’s the best of both worlds. Baldor is a family run business and you have access to upper management that is rarely seen in a business of this size. The president of the company shakes my hand every morning and is always available as a resource or to support me however he can.

    Cons

    Communication between departments is a constant challenge. it makes getting things done across departments difficult, but in my time here it has improved and i believe it will continue to.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the company moving in the same direction and the possibility for growth is endless. Today we're the best food distributor in the Northeast tomorrow the whole East Coast.


  9. "Yeah baby"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bronx, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baldor Specialty Foods full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great people
    Opportunity to advance
    Diversity of staff
    Great benefits especially in this industry
    If you're a foodie and want to meet the best chefs in the world this is your gig

    Cons

    Location in the Bronx is not ideal for commuting to.
    Need better training programs and direction from management. Be sure to get an accurate job description


  10. "Baldor is Going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - A New Employee in Bronx, NY
    Current Employee - A New Employee in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The work I do is very challenging. The phrase "never a dull moment" probably explains it best. Baldor has a dynamic and diverse workforce that cares for one another. Baldor is an organization where management encourages innovation and out of the box thinking. In a short time, I have found a home away from home inside a company that is going places, where I feel respected and my contributions are recognized. Working at Baldor is truly one of the best decisions, I have ever made. Benefits are great, the gym is awesome, the food in the kitchen is tasty and I get to buy quality fruits and vegetables in the store at very low prices, plus I work in the BRONX.

    Cons

    Pay may be an area of opportunity, but with the anticipated changes to the minimum wage in NYC this issue will quickly disappear. However, the benefit package is very robust, there is a lot of opportunity to work over time and earn extra money.

    Advice to Management

    The future is uncertain, but with a little planning the risks of the unknown can easily be controlled.


Showing 14 of 21 reviews
Reset Filters