Ball State University "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ball State University Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Feb 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Ball State University President Paul W. Ferguson (no image)
Paul W. Ferguson
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fantastic work environment with friendly colleagues(in 16 reviews)

  • "Highly flexible hours and availability to take off as needed for classes(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company only provides minimum wage(in 22 reviews)

  • "Low pay as student unfortunately, so there wasn't very much reason to work hard for other coworkers(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Lovely coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Tech 

    I worked at Ball State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, fun, rewarding. i was able to help a lot of people out in the role

    Cons

    Low pay as student unfortunately, so there wasn't very much reason to work hard for other coworkers.

    Ball State University2019-09-27
  2. "Good Benefits, Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ball State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great. Tuition remission program is awesome. Decent vacation and sick time. Great retirement benefits.

    Cons

    Low pay, well below market and other universities. No room for growth or advancement.

    Ball State University2020-02-27
  3. "Great Side Job for Full-time Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Worker At the Grill In the Student Center in Muncie, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ball State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was in control of my schedule and they were understanding. All of the staff there was very kind and I never had an issue.

    Cons

    The pay is low

    Ball State University2019-02-13
  4. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Tutor in Muncie, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ball State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers/supervisors, allows you to get tutoring certification each semester. Increased pay each semester. Great experience

    Cons

    Some disorganization between desk staff and tutors. Sometimes didn’t know what I was required to do as part of my training. hard to change schedule once it’s set. Low pay

    Ball State University2019-02-25
  5. "Ball State University Part-Time Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ball State University part-time

    Pros

    Company culture is decent; Friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Low pay; work not valued

    Ball State University2019-02-21
  6. "Graduate Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ball State University full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, opportunities to work with students, well supported by leadership

    Cons

    Significant working hours, low pay

    Ball State University2018-05-15
  7. "Tech Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ball State University

    Pros

    Experience in the field of study. Very flexible work hours with an emphasis on school first. Ability to take on more tasks if you want them. Supervisor is patient and helpful.

    Cons

    Pay is low but as a graduate assistant that is to be expected. Not much else is a problem.

    Continue reading
    Ball State University2017-11-10
  8. "Good Benefits, Advancement is Difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ball State University full-time

    Pros

    -Benefits -Nice, easygoing environment for the most part

    Cons

    -If you want to apply, be prepared to see very specific qualifications for the job you want. -Relatively low pay unless you are in a management position

    Ball State University2017-08-04
  9. "Student Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ball State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, laid back environment

    Cons

    Low pay, no chance of a raise no matter how long you're employed. Not seen as any more than a "student employee"

    Continue reading
    Ball State University2017-04-07
  10. "Intensive English Institute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Ball State University

    Pros

    Great co-workers and students, quiet town so students aren't distracted.

    Cons

    Very low pay, no transparency, no room for dissent for fear of provoking the Director. Quiet town.

    Ball State University2016-06-03
Found 16 reviews