Balfour Beatty Reviews | Glassdoor

Balfour Beatty Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 532 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Leo Quinn
145 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "While upper management says they value everyone, they only value strong operations personnel(in 24 reviews)

  • "long hours and comutte in london(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balfour Beatty full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexibility, career development

    Cons

    Better benefits could make a difference

    Balfour Beatty2019-05-09
  2. "Assistant to the regional manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant to the Regional Manager in Grand Forks, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Balfour Beatty full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    *Lots of PTO *Blame everything on Regional Management *Your own work van

    Cons

    *They frown upon dogging. * They have no idea how to run a company.

    Advice to Management

    I was management. So what I would suggest to the upper echelon of management... Find a new job. You are rubbish at this. It's nothing personal. If you want to succeed in life, great. but this is not the job for you.

    Balfour Beatty2019-04-28
  3. "Wouldn’t recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Lackland AFB, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Balfour Beatty for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Easy work, but stay pretty busy

    Cons

    Management is terrible and doesn’t listen to staff

    Balfour Beatty2019-05-13
  4. "Good but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Balfour Beatty full-time

      Pros

      Lots of good people. Solid benefits package.

      Cons

      Senior leadership leaves something to be desired. International overhead and corporate politics.

      Balfour Beatty2019-04-16
    • "Excellent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Machine Operator 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Balfour Beatty part-time

      Pros

      Good pay good leaders great equipment

      Cons

      None really it's a good company

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up, they know what they are doing

      Balfour Beatty2019-03-06
    • "Not Bad, not great... Very high workload for pay."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Balfour Beatty full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Large, international company. Room to grow. Could be worse.

      Cons

      Management is not the greatest at times, constant policy changes.

      Balfour Beatty2019-03-18
    • "Leasing specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Leasing Specialist 

      I have been working at Balfour Beatty full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule; easy management to work for

      Cons

      No room for growth; benefits aren’t amazing

      Balfour Beatty2019-03-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "Cool but confusing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Traffic Maintenance in Austin, TX
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Balfour Beatty full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay, relaxed environment & respectful

      Cons

      No standards, bad schedule & lack of values

      Balfour Beatty2019-02-22
    • "A stepping stone, that's all"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Minot AFB, ND
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Balfour Beatty full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Phenomenally difficult to be fired. The number of techs I've seen that ought to have been fired, but weren't is literally astounding.

      Cons

      Pay isn't commensurate to the work. Techs at BBC do much, much more than your average Maintenance Tech position.

      Advice to Management

      Automatic 2% inflation hugging raises don't allow your stellar employees to shine, or encourage the worse ones to improve. Evidence based performance reviews, KSA's, and SOP's will give you employees that know where they fit, where they can improve, and a reason for doing so.

      Balfour Beatty2019-02-25
    • Helpful (3)

      "Company heading in the wrong direction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Balfour Beatty full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Pay, benefits, bonus and benefits

      Cons

      Culture, public company and employee turnover

      Balfour Beatty2019-02-17
    Found 532 reviews