Bank of America Development Reviews | Glassdoor

Bank of America Developer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 200 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Bank of America CEO Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
87 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Developer 

    I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    -Plenty of Growth opportunities, information is widely shared -Benefits -Flexibility

    Cons

    It's a large company. It's quite likely you never see your actual manager as they are likely in a different state/location. Teams are reshuffled frequently. If this doesn't bother you, then it's not a con.

    Bank of America2019-04-03
  2. "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IOS Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of America for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Exceptional technological people in the software dev groups.

    Cons

    Poor leadership; need to stay current with technology advances.

    Advice to Management

    Consider alternate routes to the same goal.

    Bank of America2019-05-09
  3. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Software Developer 

      I have been working at Bank of America full-time

      Pros

      Cool pay and good benefits

      Cons

      management can be handled better.

      Bank of America2019-05-05
    • "average environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Android Developer in Charlotte, NC

        I have been working at Bank of America for more than 2 years

        Pros

        huge project chance to work on one of the biggest project on the market

        Cons

        bad legacy codebase company too focus business driven company has a close source environment

        Bank of America2019-04-23
      • "Good company/Compensation/Not so good software practices"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Developer 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Nice pay/benefits/teammates/work env, good work life balance

        Cons

        Bad software dev practices from business, not enough transparency

        Bank of America2019-03-28
      • Helpful (2)

        "Bank of America doesn't care about its employees"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Culture & Values
        Former Employee - Applications Developer in Chicago, IL
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The salary was very nice.

        Cons

        While I was working at Bank of America, my parent passed away. Maybe three people asked me how I was doing. Everybody else ignored me. Only one month after the death, while I was still grieving, I was let go. I was not given so much as a warning. When I had asked my boss how I was doing, he indicated that I was doing fine. If all you care about is the salary, then go ahead and work at Bank of America. But if you...

        Show More
        Bank of America2019-04-19
      • "Stable"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Developer 

        I have been working at Bank of America

        Pros

        Very slow pace, stable employment with very high compensation

        Cons

        Very slow pace, most teams are still more business than casual in 2019, old co-workers, not very diverse

        Bank of America2019-02-04
      • Helpful (1)

        "Front End Developer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Front End Developer in Plano, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Bank of America full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great place to work, great benefits package and the office/location I worked at was nice. Management was flexible and offered me a lot of opportunities to grow. The best part about it was the work life balance, rarely did I ever have to work late.

        Cons

        Like all large companies it largely depends on your management chain on how well you will be treated and I did know of other employees that were not as lucky and landed under much more strict managers that made their experience very different then mine.

        Advice to Management

        Top software developers like flexibility to work from home frequently as well as good work life balance.

        Bank of America2018-12-18
      • "Management is a mess"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Full Stack Developer in Charlotte, NC
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Bank of America for more than a year

          Pros

          Decent salary. Nothing else comes to mind.

          Cons

          Everything else. No structure to management and lots of false information on to whom you report. Sick days have to be given in advance and can only last 2 days, so don't get the flu.

          Bank of America2019-01-22
        • "Great company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Developer 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Bank of America for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Great culture, work life balance

          Cons

          Sometimes a bit slow paced

          Bank of America2018-09-01
        Found 200 reviews