Balsam Brands Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Balsam Brands CEO Thomas Harman
Thomas Harman
18 Ratings
  1. "Great company for creating the career path you want"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Analyst in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Balsam Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive of personal career goals and growth. A welcoming group and very small company feel despite the rapid growth.

    Cons

    With so much growth things are always shifting and changing, so you have to be adaptable.

    Balsam Brands2019-12-03
  2. "AWESOME Company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balsam Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture and Balsam has a way of always putting their people first. They truly care about the individuals and are always working to improve and innovate. I've never worked in a place where you are encouraged to show up as your authentic self. It's an incredible place to work and everything I read prior to joining Balsam about the culture, people and work environment hold true.

    Cons

    none - it really is a great place to work

    Balsam Brands2019-10-14
  3. "Awesome Company to Work For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balsam Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Work/Life Balance, Benefits/PTO Offerings, Flexible Hours

    Cons

    Downtown Boise Parking is difficult

    Balsam Brands2019-03-15
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Lots of Exposure but Mediocre Compensation"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balsam Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Company Visibility: There are many opportunities to represent your team and be part of the decision making process for complex issues that may be typical beyond entry-level positions -Company Culture: All that is said about the company's culture really is true, coworkers are extremely friendly and they care about your professional life as well as your personal one. They're willing to help and answer questions, something that is often taken for granted -Autonomy: There is a lot of autonomy because managers trust the work you do and it allows for better time and project management -Busy Season Perks: The peak holiday periods are full of stress and increased work hours, but the company really does try to make it more manageable with it's holiday perks such as free coffee and massages

    Cons

    -Mediocre Compensation: There are no annual bonuses or equity and the company's attempt to only hire in Boise or in Manila highlights their unwillingness to pay competitive wages for Bay Area standards. The company's efforts to provide good benefits is honorable but seems to be a distraction from its poor base pay. -Subjective promotion scale: The promotion scale is based primarily on soft skills and leaves a lot of run for subjectivity.

    Continue reading
    Balsam Brands2018-07-31

    Balsam Brands Response

    August 28, 2018Recruiting and People Initiatives Analyst

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback; we value candid feedback from our team members, both positive and constructive! We understand that compensation and benefits are extremely important to our team members. If you’re comfortable, we encourage you to bring your feedback on these important topics to the Balsam People team. We hope to provide competitive benefits and compensation across all of our offices; if you feel this isn’t happening, we want to hear from you. Thank you, Balsam Brands

  5. Helpful (4)

    "E-commerce"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Balsam Brands full-time

    Pros

    The people who work there! I have met and worked with some of the nicest, and most genuine people.

    Cons

    The leadership team lacks gumption to make long-term decisions about business strategy and where to take the company in the future, it's difficult for them to commit one way or the other. The company has a variety of values such as "do the right thing" that are extremely subjective. This is a very difficult value to uphold when individuals have their own points of view and moral compasses on what it means to "do the right thing". Lastly, while they proclaim that they put people first, it has become apparent that this is more difficult to do as they grow in scale. Don't be fooled to think you don't need to play politics here, once you are mid-senior level the BS is just as bad as every other corporation in America.

    Balsam Brands2018-07-24

    Balsam Brands Response

    August 28, 2018Recruiting and People Initiatives Analyst

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We appreciate your feedback, as it allows us to grow as a company and employer. We are committed to putting people first, no matter our size, and will use your feedback to evaluate how we can do a better job of this in the future. Thank you, Balsam Brands

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Mac is the best leader I've ever worked with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Balsam Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture. The company puts a strong emphasis on friendship with your coworkers. There's a plethora of opportunities to get to know the people you work with, even with the office locations being separated. Everyone in the company seems to be extremely smart and driven. People work hard but at the same time are very chill and understanding. By far the best part of working for Balsam is Mac Harmon. He's an incredible leader and leads by example, he puts a lot of trust in his employees and genuinely cares about them. I've never met a more charismatic people person in my life.

    Cons

    Part of the extremely smart and driven side is stubbornness. Because they've analyzed the situation or have a good sense of the idea, many individuals seem to not want to accept other solutions. Mac seems to be handing off the reins more and more; this is obviously necessary because of the size/growth of Balsam, but it seems to be hurting the company. It feels as though maybe he's focusing on the wrong parts as a leader.

    Continue reading
    Balsam Brands2018-06-05
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Wonderful people, leadership, and workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balsam Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Full of ambitious, intelligent, and caring employees: this starts at the top with extremely approachable upper management who care about those they work with, not just the bottom line. - Fun & fast environment: with such a seasonal business there is definitely a 'try to keep up' pace at certain times of year, but the culture shines in these moments. The team keeps it lighthearted & provides extra perks/events to balance the seasonality. - Excellent CEO: Extremely smart & humble, genuinely gets to know you, & goes out of his way to help those around him be fulfilled working for Balsam. - Growing quickly: growth has been swift, both in the size of the business & the employee count. The direction of the business is clear, and care is taken to maintain the vibrant culture (although there are naturally growing pains!). - Talented, likeminded coworkers: the hiring standard is very high, both from a skillset and cultural fit perspective. It's very easy to collaborate cross functionally - employees are down to earth but very talented at what they do.

    Cons

    - A premium on time: there's a lot going on, and at times the focus on executing seasonal growth can hinder proper management attention towards personal & professional growth.

    Continue reading
    Balsam Brands2017-08-21
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Very Specific Culture; Not One Size Fits All"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Balsam Brands full-time

    Pros

    - Positive environment for the most part - Good face time with exec team for ICs - CEO is great and takes a personal interest in all employees' success

    Cons

    - Work culture can veer towards "too happy" - Performance review feedback was mostly personality-based, not performance-based - Support from and quality of middle management varies a lot - Poor compensation/benefits

    Continue reading
    Balsam Brands2017-08-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Balsam Brands full-time

    Pros

    I liked the people and community

    Cons

    No major cons for me

    Balsam Brands2017-07-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Growing company, unique culture"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Balsam Brands full-time

    Pros

    Caring team, unique culture, career opportunities

    Cons

    Holiday seasonality can be intense

    Balsam Brands2017-03-15
Found 27 reviews