Baltimore County Public Schools "bcps" Reviews | Glassdoor

Baltimore County Public Schools Employee Reviews about "bcps"

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
Baltimore County Public Schools Superintendent  Dr. Darryl Williams (no image)
Dr. Darryl Williams
0 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • "Other surrounding counties get paid more(in 5 reviews)

  • "New principals can change what was working(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "bcps"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baltimore County Public Schools

    Pros

    Great Staff/Students - I have worked at BCPS for over 6 years and have really enjoyed working with the Staff/Teachers - Supportive parents

    Cons

    Would like to see more after school programs

    Baltimore County Public Schools2016-01-11
  2. "One County, Different Cities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoy the resources that I have to do my job. I also enjoy the partnership between BCPS and CCBC to help transition students to career and college.

    Cons

    No two schools are alike so you never what it will be. New principals can change what was working. Equity is preached from a teacher - student perspective, but not upheld colleague to colleague.

    Continue reading
    Baltimore County Public Schools2020-03-10
  3. "Worst management of people ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Technical Trainer in Middle River, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baltimore County Public Schools for more than a year

    Pros

    Team members are good and there are some highly skilled and dedicated people in the Department of Information Technology. State-mandated sick leave is a plus.

    Cons

    If you are a contractor or contractual employee, stay away from Department of IT and specifically Office of Enterprise Applications (OEA). Most Supervisors have no IT experience but were administrators in schools which is ok. But micromanaging IT professionals just like school students is not a way to manage, retain employees or boost morale. Multiple workshops to improve climate and culture have been done at OEA but the office still has one of the worst employee satisfaction ratings in all of BCPS.

    Continue reading
    Baltimore County Public Schools2020-01-19
  4. "working for BCPS sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Custodian in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    having weekends & major holidays off

    Cons

    pretty much being WORKED TO DEATH by cleaning 20+ classrooms in only 8 hours every night, very minimal cleaning supplies (& ALWAYS having to wait for more supplies cause there were NEVER ENOUGH TO CLEAN ALL OF THE ROOMS!!!) working for BCPS as a custodian was so NOT WORTH the pay for the exhausting work & not being appreciated for any of it!!!

    Continue reading
    Baltimore County Public Schools2019-01-27
  5. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The acting superintendent is thinking outside the box. The State superintendent needs to give her a chance.

    Cons

    BCPS will graduate some students who can not read or write. Managment is out of touch with the needs of their students.

    Continue reading
    Baltimore County Public Schools2018-08-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Nope nope nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maryland in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Baltimore County Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Colleagues are great and dedicated to students. They work hard in spite of all the obstacles BCPS places in front of them

    Cons

    Constant new initiatives, no time to digest and flesh out new ideas. One size fits all approach by admin is seen as a way of achieving equity but the district is very diverse and the ideas that will propel one school forward will not work at all schools. Dr Dance is not the leader we need. The new grading policy is terrible and terribly unclear. Teachers in my school are ready to leave in droves. New HS science curricula were not given the necessary budget for development, as such new curricula did not have enough man hours to really develop a quality product

    Continue reading
    Baltimore County Public Schools2017-01-14
  7. "BCPS central office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends

    I have been working at Baltimore County Public Schools for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The district leadership at the top is strong and visionary. The direction in which the system is heading is positive.

    Cons

    There is a lot of silos and bureaucracy that make it difficult to get work done in a timely manner. Communication is improving, but it is still a challenge at times. Although not a BCPS-created problem, there are challenges with MSDE that impact our work (e.g. last minute rule changes, vague communication, etc).

    Continue reading
    Baltimore County Public Schools2015-10-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews