Ballard Spahr Reviews | Glassdoor

Ballard Spahr Reviews

Updated 3 de Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Ballard Spahr CEO Mark S. Stewart (no image)
Mark S. Stewart
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Alot of Creeps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time

    Pros

    Good location. You don't have to go outside when you get off the train.

    Cons

    Lots of creepy , ignorant, rude, condesending jerk offs

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the rude ignorant partners, most of the LAA"s are more ignorant than the attorneys. Get rid of them too. People that have been working there over 10 years still don't know what they're doing. Lack of accountability. Management don't care. Management never holds anyone accountable.

    Ballard Spahr2018-09-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Attorney in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr

    Pros

    Nice support staff and nice offices

    Cons

    Big firm too many hours spent on admin and non-working activities

    Advice to Management

    Let lawyers be lawyers

    Ballard Spahr2018-09-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time

    Pros

    Nice food; some of the attorneys are okay

    Cons

    Management is top heavy and indecisive

    Advice to Management

    Instead of changing everything listen to your employees

    Ballard Spahr2018-09-09
  4. "Monkey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ballard Spahr full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not be nice to real peeps

    Cons

    Be mean to real peeps

    Advice to Management

    Don’t be mean ... obviously this is made up

    Ballard Spahr2018-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Real Estate Project Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time

    Pros

    Great entry level position to learn about real estate law, great benefits, yearly pay raises.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for growth, as far as support staff goes.

    Ballard Spahr2018-06-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ballard Spahr full-time

    Pros

    Good people, and happy work environment

    Cons

    no room for growth or movement within company

    Ballard Spahr2018-05-17
  7. "Great place to build a legal career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love the people and great opportunities. The firm has strong connections to the legal community. Currently, I am on secondment.

    Cons

    Sometimes they are below market in terms of salary. Some of that is made up for in a great culture with friendly partners and associates.

    Advice to Management

    Pursue opportunities for adding lucrative practices and set higher expectations for current partners to build and grow practices. Would make for more opportunities to profit share with associates and keep people happy.

    Ballard Spahr2018-03-29
  8. "Broken Promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the partners are great to work with and willing to teach. The support staff is excellent. The pay is good.

    Cons

    The partners are not willing or able to train you in business development. The only direction I received was to cultivate my relationships. Well, the relationships I had with the people at companies I was trying to pitch had been cultivated for more than 20 years (I knew these people since I was a child). I don’t need to learn to cultivate a relationship, I’d like to know how to pitch our firm and our practices. ... There’s no education as to rate flexibility or various services. There’s also only so many times you can sit throigh the same business development meeting. The OMP kept seeking suggestions how to get Ballard’s name more prominent in the community. Yet the firm wouldn’t advertise or when suggestions were made they were ignored or disregarded. Interestingly enough within 3-6 months of making those suggestions, peer firms would do the thing suggested and reap benefits. Finally, don’t believe promises from management. I was originally hired as a contract attorney, with the promise that if I proved my mettle, I would be a full-time associate. When I had proven my mettle, I was offered a stag atoormey position. I was told the pay and benefits would be the same as an associate, just that a I would be non-partner track. Shortly thereafter, I learned so didn’t qualify for an hours or merit bonus and my pay was approximately $35,000 less than my colleagues in the same class. I know several other attorneys that left due to similar broken promises.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Engage your associates more in business development. Listen to younger associates more on marketing and development.

    Ballard Spahr2018-04-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Awful environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The support staff is great, but only loyal to partners.

    Cons

    Challenging to one' s integrity, zero collaboration and teamwork, and no room for advancement.

    Ballard Spahr2018-03-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    With the exception of a few people, the lawyers are nice people. They work hard and expect everyone around them to work equally hard, but they’re generally pretty respectful and appreciative. That’s saying a lot for law firm, having worked at a few. People seem to like one another and there’s a big emphasis on civility and collaboration. You’re expected to work together as a team for the benefit of clients. They’re... big on client value. They have a lot of charitable things going on, so you get to pay five bucks to wear jeans once a month or so. Nice bonuses and good pay. Ballard is big enough to give you access to top-tier work and small enough to feel like a close knit community. They really make an effort toward diversity and lawyers and staff are involved in pro bono projects that make a difference. The Philadelphia office is beautiful.

    Show More

    Cons

    They are serious about collaboration and caring how everybody feels to the point where things can feel talked to death when you’re ready to move on. Lots of mandatory training on things like sexual harassment, cyber security procedure, hidden bias. This place is very by-the-books. It’s a very demanding, high energy environment, work wise, like most big law firms. Occasional nights and weekends are expected.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing I can think of. As law firms go, this is one of the best I’ve seen.

    Ballard Spahr2018-01-24
Found 74 reviews