BancorpSouth Reviews | Glassdoor

BancorpSouth Reviews

Updated 23 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
BancorpSouth CEO James D. Rollins III (no image)
James D. Rollins III
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "no cons very happy with company(in 5 reviews)

  • "When addressing top management about problems in workplace they seemed like they could care less(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "New and LOVING it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Service Associate in Baton Rouge, LA

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, great people, great culture! Good benefits as well as company paid benefits!

    Cons

    None that I have encountered.

    BancorpSouth2019-08-28
  2. "Over worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Hoover, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BancorpSouth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Was treated like family and meet great people.

    Cons

    Under staffed and asked to do other jobs without the pay.

    BancorpSouth2019-09-24
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Man look...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Teller 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, competitive benefits, friendly staff

    Cons

    Where do I start? If you aren't a friend of a friend, you're not getting promoted. Period. No matter how good or efficient your work is, you'll still be in that same position you were in when you started. Raises? If you need to eat and pay bills, don't depend on those . 25 raises. This company recently took a survey within the company about diversity. There is no diversity. Every time I make a complaint to my... manager that involves something getting said or done that is racist, I am told that I'm being ridiculous. There was a Caucasian Teller that liked to throw "the N word" around casually. When I reported her to management, she came back with she has a black second cousin so she can't be racist. I have actually seen my manager deny potential and qualified applicants because "ya know...there was something about them that didn't seem right". I like to call it they didn't pass the blackground check. These people will smile in your face, tell you and everyone how much you're appreciated, but when it's time to show it; BancorpSouth is always coming up short. Look, there is crap at every job and this one is no different but based on the prior bad acts from this company; there is validity in people's claim that this company thrives from racist and/or prejudiced behaviors. This company creates an environment like it is a boys club. For a bank that has, as recently as 2016, still be participating in Redlining and have to put out a litmus test to see how "diverse" is the company is very telling.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Watch what your say. I heard you when your said that black people steal. In addition to that, there needs to be a better evaluation system put in place to where everyone's voice is heard. Cross train more so everyone can have job security. Diversify your staff in every area of your institution. The customers realize how many your branches have an all white staff and that's not a good look. Lastly, stop buying banks... until you're able to work out the bugs and kinks in your current system. Because of the overload, your computers are very slow and they crash often. There also needs to be a more streamlined online banking system.

    Show More
    BancorpSouth2019-07-25
  4. "It’s fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Upper management is good. The work is easy.

    Cons

    It gets boring when it’s slow.

    BancorpSouth2019-07-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Tupelo, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good teammates to work with, both colleague and management. 401k matching is one of the better outside working for the state.

    Cons

    Health insurance this fiscal year currently is a really pricey and underwhelming.

    BancorpSouth2019-07-04
  6. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Teller 

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time

    Pros

    Love the co workers very friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    no cons very happy with company.

    BancorpSouth2019-06-25
  7. "Can't Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at BancorpSouth

    Pros

    Pros are being remotely located and not in Tupelo although that might be a con too.

    Cons

    Totally disorganized and no processes or procedures to minimize risk. Too many high level employees, too many layers and too many managers who don't have control or realize this is no longer a small community bank. Not really concerned about retention of existing customers. More interested in growth through acquisition. Tools to perform job function don't exist here.

    Advice to Management

    Instead investing so much in acquiring new banks, use those resources to improve processes investing in updated technology would be a good start.

    BancorpSouth2019-05-08
  8. "Crew pusher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pusher in Pecos, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay company treats us good

    Cons

    They need to get the right tools for the job

    Advice to Management

    Could run the company better

    BancorpSouth2019-04-30
  9. "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teller 

    I worked at BancorpSouth full-time

    Pros

    Loved the atmosphere of my branch.

    Cons

    Prepare to do more work than any other job title in the branch while being paid the least.

    BancorpSouth2019-04-17
  10. "Perfect Job for Gaining Skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bank Teller 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BancorpSouth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work with amazing people, decent lunch break, and work fixed hours

    Cons

    Some customers can be rude, not all employees are the friendliest, and work longer hours on Fridays

    BancorpSouth2019-03-24
Found 93 reviews