Ballard Spahr Reviews | Glassdoor

Ballard Spahr Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Mark S. Stewart
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment with a focus on self improvement(in 7 reviews)

  • "Small Wilmington law firm with less than 15 employees(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "None to really speak of except the usual issues at law firms(in 6 reviews)

  • "no room for growth or movement within company(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time

    Pros

    Partners and administrative team are engaged and easy to talk to. There's a lot of free food and options for employees to engage in activities outside of work. The work week is 35 hours. Benefits are generous and the office is in a good location. Also a really nice free gym and bike room in the building. HR will offer advancement opportunities when available to staff that have shown proven good work and...

    Show More

    Cons

    The main office is in Philadelphia and DC feels like a 2nd thought sometimes.

    Ballard Spahr2019-06-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Down to earth people, leanly staffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are down to earth and not obsessed with hierarchy. Matters are leanly staffed so you get a lot of ownership and experience quickly.

    Cons

    Bonuses are below market and there is a wide range in bonuses, even within class years.

    Ballard Spahr2019-05-22
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ballard Spahr full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice locations and near transportation.

    Cons

    Hires only certain privilege race. Not much diversity. You will see that some department like hr is gossipy like high school. They overlook talent and hire people within. Creepy men and unsafe for young women. I was degrated several time by comments made. Learn self defense ladies.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Ballard Spahr2019-05-31
  4. "Solid Firm - Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Administrative Assistant in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful Co-Workers Excellent Back-office support Congenial atmosphere State-of-the-Art systems Believe in work-life balance and are supportive of their employees as people with families, not just as drones in an office

    Cons

    Sometimes there's no simple way to do things - everything must be approved by someone or multiple someones

    Ballard Spahr2019-04-10
  5. "Mostly positive experience; average (or slightly below) salary; 35 hr base work week a plus."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family friendly atmosphere. No big egos.

    Cons

    HR is a bit chatty. Working from home is allowed and paralegals/attorneys are provided laptops, but, you catch flack for working from home.

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees, especially those who generate money for the firm, like professionals.

    Ballard Spahr2019-04-09
  6. "Like high school all over again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Employee in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A paycheck and a nice office

    Cons

    The staff in the Minneapolis office is so immature and gossipy. Not professional at all.

    Ballard Spahr2019-04-29
  7. "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great firm with good attorneys

    Cons

    Not good at cross office working

    Ballard Spahr2019-03-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Warning: "Attorney" Position is actually a "Staff Attorney""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Attorney 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time

    Pros

    I find the working environment to be fine. People leave each other alone to work. It is quiet which I enjoy.

    Cons

    Ballard has recently changed the name of the "staff attorney" position to "attorney." It is the same thing. These "attorneys" are required to work the same hours as associates, with substantially less pay, and you will NEVER receive a raise. This is not written in any policy manual and, at least for me, I was never informed of this at any point during the interview process.

    Advice to Management

    Either be transparent during the interview process about what this "attorney" position actually is or get rid of the disparate treatment.

    Ballard Spahr2019-02-17
  9. "Conflicts & Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conflicts Analyst in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great managers, great team members. The job is great—you learn something new everyday. Everyone has a great attitude and works well together and creates an environment conducive for learning.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Ballard Spahr2018-11-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Firm should invest in direct report management training."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ballard Spahr full-time

    Pros

    If you like long hours, this is a place for you.

    Cons

    Firm does not address poor behavior of management and obligated assistants.

    Advice to Management

    Investing in training will reduce your high turn over rate.

    Ballard Spahr2018-11-17
Found 79 reviews