Banana Republic Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Banana Republic President and CEO  Sandra Stangl
Sandra Stangl
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible managers, approachable, employee discount(in 379 reviews)

  • "Great discount for employees there(in 260 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Signing people up for credit cards(in 348 reviews)

  • "You can really only be part time unless your a manager then your full time but as a(in 115 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Banana Republic and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "part time"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Banana Republic Factory Store Sales Associate

      May 14, 2019 - Selling Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Offers awesome training, flexible schedule, great selling and management team, and a great discount at all Gap Inc. companies.

      Cons

      Entry level pay and part time hours.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banana Republic Response

      Company Representative

      We are committed to the development of our employees and believe in setting them up for success! We're glad to hear this was reflected in your experience. Thank you for sharing.

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great job for teens, not adults

      Dec 8, 2020 - Sales Associate in Piscataway, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, great working conditions

      Cons

      High turnover, someone calls out - you takeover slack. Pay is not enough. No benefits for even long time (part time) employees. 15 min breaks - by the time you clock out and clock in...you wasted 8 mins. Can you order and eat a proper snack in 7mins?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Better before the pandemic

      Nov 27, 2020 - Sales Associate in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my job before the pandemic hit. It’s a good side gig if you need some extra money. It’s also a great job if you’re in college. It pays a little above minimum wage, there’s flexible scheduling, and I’ve had more positive experiences with customers than negative ones.

      Cons

      It’s been made clear by corporate that they don’t care about employee safety. We opened our doors back up in May. A mask mandate wasn’t put into place until August. We aren’t even supposed to ask customers to wear a mask if they come in without one. However, employees must wear masks to protect the customers. There’s no hazard pay or benefits extended to part-time employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It’s cool

      Jan 13, 2021 - Brand Ambassador in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people, good discount , fashion forward

      Cons

      You can really only be part time unless your a manager then your full time but as a part time worker you have to work full time hours. They only care about their sales goals for that day not and credit cards

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Fun, but problematic

      Oct 21, 2020 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved most of my coworkers and it was really easy to make my schedule work, especially as a part-time associate. Very easy to pick up or to cut back on hours depending on what I needed.

      Cons

      I was sexually harassed by a male coworker and in my opinion, it was not handled correctly. I did not feel supported by management, and at one point I was asked to not call corporate.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales Associate at Banana Republic

      Sep 13, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Gainesville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compared to other retail jobs, the pay is better. Also, this company is very strict about giving breaks to employees which is another plus compared to other spots.

      Cons

      Expectations can be too high for part time retail workers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Really nice job, very diverse and welcoming.

      Nov 30, 2020 - Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee discount was 50%, and had some benefits.

      Cons

      Part time didn’t get that many benefits

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Flexible Hours Great for Students

      Aug 12, 2020 - Brand Associate in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good camaraderie in the team and very helpful to new employees, flexibility in shifts makes this a friendly part-time job for university students.

      Cons

      Sometimes more focus on enrolling customers in the brand credit card than you may be comfortable with.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Seasonal Job

      Sep 13, 2020 - Seasonal Sales Associate in Grove City, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule Decent pay for part time work

      Cons

      I have no complaints to contribute

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      first job

      Aug 21, 2020 - Retail Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible schedule, learn valuable customer service skills

      Cons

      work short shifts if part-time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 212 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Banana Republic Job Seekers

    Assistant Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Associate Part Time, Seasonal
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Banana Republic? Share Your Experiences

    or