Ballard Spahr Reviews | Glassdoor

Ballard Spahr Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Ballard Spahr CEO Mark S. Stewart (no image)
Mark S. Stewart
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Nice big firm to work for, NJ office respects life/work balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney in Cherry Hill, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    High salary, nice people compared to other big firms, location (Cherry Hill), good work/life balance, NJ office management doesn't play favorites.

    Cons

    The amount of work in the litigation department is not overwhelming, so to stay and/or advance there is a definite need to be a rainmaker or cultivate relationships with other offices for referrals.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Ballard Spahr2017-04-12
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Legal Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ballard Spahr full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Hired on at a very high ratio of attorney to legal assistant support, 5:1. Within two weeks, my ratio went up to 6:1 with another attorney added to my work load without explanation. One of the legal assistants on our team was allowed to move out of state to another Ballard firm of her preference, while her attorneys were left in the office where I worked, so their physical assignments got handed to us becausethe LAA... was not in the office to do these tasks for her own assigned partners. Resentment abounds, litigation department separated completely from Ballard Spahr within a week of me being hired due to not aligning with Ballard's practices. Our I.T. guy was recently demoted to mail delivery person. Receptionist fired. Too much chaos and instability here. I have 24 years of legal assistant experience and have never seen a firm so poorly managed. If you are offered a position, make sure it is clearly stated who you will be working for, preferably in writing, and proceed with caution.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clearly define the legal assistants scope of who he / she will be supporting at the beginning of their employment. Do not "dump" other LAA's jobs on remaining LAAs just to support the lifestyle of an LAA who wishes to live in warmer weather and to be out of state and not have any direct contact with her attorneys. The LAAs left doing her workload will become resentful and unmotivated. Also, HR does not respond to... issues of concern.

    Show More
    Ballard Spahr2017-03-08
  3. "Ballard Spahr Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Analyst 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time

    Pros

    Awesome place to work, diversity,. growth with cooperative and supportive effort from it staff members

    Cons

    little to say about cons

    Ballard Spahr2016-12-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Totally Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Ballard Spahr

    Pros

    Nice location, generally nice people

    Cons

    Working at a law firm is stressful

    Ballard Spahr2016-11-10
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Disgraceful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Services in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ballard Spahr full-time

    Pros

    Some of the best legal minds in the city. At one time this was the firm to beat, still to this day, the name Ballard Spahr stands for "pay to play" and a politically connected law firm.

    Cons

    With its days of glory long past, the current management has taken a Darwinian turn. Betraying long time employees that had worked there for over 20 years, repaying their service by stealthily laying them off and forcing them to work for a disgusting business provider and never telling the employees that they are now temporary workers, goodbye salary, vacations, and 401K and benefits, wage slaves and "Johnny... Timeclocks" are the new normal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees well, you should be ashamed of yourselves, you will never see the heights of the early 2000's again. Why are you doing this? Ballard was once a great place to work and they cared about their employees, filthy lucre is not a thing to build a practice on.

    Ballard Spahr2016-11-26
  6. "Records Coordinator/ Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Records Coordinator/Supervisor in Philadelphia, PA
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits and Salary. Friendly Staff and pleasant working environment

    Cons

    Understaffed; No cross training or advancement

    Ballard Spahr2016-11-07
  7. "Great Place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr full-time

    Pros

    They really care about you!

    Cons

    Some offices are better than others

    Ballard Spahr2016-09-23
  8. "One of the best you will get in big law"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associated in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are friendly; pay was great; offices were centrally located and beautiful

    Cons

    same as any other big law firm -- hours are long; there is pressure for senior associates to get a book of business

    Advice to Management

    create a path to of-counsel positions for those associates who are not interested in biz dev and communicate this policy

    Ballard Spahr2016-09-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Ballard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ballard Spahr

    Pros

    The people are amazing! It's like a big family!

    Cons

    No room for advancement. At All.

    Advice to Management

    Don't make promises you can't keep.

    Ballard Spahr2016-06-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not a place to advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ballard Spahr full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with my colleagues

    Cons

    Good management is lacking; major problems are swept under the rug

    Ballard Spahr2016-06-20
Found 74 reviews