BancVue Reviews | Glassdoor

BancVue Reviews

Updated September 13, 2016
110 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.2
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
BancVue CEO Gabriel Krajicek
Gabriel Krajicek
78 Ratings

110 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Unlimited Vacation (That means we have a great work life balance (in 7 reviews)

  • Great culture, great management, fantastic employees (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • There is a work life balance in the sense that when life happens you have time to take care of it, but the same thing with work (in 7 reviews)

  • It was mostly due to growing pains and the state of the company at the time I think (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Getting paid to have fun"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BancVue full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very relaxed place to work
    Some of the coolest people I've ever worked with
    Free food/drinks in the breakroom

    Cons

    So many fun things to do, so little time to do them in.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on, keeping on. I wouldn't change anything about how things are done.

    BancVue Response

    Mar 4, 2016 – Chief Patch Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts!


  2. "Good company and good people"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    great benefits and competitive pay.

    Cons

    they take the whole culture thing a little far


  3. "Great Place To Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Development Specialist in Christiansburg, VA
    Current Employee - Client Development Specialist in Christiansburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO
    Energetic Work Environment
    Management Actually Listens
    Generous Salary
    Great Benefits

    Cons

    There are no cons. Best employer I have ever had!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! You guys ROCK!

    BancVue Response

    Mar 4, 2016 – Chief Patch Officer

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We care about each member of the team and work hard to show it.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BancVue full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work with experienced, skilled, and intelligent developers using cutting edge technologies in an agile environment. Management is very empowering. Developers are given every opportunity to succeed.

    Cons

    Often time is spent - wasted - in meetings. Also, chit-chat can run long sometimes during potential productive stretches of developing time. Some of the developers that are a little more tenured can be a bit negative.

    Advice to Management

    Continue letting developers and teams mostly manage themselves. That responsibility comes with a sense of ownership and obligation to follow through on requests from the business. Also, try to reduce the small pockets of negativity from the vocal minority.

    BancVue Response

    Feb 8, 2016 – Chief Patch Officer

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts!


  6. "Great Culture, Great Product, Great Job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I was hired to do a job and my manager has given me the freedom to do it. There is no micromanagement. My fellow employees are great to work with. The culture isn't just words in the employee handbook, it is real and lived daily.

    Cons

    There are no cons that I have identified.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support employees in performing their jobs. Continue to support the values around which the culture is built. Continue to set high goals for performance.

    BancVue Response

    Feb 8, 2016 – Chief Patch Officer

    Thank you for the kind words. We will continue to do our best at making sure that the culture and our values are not just words in a book but rather what we all try to live by.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing culture, frantic management."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BancVue full-time

    Pros

    Smart people in a fast-paced environment.

    Cons

    Every shift of focus brings lay-offs and new hires, so it is was very hard to feel stable.

    Advice to Management

    Find the right path and stay on it!

    BancVue Response

    Feb 8, 2016 – Chief Patch Officer

    We are excited to hear that you found the culture amazing. And I promise, we are always working hard to make sure the company as a whole is on the right path. Sometimes that does mean shifting focus ... More


  8. "."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Laid-back, easy-going & casual culture. Nice perks: breakroom full of goodies for breakfast, lunch or just snacks. Always food around from catered meetings. Most people are nice and friendly. Absolutely no dress code. Free PTO with managers' approval. Recently acquired by a PE firm to make sure business is on track.

    Cons

    VERY cliquish and when you get on someone's bad side - look out because your days are numbered there. Work overload - never enough time to complete requests in an efficient manner. Absolutely no praise or recognition for a job well done. You can be shunned very quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate effectively and on a regular basis with your employees so everyone is on the same page. Don't just assume that your requests are / aren't being handled (by others giving you feedback about it) do the right thing by observing it yourself.

    BancVue Response

    Feb 8, 2016 – Chief Patch Officer

    Great advice in the advice to management section and thank you for taking the time to share some of the things you enjoyed about working here and some things you didn't. Our intent is to never make ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copywriter I in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Copywriter I in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BancVue full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - The company culture is tons of fun, with plenty of social outings (and innings) and an open door policy for the most part.
    - Pay and benefits are great.
    - Lots of free food and drinks in the kitchen.

    Cons

    - The work itself can be a little dry, but that's just because banking can be a little dry.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    BancVue Response

    Feb 8, 2016 – Chief Patch Officer

    Thanks!


  10. Helpful (8)

    "Launch Project Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BancVue full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Free Snacks
    -Nice CEO
    -Group activities
    -Charitable Company
    -Cool Logo/"Core Values" - They'll even pay you $2k to get a tattoo of it.

    Cons

    -Free Snacks (If you have time to eat, ever)
    -Nice CEO (But don't expect to set a meeting with him over escalated concerns or you could be fired)
    -Group activities (Participate if you want to network, but the hundreds of e-mails will be waiting)
    -The company was growing too fast for the middle managers to keep up. $55k a year is not enough for one person to do 2.5 people's jobs. Your marketing project managers should not be made to manage full website and mobile builds along with full service marketing plans. Those are completely different things.
    -There are people who work very hard and people who are very comfortable - the cliques are exceedingly noticeable. Don't say the wrong thing around the wrong person. The kids on the "outside" are quick to warn you of this too.
    -The office has SBS (Sick Building Syndrome). People come in and and immediately get sick. I'm sure it's kept so cold because that discourages the spread of whatever, but for sure there is something wrong in the ventilation of that place.

    Advice to Management

    -The faults do not always lie with the over worked and clearly stressed employee. Please lok to their managers for answers and responsibility. Take care of your people and they will take care of the rest.
    -Watch out for the Fear culture creeping. You may not readily see it, but your worker bees definitely do

    BancVue Response

    Dec 17, 2015 – Chief Patch Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective on our company. I know I have said it in many other reviews, but I think it is important for people looking at our company to see and hear all ... More


  11. Helpful (6)

    "want to join a cult? jump on in!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at BancVue full-time

    Pros

    they'll promise 'flexibility' and somehow all the kool-aid drinking does create a feeling of occasional euphoria, if you can get past the bad taste in your mouth . unlimited vacation time!? free snacks (and even breakfast foods)? company happy hours? occasional opportunities to WFH(and yes, everything is an acronym here)? chest-beating rallies once a month in which the CEO touts the company as if its mission were the equivalent of saving all the syrian refugees while also freeing factory farm animals, and you have the opportunity to stare at his handsome highness while he does so? onsite ukulele classes, subsidized by the company? free fancy gym? cool!

    Cons

    you must not cross the wrong person - and you never know who that wrong person is. you must constantly sing the praises of the company, whose upper management has deluded itself into believing they're doing some great deed in the world and improving society, when really, who are we kidding? this is the corporate world, so it's all about profit, profit, profit.

    BancVue Response

    Nov 9, 2015 – Chief Patch Officer

    Thank you for sharing your perspective. You are absolutely correct that we are a for-profit corporation, but we also believe that for-profit corporations should and can do positive good in the world ... More



Showing 110 of 113 reviews
Reset Filters