Ball State University "flexible hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Ball State University Employee Reviews about "flexible hours"

Updated Mar 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Ball State University President Paul W. Ferguson (no image)
Paul W. Ferguson
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fantastic work environment with friendly colleagues(in 16 reviews)

  • "Highly flexible hours and availability to take off as needed for classes(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company only provides minimum wage(in 22 reviews)

  • "Low pay as student unfortunately, so there wasn't very much reason to work hard for other coworkers(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great for Students - Conferences and Special Events Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conferences and Special Events Assistant in Muncie, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ball State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours to accommodate with classes, real-world experience in the office setting, awesome bosses who threw appreciation parties for the student workers, located on campus

    Cons

    I've always felt as if student workers should be allowed to work more than 20 hours a week; but, other than that, no cons. No benefits, as this is a student's job.

    Continue reading
    Ball State University2016-04-19
  2. "Grad Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Grad Assistant 

    I worked at Ball State University part-time

    Pros

    Highly flexible hours and availability to take off as needed for classes

    Cons

    Pay was not as high as I'd have liked for the kind of word performed.

    Ball State University2020-03-03
  3. "Student jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ball State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, supervisor was cool and understanding

    Cons

    I had one of the highest-paying jobs for undergraduate students and I still only made 7.75/hr.

    Ball State University2020-02-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Helpdesk Desktop Support Consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HelpDesk Desktop Support Consultant in Muncie, IN

    I have been working at Ball State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great industry knowledge, great work environment.

    Cons

    Minimum wage pay and only 20 hours a week.

    Continue reading
    Ball State University2018-09-06
  5. "BSU RA/TA/GA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Ball State University part-time

    Pros

    Good people, good stipend, flexible hours

    Cons

    Jon was a little monotonous at times. Sometimes difficult to balance with school.

    Ball State University2018-08-12
  6. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ball State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Relatively fair salary.

    Cons

    Temporary employment. Non-negotiable salary. No room for growth within department.

    Ball State University2018-02-23
  7. "Student Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ball State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, laid back environment

    Cons

    Low pay, no chance of a raise no matter how long you're employed. Not seen as any more than a "student employee"

    Continue reading
    Ball State University2017-04-07
  8. "Working at the Library"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ball State University

    Pros

    Great staff, flexible hours. They really work with your class schedule wonderful for students who need a flexible job and prefer a slower paced environment.

    Cons

    Pay is only minimum wage

    Ball State University2016-11-29
  9. "Maintenance mechanic assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance in Muncie, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ball State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really relaxed environment very flexible hours and the highest paying student job on campus, plenty of time to do all the work required

    Cons

    Pay still not that much, can not work weekends unless supervised , students can not work more than 20 hours per week

    Ball State University2016-04-07
  10. "International Admissions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant in Muncie, IN

    I have been working at Ball State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great staff, not a lot of work

    Cons

    Busy work, frequent management changes

    Ball State University2015-12-08
Found 14 reviews