Banfield Pet Hospital Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Banfield Pet Hospital President  Brian Garish
Brian Garish
388 Ratings
Pros
  • "The benefits are good and I love that we get free wellness plans to use for ourselves or our family(in 207 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits & The work can be very gratifying at times(in 138 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, lack of upper management support(in 121 reviews)

  • "in the hospital - especially when it comes to work-life balance(in 100 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Banfield Pet Hospital and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      First place I applied for and never regretted

      Jun 8, 2020 - Associate Veterinarian in Roseville, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Clear policies * Great Salaries * Amazing and caring management * They listen and are flexible to change * Opportunities for continuous education, Development and leadership jobs * During Covid-19 management went beyond to take care of the team

      Cons

      * Health Insurance deductibles are high * A lot of metrics to monitor

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      Banfield Pet Hospital Response

      Thank you for your honest review. We are very happy to hear that you have continuing education available to you so that you can further your career. Thank you for your work during the pandemic! It is wonderful to hear that your team was taken care of during this troubling time. -- Banfield Pet Hospital

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Mar 4, 2021 - Veterinary Assistant in Monterey Park, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Busy environment where there is always something to do.

      Cons

      Busy environment is sometimes hectic.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banfield Pet Hospital Response

      Thanks for your review! Our business is certainly fast-paced; we can understand why this is a pro & con for many. We appreciate all of your hard work and wish you the best of luck! -Banfield Pet Hospital

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Best teammates ever, but too many endless demands from corporate

      Apr 24, 2021 - Veterinary Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I met some of the best vet techs, doctors and CSCs at this job and even though most of us left and went our separate ways, we still keep in touch. I learned so much, every day was a learning experience. Room for growth - they are always working on your development. Yearly raises, PTO grows fast. Opportunities to volunteer in the community.

      Cons

      I worked at my main hospital full time, and other hospitals in the area when help was needed, that being said every hospital runs very differently and has a different team environment which was hard to get used to at first, but not a huge con, just a learning experience. Too many expectations from corporate, my teammates and I would often talk about how we felt like we worked on an assembly line when assisting the vets with drop off pets and doing surgeries because of the pressure to do so many a day. We all tried to provide the best quality of care but it led to burnt out to almost all of my previous coworkers and myself.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Banfield Pet Hospital Response

      Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that working in a high-volume environment was not a good fit. We use reviews like yours to consistently improve and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Would not recommend

      Mar 24, 2021 - Veterinary Assistant in Myrtle Beach, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      3 free wellness plans. 401k. Vision/dental/health insurance (not amazing but at least it’s something?). Bonding with coworkers over shared suffering.

      Cons

      If you want to work in a environment where you come home physically, mentally, and emotionally exhausted for a thankless company and clients who verbally harass you for rewards this is the company for you!! If you get injured on the job they will try to force you to leave with no compensation since you are unable to perform your job description. Upper management is untrained and will see you as nothing more than a number. They are willing to fire everyone no matter how hard you work or how long you have been with the company. The only reward you get for being with the company is a gift card to their very expensive Banfield store that only sells Banfield merchandise. You can be amazing at your job, come in on your days off, help others, do things outside your job description, put up with harassment at the workplace and get nothing in return not even a good review from management. For upper management it’s all about the money not the employees, clients, or patients. The wellness plans creates clients that think they can get whatever they want and see a doctor whenever they want without an appointment for a “emergency” and if they don’t they will use terrible language and scream at you until management gives them what they want and it creates a environment of clients who treat you like your scum off the street to get what they want.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Focused on Money- Not on Pets

      May 1, 2021 - Practice Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I happen to work with an amazing team of animal loving, focused on quality health care individuals. Everyone on site helped one another, taught each other, supported one another and truly gave their all for the animals.

      Cons

      Upper management is completely focused on making money. They set a specific number of pets that must be seen every day, and specific amount of revenue that must be made and a set amount of money that EACH client should be charged per visit. Upper management does not care about the team as individuals. I was told on multiple occasions that each employee is just a “cog in a wheel” and easily replaceable. There is minimal work/life balance. The hours are long and stressful. There is never enough staff to take care of the volume of pets that you are required to see. VA’s and CSC’s are paid horribly. Clients are allowed to scream, cuss and threaten staff and upper management does nothing. We are not allowed to require basic respect from clients.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Banfield Pet Hospital Response

      Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of the job were not a good fit. We aim to consistently improve and use reviews like yours to do so. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Benefits, Good Company, High Turnover

      May 10, 2021 - Veterinary Assistant/Receptionist in Luthvle Timon, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It has great staring salary, Paid Time Off, and Bonuses

      Cons

      There is a high turn over because of corporate not knowing who will be best for management positions

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Job if you love your team!

      Mar 13, 2021 - Veterinary Assistant in Staten Island, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -3 free Optimum Wellness Plans for your pets -401k offered -Vision and Dental offered -Medical insurance offered -PTO earned as you work -Access to Penn Foster, company pays up to 50% of the fees -Great learning opportunities with some teams -Potential to meet and work with amazing people that'll be in your network for years to come

      Cons

      -Medical insurance is trash and requires a high deductible. They start a lot of people at $1 above minimum wage and then if you need to go to a doctor for a sick visit you have to pay $2000 out of pocket before you meet the deductible. -Annual raise increases are less than $1 -If a doctor calls out, you have to supplement your own Paid Time Off in order to cover the hours that you would have been scheduled -Banfield doesn't offer covering tolls for employees commuting out of state or out of burroughs -Never scheduled 40 hours even if you're full time -Higher ups complain if you go into OT (this may have changed) -No separate sick time from your earned PTO -Only 2 weeks of COVID leave provided, if you're unfortunate enough to catch it twice, or have to quarantine because a household member is positive and needs to be tested, you have to use your own PTO. If you don't have any more, the company is "kind enough" to let you borrow PTO for your leave that you own them back. -If your location is inside of a Petsmart, you have no control over the % capacity of customers in the building during covid. Petsmart does not count the number of customers allowed inside which means that your lobby often full of customers and non-customers not social distancing,

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banfield Pet Hospital Response

      We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. To ensure your concerns are directed to the right resource to better understand your experience, please contact the AR Service Center at arservicecenter@banfield.com. -Banfield Pet Hospital

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great starting point for new VT/VAs but do NOT plan for a future here!

      Feb 24, 2021 - Veterinary Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy introduction to GP veterinary medicine - the training modules cover a lot of basics of veterinary care VAs off-the-street can benefit from....if they're allowed to complete them. Benefits are available but the deductible is so high you might as well not have them.

      Cons

      The work-life balance at Banfield is absolutely awful. Vet med is a struggle but expect to spend 12+ hours at the clinic on a daily basis. Your coworkers will call off constantly due to the stress and burnout leaving you understaffed. Being understaffed will make you rush through every appointment to get to the next one. You'll have an increased chance for error and injury because of how quickly you're expected to do the job of 2 people and the animals feed off of your stress. And when you do get injured on the job, don't expect any support from the company because their workers comp is an nightmare. If you bring any of this up to management, it'll get brushed under the rug and you'll be seen as a "problem employee". There is no support at Banfield when you need it. Your concerns will get brushed off with a canned response and nothing will change.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Banfield Pet Hospital Response

      We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. To ensure your concerns are directed to the right resource to better understand your experience, please contact the AR Service Center at arservicecenter@banfield.com. --Banfield Pet Hospital

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great learning opportunity!

      May 8, 2021 - Veterinary Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots to learn Supportive coworkers Amazing veterinarians Rewarding work!

      Cons

      Non-competitive salary Heavy workload and sometimes long hours Clients can be difficult at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banfield Pet Hospital Response

      Thank you for your review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed working with the staff at your location. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall provides foundation

      May 7, 2021 - Veterinary Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gives learning opportunities to people who are new into the industry.

      Cons

      Experience heavily dependent on hospital management.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banfield Pet Hospital Response

      Thank you for taking the time to review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed working with us and we wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,958 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Banfield Pet Hospital Job Seekers

    Veterinary Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Banfield Pet Hospital? Share Your Experiences

    or