Banc of California Reviews | Glassdoor

Banc of California Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
Jared Wolff
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "25 vending machines which are a nice touch and go a long way(in 26 reviews)

  • "Company is growing rapidly and is great place to work for individuals looking to grow their career(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Superior complex from upper management(in 10 reviews)

  • "VERY HIGH TURNOVER RATE - every day we have customers coming in to complain that they no longer recognize the employees at our branches(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "This is the place to be.. and the best is yet to come!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banc of California full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay and benefits, supportive management, lots of opportunity for growth and your voice is heard, valued and appreciated. They believe in our community and genuinely promote colleagues getting involved in giving back. You also get access to special events (I.e soccer, baseball, etc..) as an employee, not to mention the $0.25 vending machines which are a nice touch and go a long way. They’ve done a great...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are some talented people in positions for which they are not best suited, but I’m confident executive management is aware and will continue to take necessary action to make sure the bank keeps moving forward with the best people at the helm.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on meeting our clients needs and providing the best possible experience and we will achieve our greatest success.

    Banc of California2019-02-12
  2. "Executive Assistant Reporting to the President & Ceo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Banc of California full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Beautiful headquarters in Santa Ana, near John Wayne Airport

    Cons

    Too much change in leadership

    Advice to Management

    Consider your employees who work very hard.

    Banc of California2019-05-17
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Carrot Dangling at it's finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Santa Ana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Banc of California full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None. Nothing about this company outweighs the plethora of nonsense you will have to deal with on a daily basis

    Cons

    CIO and IT management dangle carrots to everyone. They say there are advancement opportunities, and even promise management training, but never actually address any of your concerns or growth expectations. The yearly performance evaluations in IT are 100% written and executed by the CIO, under the guise that the management team is the one doing your review. They tell you that you have all of these flaws, and to KEEP...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your people who do the actual work.

    Banc of California2019-06-06
  4. "Banc of California Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Banc of California full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is small enough to where you can work with a lot of teams

    Cons

    the upward mobility is limited

    Banc of California2019-05-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Internal mobility, opportunity to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banc of California full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Career advancement Initiatives Cross-functional team work Cohesive team Opportunity to Learn

    Cons

    Company is going through a lot of changes. Lack of company communication

    Advice to Management

    Streamline communication for departments in transition and promote leaders to talk to their teams regularly about company updates.

    Banc of California2019-03-04
  6. "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Se Underwriter III 

    I worked at Banc of California full-time

    Pros

    Cater lunch every month, friendly work environment

    Cons

    Retail department sold to another compsny

    Advice to Management

    None

    Banc of California2019-02-14
  7. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Underwriter in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Banc of California full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Multiple locations and good benefits

    Cons

    Limited remote telecommuting options for employees

    Banc of California2018-11-08
  8. "Good structure!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Banc of California full-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in, it was very organized & streamlined.

    Cons

    No cons, great company to work for.

    Banc of California2018-10-21
  9. "Busy Place to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Ana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Banc of California full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At the time, visionary leaders, fast Growing, great salary and provided autonomy to managers

    Cons

    There were not a strong infrastructure, policies and procedures in place. Typical growing pain being part of a fast growing company.

    Banc of California2018-10-04
  10. "SVP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Banc of California full-time

    Pros

    Good use of group m eetings in conference rooms

    Cons

    Bad senior management. No direction. Only concern is the stock price.

    Advice to Management

    Get out.

    Banc of California2018-11-07
Found 181 reviews