Banana Republic Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Banana Republic President and CEO Mark Breitbard
Mark Breitbard
262 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "This means we were constantly pressured into pushing the points program/credit cards(in 315 reviews)

  • "Zero benefit options for part-time workers; inconsistent scheduling; very limited opportunities for career development(in 106 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Good Culture, Good pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Banana Republic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is considerate, Pay is negotiable

    Cons

    Breaks are shorter than other retail positions

    Banana Republic2020-03-20
  2. "Great Company to Work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Banana Republic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very team oriented and great company discounts

    Cons

    It could get stressful when sales goals aren't being made

    Banana Republic2019-06-30

    Banana Republic Response

    July 24, 2019Company Representative

    Thanks for recommending Gap Inc. as an employer! We work hard to create a culture in which everyone is willing and able to roll up their sleeves and contribute.

  3. "Great to work at"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Stylist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Banana Republic full-time

    Pros

    good learning experience for entry level

    Cons

    felt like high school politics. usual employee drama

    Continue reading
    Banana Republic2020-05-20
  4. "Decent work environment"

    4.0
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Brand Associate in Friendswood, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Banana Republic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, independent work, and great discount.

    Cons

    Long hours and lots of running around during holidays.

    Continue reading
    Banana Republic2020-05-20
  5. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Banana Republic part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and working environment.

    Cons

    Signing people up for credit cards

    Banana Republic2020-05-15
  6. "Great Structure"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Miami, FL
    Recommends

    I worked at Banana Republic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have consecutive meetings to keep everyone's roles on track. They are extremely goal-oriented, but they make the process fun and beneficial for their employees.

    Cons

    The holiday hours are difficult.

    Banana Republic2020-05-14
  7. "Great Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Beavercreek, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Banana Republic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    GAP offers great employee discounts and the staff was helpful in learning about all the products they sold.

    Cons

    The shifts were really short, but there were opportunities to pick up more hours.

    Banana Republic2020-05-11
  8. "Overall good company culture and perfect for students"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Banana Republic part-time

    Pros

    - Flexible hours - Fun and enjoyable working environment - Manager communication

    Cons

    - Sometimes ambiguous training - High pressure to sell credit cards - Wish there was more actionable feedback when card goals are not met

    Banana Republic2020-05-08
  9. "Good college job"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Brand Ambassador 

    I worked at Banana Republic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gain great costumer service skills

    Cons

    Pay was trash, managers rude and unsympathetic

    Banana Republic2020-05-22
  10. "Started off good"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Associate Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Banana Republic full-time

    Pros

    cool office, great cafe, great on barding

    Cons

    bad benefits, long hours, no work-life balance. can't make decision

    Banana Republic2020-05-19
Found 3231 reviews