Baltimore County Public Schools Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
68%
Recommend to a Friend
Baltimore County Public Schools Superintendent  Dr. Darryl Williams (no image)
Dr. Darryl Williams
0 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • "Other surrounding counties get paid more(in 5 reviews)

  • "New principals can change what was working(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Special Educator"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Support from within Upward mobility within your department

    Cons

    The education system Not enough funding

    Continue reading
    Baltimore County Public Schools2019-09-25
  2. "There are overwhelming expectations in education and not enough supports to successfully implement."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Decent pay Room for advancement Needed profession

    Cons

    Not enough hours in the day Inconsistent message Lack of support Overwhelming workload

    Continue reading
    Baltimore County Public Schools2020-05-29
  3. "Not so bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The school system gets a bad rap at times but I have enjoyed working here for the last 5 years

    Cons

    There's a lot of changes and demands on teachers, but none that aren't typical of the teaching profession.

    Baltimore County Public Schools2020-05-17
  4. "BCPS does not support the rights, needs and opinions of its teachers."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher, Secondary School 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you live in the northern part of Baltimore County, The pay is better than the counties that are east and west of this part of the county.

    Cons

    Teachers have a contract with the county. However, administration in schools act in disregard of this contract on a regular basis, yet nothing is done. Teachers are not protected from being treated poorly. The union is not able to bargain improvements with the county. The county denies requests. The county puts out surveys to its “stakeholders”. However the results of the sure eta are NOT reflected in the decision of the board and superintendent. The county is gigantic and serves many different races, ethnicities and economic levels. The county and the teachers cannot possibly meet the needs of all of these different populations homogeneously.

    Continue reading
    Baltimore County Public Schools2020-05-28
  5. "Good pay and benefits"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Teacher in Baltimore, MD

    I have been working at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Pay and benefits, union support

    Cons

    County is too big for a singular vision; change occurs at the whim of leaders

    Baltimore County Public Schools2020-04-08
  6. "Great school, but less pay than surrounding counties"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great schools, freak kids, supervisors

    Cons

    Other surrounding counties get paid more

    Baltimore County Public Schools2020-03-18
  7. "One County, Different Cities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoy the resources that I have to do my job. I also enjoy the partnership between BCPS and CCBC to help transition students to career and college.

    Cons

    No two schools are alike so you never what it will be. New principals can change what was working. Equity is preached from a teacher - student perspective, but not upheld colleague to colleague.

    Continue reading
    Baltimore County Public Schools2020-03-10
  8. "The positives and negatives of working for a large school system."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 5th Grade Teacher in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was lucky to have spent 12 years teaching and only had a few administrators that weren't effective. I enjoyed the trust I had earned. The benefits were great.

    Cons

    Like any large company, big changes would take place rapidly and not always make sense for everyone involved. It is silly that they still have teacher assigned hours when it's impossible to finish everything expected within those hours. It is not uncommon for a planning period to be spent in a meeting or another non-planning event.

    Baltimore County Public Schools2020-02-10
  9. "Doesn't really care about teachers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you get a good principal, that's awesome! Salary is pretty good for Maryland, too. Unfortunately this county has a big problem with equity. I taught in an ill-equipped classroom and had no help from my supervisor.

    Cons

    Poor supervisors that don't stick up for their content areas, little to no special area curriculum, constant schedule changes with no help, value of technology over real student needs

    Baltimore County Public Schools2019-12-03
  10. "Building the plane while we’re flying"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hardworking coworkers, community involvement, great kids

    Cons

    Total lack of organization and transparency.

    Baltimore County Public Schools2019-11-19
Found 179 reviews