BancorpSouth Vice President Reviews | Glassdoor

BancorpSouth Vice President Reviews

Updated May 30, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
BancorpSouth CEO James D. Rollins III (no image)
James D. Rollins III
5 Ratings
  1. "Vice President Loan Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations in Temple, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great, close knit community bank.

    Cons

    There are no cons. My position will be dissolved as we merge with another bank. They already have a Loan Operations Department at their head quarters in another state.

    BancorpSouth2018-05-31
  2. "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Tupelo, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company with good benefits. People enjoy there jobs and customers enjoy banking with the company.

    Cons

    Nothing to speak of at the present time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the movement and growth.

    BancorpSouth2017-07-06
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Love BancorpSouth Insurance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Our people! They are the most caring group of collaborative colleagues in the insurance business.

    Cons

    I don't get to see them all daily because we are a de-centralized management team but that doesn't stop our collaboration!

    BancorpSouth2017-06-22
  5. Helpful (10)

    "FOCUS on REAL ASSETS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    BancorpSouth offers great benefits (medical, vision, and dental insurance and time off, including personal days) and I have many great Coworkers!

    Cons

    The focus is on efficiency, which is prudent. HOWEVER, in the focus .... Mgmt has lost sight of the real assets of the company, THE EMPLOYEES! Pay is not adequately given as it's basically based on popularity OR getting the correct salary when you are hired. Promotions are not given/allowed no matter the quality of consistent work produced. BancorpSouth is a good beginners job but not rewarding for long term career mined individuals. Too many old and antiquated systems and company is not willing to spend money to get systems up to date. This alone causes much frustration! Mgmt does not want supervisors to rate employees over a 3 star (out of 5 being the best) on annual reviews. Many have stated that if an employee is rated a 4 or 5, they shouldn't be working at BancorpSouth! This mentality speaks volumes of where the company is headed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate the focus and work on employee retention. Allow the employees to excel .... many are smarter and more professional than supervisors and members of management!!!! I hope you realize that you are letting the best of the best walk out of your doors.

    BancorpSouth2017-03-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company, Few Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere. Employees truly care about each other and work together for the greater good of the firm.

    Cons

    Senior management has gone overboard on the micro-management. Salaries are not competitive unless you threaten to leave. Opportunities are still obtained in a political manner.

    Advice to Management

    Competitively compensate your good employees so that they won't leave for a few more dimes.

    BancorpSouth2016-07-07
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Great Benefits - Competitive work environment - Family atmosphere in the work place

    Cons

    - Technology is dated and the bank has been slow to react. - Top management has made changes without giving employee's notice ahead of time

    Advice to Management

    Be more forthright with coming changes to budgets and ability to earn incentives. Last minute changes do nothing but kill morale.

    BancorpSouth2015-05-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Entering a POSITIVE TREND"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I am a LONG TERM employee of BancorpSouth. We have seen many changes under the direction of a NEW CEO. Everyone has been struggling to perform under new leadership but continuously misreads the true intentions of our new leader. However, as we persevere through the transition, I believe that we are at the onset of breeding a MORE positive culture, which has been desperately needed. BancorpSouth Bank is going to be even better as a result of POSITIVE LEADERSHIP!!

    Show More

    Cons

    Management needs to stop misreading intentions by striving to "FIRST listen to understand" before filtering WRONG information down to the masses.

    Advice to Management

    First, listen to understand before filtering WRONG information down to the masses.

    BancorpSouth2015-01-10
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to work, better if you are a man."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BancorpSouth full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, vacation and sick time. Good work environment and great people to work with

    Cons

    It is much easier to advance in the company if you are a man. Long-term employees are not treated as well as they should be.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the people who have worked so hard to make the company a success. Promote from within instead of just the "good old boys".

    BancorpSouth2014-02-03
  10. "overall great growing experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Collierville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BancorpSouth full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    personalized banking on a community level

    Cons

    need to diversify out of real estate lending

    Advice to Management

    change some of the old way; personnel

    BancorpSouth2014-02-01
  11. "Good to Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Vice President in Hernando, MS
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BancorpSouth

    Pros

    good environment for work/home life balance good retirement and health insurance benefits packages for employees Confidence is knowing we can conservative value-driven leadership

    Cons

    Communication is not as good as it should be Not enough importance put on leadership training

    Advice to Management

    Communication more effectively Put more importance on leadership training for employees

    BancorpSouth2009-01-12
Found 10 reviews