Bank of America Reviews in Bakersfield, CA | Glassdoor

Bank of America Bakersfield Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America CEO Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
5 Ratings
  1. "sales and service specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great schedule, grest atmosphere, many opportunities

    Cons

    Not sure of any cons

    Bank of America2015-04-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Relationship Manger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits that Bank of America has to offer are great and it is a good company to help you move up and advance.

    Cons

    The amount of training received can be poor but can be enough to get you by.

    Bank of America2017-01-19
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great company, but the retail banking is like working at WalMart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    plenty of opportunities for advancement if you work in a corporate office or call center 16 weeks maternity leave amazing benefits

    Cons

    working at the banking center is not as professional as working in the corporate office hard to move up in the retail banking center

    Advice to Management

    keep it consistent across all lines of business

    Bank of America2016-11-07
  4. "Tedious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Bankers hours. Off every other weekend. Home by 7. They make you schedule your vacations for the whole year in advance. They actually want you to take your vacations.

    Cons

    The pay. Micromanagement. If you are down a teller or a manager, you are screwed. The customers are just as bad as the returns line in retail.

    Advice to Management

    If you come from the outside the training environment is none existent. You expect us to learn everything by looking it up. Then you reprimand us for making mistakes that we were not aware of or trained on.

    Bank of America2016-02-28
  5. "Good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good benefits for part-time associates.

    Cons

    Management can ask too much of employees sometimes.

    Bank of America2014-08-23
  6. "Hard to help people who needed it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Bakersfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    helping people find the right products to for there business and personal needs

    Cons

    constant struggle to with wanting to help customers and dealing with bank fees and policy changes that are not always to customers benefit

    Advice to Management

    try to remember that banking is all about relationships and the trust needs to be regained

    Bank of America2014-01-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Distrustful, manipulative, pushy regional management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Bakersfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good environment for growth, excellent training and administrative support, good access to research information

    Cons

    Management more interested in pushing product instead of meeting client needs and in making company money than paying employees what they earn

    Bank of America2013-12-10
  8. "Bank of America is a good place to work, but not much room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller Operations Specialist in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of America

    Pros

    Bank of America is a large company, so it is easy to relocate to a different location.

    Cons

    Downsides include job promotions are limited. Seems to be a bit unfair especially when it comes to being bi-langual. I always lose out on a promotion due to the fact that I am not bi-langual even though I do feel that I meet qualifications better.

    Advice to Management

    Members of management that have been in the business for several years, should maintain current training to keep up to date with teller systems. Most managers have no idea what they are looking at when it comes to teller transactions. I have worked under 6 managers who are not familiar with the teller operating system, but have been in management positons for 10yrs or more.

    Bank of America2011-04-25
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Bakersfield, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America

    Pros

    Good Company for because they provide good benefits to their full time employees. Another reason it is good is because they work around your school schedule and are understanding when it comes to taking time off for personal reasons. It is a very friendly environment to work in and the people who you work with are usually friendly and respect you. I also liked Bank of America because they have many rules to protect their...

    Show More

    Cons

    Limited Opportunities for Bonuses meaning that they hardly give out bonuses for their employees especially when it comes to their tellers. They give out great bonuses for Management; however, for their tellers and personal bankers the bonuses are not great which discourages the employees from reaching their potential at the company. Which leads to employees leaving the company for other banks and look elsewhere for better...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More communication with employees

    Bank of America2009-03-19
Found 9 reviews